Young Adult NonFiction - History

More YA NonFiction - History Books
One Person, No Vote (YA edition): How Not All Voters Are Treated Equally Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547601073
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury YA - September 17th, 2019

In her New York Times bestseller White Rage, Carol Anderson laid bare an insidious history of policies that have systematically impeded black progress in America, from 1865 to our combustible present.


The Miracle & Tragedy of the Dionne Quintuplets Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524713812
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Schwartz & Wade - August 27th, 2019

In this riveting, beyond-belief true story from the author of The Borden Murders, meet the five children who captivated the entire world.


Fever Year: The Killer Flu of 1918 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780544837409
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

From the Sibert Honor–winning creator behind The Unwanted and Drowned City comes a graphic novel of one of the darkest episodes in American history: the Spanish Influenza epidemic of 1918.
 
New Year’s Day, 1918. America has declared war on Germany and is gathering troops to fight.


Spies: The Secret Showdown Between America and Russia Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316545921
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

A thrilling account of the Cold War spies and spycraft that changed the course of history, perfect for readers of Bomb and The Boys Who Challenged Hitler.


Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525514633
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Philomel Books - November 5th, 2019

*"Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner." --School Library Connection (starred review)

"An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias." --Kirkus Reviews


Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250211064
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Square Fish - October 8th, 2019

From the author of National Book Award finalist Charles and Emma comes an incredible story of brotherly love.


A Pirate's Life for She: Swashbuckling Women Through the Ages Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641600552
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicago Review Press - October 1st, 2019

Pirates are an enduring popular subject, depicted often in songs, stories, and Halloween costumes. Yet the truth about pirate women—who they were, why they went to sea, and what their lives were really like—is seldom a part of the conversation.


A Light in the Darkness: Janusz Korczak, His Orphans, and the Holocaust Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524701208
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

From National Book Award Finalist Albert Marrin comes the moving story of Janusz Korczak, the heroic Polish Jewish doctor who devoted his life to children, perishing with them in the Holocaust.


We Are Not Yet Equal: Understanding Our Racial Divide Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781547602520
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 29th, 2019

An NAACP Image Award finalist
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A NYPL Best Book for Teens


Staff Pick Badge
Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250180834
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Square Fish - September 24th, 2019

Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War is New York Times bestselling author Steve Sheinkin's award-winning nonfiction account of an ordinary man who wielded the most dangerous weapon: the truth.

“Easily the best study of the Vietnam War available for teen readers.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


1968: Today’s Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change Cover Image
By Marc Aronson (Editor), Susan Campbell Bartoletti (Editor)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536208870
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - October 1st, 2019

“The book’s strength lies in the way different voices and different angles come together into an integrated whole. Fascinating and accomplished.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250211705
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Square Fish - October 1st, 2019

Complex, passionate, brilliant, flawed—Alexander Hamilton comes alive in this exciting YA biography by Martha Brockenbrough.

He was born out of wedlock on a small island in the West Indies and orphaned as a teenager. From those inauspicious circumstances, he rose to a position of power and influence in colonial America.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs