Young Adult NonFiction - Biography - Bestsellers - Page 3

More YA NonFiction - Biography & Autobiography Books
The Beautiful Struggle (Adapted for Young Adults) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984894021
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Delacorte Press - January 12th, 2021

Adapted from the adult memoir by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Water Dancer and Between the World and Me, this father-son story explores how boys become men, and quite specifically, how Ta-Nehisi Coates became Ta-Nehisi Coates.


This Is What I Know About Art (Pocket Change Collective) Cover Image
By Kimberly Drew, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593095188
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 2nd, 2020

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

"Drew's experience teaches us to embrace what we are afraid of and be true to ourselves. She uses her passion to change the art world and invites us to join her."--Janelle Monáe, award-winning singer, actress, and producer


The New Queer Conscience (Pocket Change Collective) Cover Image
By Adam Eli, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593093689
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 2nd, 2020

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

"The new manifesto for how we as queer people could and should navigate the world. It's the holding hand I never had--but wish I did."--Troye Sivan, Golden Globe nominated-singer, songwriter, and actor


We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316523653
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

In this powerful book, Nobel Peace Prize winner and New York Times bestselling author Malala Yousafzai introduces the people behind the statistics and news stories about the millions of people displaced worldwide.

After her father was murdered, Maria escaped in the middle of the night with her mother.

Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before


The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks: Adapted for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People) Cover Image
By Jeanne Theoharis, Brandy Colbert (Adapted by), Jeanne Theoharis (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807067574
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Beacon Press - February 2nd, 2021

Now adapted for readers ages 12 and up, the award-winning biography that examines Parks’s life and 60 years of radical activism and brings the civil rights movement in the North and South to life


Imaginary Borders (Pocket Change Collective) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593094136
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 2nd, 2020

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.


Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593116722
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Philomel Books - March 2nd, 2021

*"[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction." --Booklist (starred review)

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.


Violet and Daisy: The Story of Vaudeville's Famous Conjoined Twins Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119723
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - April 27th, 2021

From the author of The Miracle & Tragedy of the Dionne Quintuplets and The Borden Murders comes the absorbing and compulsively readable story of Violet and Daisy Hilton, conjoined twins who were the sensation of the US sideshow circuits in the 1920s and 1930s.


Paul Robeson: No One Can Silence Me: The Life of the Legendary Artist and Activist (Adapted for Young Adults) Cover Image
By Martin Duberman, Jason Reynolds (Foreword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620976494
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: New Press - March 9th, 2021

The inspiring life and legacy of vocal artist and civil rights icon Paul Robeson--one of the most important public figures in the twentieth century--adapted for young adults by the acclaimed Robeson biographer

As an artist I come to sing, but as a citizen, I will always speak for peace, and no one can silence me in this. --Paul Robeson


Can't Stop Won't Stop (Young Adult Edition): A Hip-Hop History Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250790514
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Wednesday Books - March 16th, 2021

The American Book Award winner, now completely adapted for a young adult audience!

From award-winning author Jeff Chang, Can't Stop Won't Stop is the story of hip-hop, a generation-defining movement and the music that transformed American politics and culture forever.


Native Women Changing Their Worlds (Native Trailblazers) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781939053329
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: 7th Generation - May 25th, 2021

1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change Cover Image
By Marc Aronson (Editor), Susan Campbell Bartoletti (Editor)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781536208733
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Candlewick - September 1st, 2020

The acclaimed team that brought us 1968 turns to another year that shook the world with a collection of nonfiction writings by renowned young-adult authors.