Young Adult NonFiction - Social Topics - Bestsellers

More YA NonFiction - Social Topics Books
This Book Is Anti-Racist: 20 Lessons on How to Wake Up, Take Action, and Do The Work (Empower the Future #1) Cover Image
By Tiffany Jewell, Aurelia Durand (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780711245211
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Recommended by Oprah's Book Club, ESSENCE, We Need Diverse Books, ellentube, Brit + Co, PureWow, Teen Vogue, Time, New York, USA TODAY, and TODAY.com

Also available: This Book Is Anti-Racist Journal, a guided journal with more than 50 activities to support your anti-racism journey


Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316453691
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

The #1 New York Times bestseller and a USAToday bestseller!
A timely, crucial, and empowering exploration of racism--and antiracism--in America


This is NOT a history book.
This is a book about the here and now.
A book to help us better understand why we are where we are.
A book about race.


Brave: A Teen Girl's Guide to Beating Worry and Anxiety Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780764238390
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Bethany House Publishers - February 2nd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book 

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo


It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525582199
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Yearling - April 7th, 2020

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, shares his personal story and the injustices he faced while growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this New York Times bestselling young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir.
 


Live: Remain Alive, Be Alive at a Specified Time, Have an Exciting or Fulfilling Life Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781400213061
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Thomas Nelson - February 25th, 2020

Sadie Robertson, New York Times bestselling author and popular social media voice, walks with you through your toughest moments and choices, encouraging you with authentic and biblical solutions.


The Burning (Young Readers Edition): Black Wall Street and the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 Cover Image
By Tim Madigan, Hilary Beard (Adapted by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250787699
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 11th, 2021

One of the worst acts of racist violence in American history took place in 1921, when a White mob numbering in the thousands decimated the thriving Black community of Greenwood in Tulsa, Oklahoma.


The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536217018
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Candlewick - December 1st, 2020

The instant New York Times bestseller!

Writing from the perspective of a friend, Frederick Joseph offers candid reflections on his own experiences with racism and conversations with prominent artists and activists about theirs—creating an essential read for white people who are committed anti-racists and those newly come to the cause of racial justice.


Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780312661052
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Square Fish - December 21st, 2010

"When it comes to justice, there is no easy way to get it. You can't sugarcoat it. You have to take a stand and say, 'This is not right.'" - Claudette Colvin


Consent: The New Rules of Sex Education: Every Teen's Guide to Healthy Sexual Relationships Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781641522809
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Althea Press - December 11th, 2018

A contemporary guide to sex education that answers the most pressing questions teens and young adults have about dating, relationships, consent, and sexual safety.


The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374303235
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - October 17th, 2017

A New York Times Bestseller
Stonewall Book Award Winner—Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award
YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Finalist


One teenager in a skirt.
One teenager with a lighter.
One moment that changes both of their lives forever.


Warriors Don't Cry Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781416948827
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 24th, 2007

In this essential autobiographical account by one of the Civil Rights Movement’s most powerful figures, Melba Pattillo Beals of the Little Rock Nine explores not only the oppressive force of racism, but the ability of young people to change ideas of race and identity.