Young Adult NonFiction - Science & Nature | Northshire Bookstore

Young Adult NonFiction - Science & Nature

More YA NonFiction - Science & Nature Books
Challenge Everything: An Extinction Rebellion Youth Guide to Saving the Planet Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781843654643
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Pavilion Children's - September 8th, 2020

A call to action from an inspiring young environmental activist


Crispr: A Powerful Way to Change DNA Cover Image
By Yolanda Ridge, Alex Boersma (Illustrator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781773214245
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Annick Press - September 8th, 2020

We can change the world with genetic modification--but should we?

CRISPR stands for clustered regularly interspaced short palindromic repeats. If it sounds complicated, it is--but it's also one of the most powerful ways we can shape the future. And it's poised to completely upend the way we think about science.


Taking on the Plastics Crisis (Pocket Change Collective) Cover Image
By Hannah Testa, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593223338
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 13th, 2020

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

"Taking on the Plastics Crisis delivers straightforward advise for getting involved in the global movement to eliminate single-use plastics." -- Booklist, Starred Review


Science Made Simple: A Complete Guide in Ten Easy Lessons Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781645172543
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Portable Press - October 6th, 2020

Explore the incredible world of science with this colorful and illustrated guide.

Science Made Simple will help children understand science topics taught at school and also encourage them to dive deeper and discover more about the world around them.


Engineering Made Simple: A Complete Guide in Ten Easy Lessons Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781645172550
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Portable Press - October 6th, 2020

Aspiring engineers will get a head start with this introduction to the past, present, and future of engineering.

Enter a world of engineering with detailed explanations of the history of discovery and innovation that has made modern technology possible. Engineering Made Simple presents the fundamentals of making and creating, from the physics of flying to the chemist


The Future of Science Is Female: The Brilliant Minds Shaping the 21st Century (for Fans of Science and Technology Biographies) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781642503197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mango - September 15th, 2020

Women Scientists and Entrepreneurs You Should Know

"A book that is sure to inspire a new generation of girls in STEM. Educational and inspiring "Felicia Day, New York Times bestseller, American actress, gamer, writer, web series creator, and queen of the geeks.


Staff Pick Badge
You Can Change the World: The Kids' Guide to a Better Planet Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524860929
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 6th, 2020

Kids around the world are working together to make our planet a better, safer, happier place—and now you can join in with this practical guide!

You Can Change the World empowers kids to make changes in their lives and communities with the powerful message that anyone can make a difference in the world.


The Human Genome: Mapping the Blueprint of Human Life (Inquire & Investigate) Cover Image
By Carla Mooney, Tom Casteel (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781619309074
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nomad Press (VT) - August 15th, 2020

A fascinating tour of the human genome and the role of genetics in our lives Hands-on science investigations and STEM research projects help readers ages 12 to 15 discover a mysterious part of their own bodies--their genes

Have you ever wondered why you look the way you do? The answer lies in your human genome, the code of life.


Inside the Human Body (Inquire & Investigate) Cover Image
By Carla Mooney, Tom Casteel (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781619309036
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nomad Press (VT) - August 15th, 2020

A fun and informative introduction to the bodily systems that keep us alive Hands-on science experiments and STEM research projects help readers ages 12 to 15 discover an amazing world--their own bodies

What is the most complex machine on earth? The human body


Psychology: Why We Smile, Strive, and Sing (Inquire & Investigate) Cover Image
By Julie Rubini, Tom Casteel (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781619309111
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nomad Press (VT) - August 15th, 2020

A fascinating exploration of why we do the things we do, according to science Dive into the psychology of the human brain with STEM activities and research projects that get readers excited about learning their own minds.


The Universe: The Big Bang, Black Holes, and Blue Whales (Inquire & Investigate) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781619309326
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Nomad Press (VT) - April 15th, 2021

A deep dive into the origins of the universe Explore the ways people have tried answering the fundamental question of how the universe began with STEM activities and research projects that bring out-of-this-world learning into your own hands


Masterminds: Stephen Hawking Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781438089157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: B.E.S. - September 1st, 2020

Meet the pioneers of S.T.E.A.M. and discover their fascinating life stories and inspirations with the Masterminds series.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs