Young Adult NonFiction - Biography

More YA NonFiction - Biography & Autobiography Books
Dissenter on the Bench: Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s Life and Work Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780544973640
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Clarion Books - June 4th, 2019

The life and career of the fiercely principled Supreme Court Justice, now a popular icon, with dramatic accounts of her landmark cases that moved the needle on legal protection of human rights, illustrated with b/w archival photographs.

Dramatically narrated case histories from Justice Ginsburg's stellar career are interwoven with an account of RBG’s life


Warhead: The True Story of One Teen Who Almost Saved the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525647904
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Press - July 2nd, 2019

An often hilarious and always relevant memoir about one teen boy's battle with brain cancer and his Starlight Children's Foundation wish: to meet Mikhail Gorbachev in Russia and plead for nuclear disarmament and world peace.


Elon Musk: A Mission to Save the World Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250313621
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Feiwel & Friends - July 2nd, 2019

A riveting and beautifully designed YA biography that shows how a once-bullied school boy became an iconic visionary who the New York Times described as "arguably the most important and successful entrepreneur in the world."


In Waves Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781910620632
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nobrow - June 4th, 2019

A tale of love, heartbreak and surfing from an important new voice in comics. In Waves is Craig Thompson's Blankets meets William Finnegan's Barbarian Days.


You Can Change the World!: Everyday Teen Heroes Making a Difference Everywhere Cover Image
By Margaret Rooke, Kara McHale (Illustrator), Taylor Richardson (Foreword by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781785925023
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jessica Kingsley Publishers - June 21st, 2019

This inspirational book tells the stories of more than 50 of today's teenagers who've dared to change the world they live in. It's been written to show other teens they can do the same.


A Cave in the Clouds: A Young Woman's Escape from Isis Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781773212357
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Annick Press - April 9th, 2019

Badeeah Hassan was just 18 when she witnessed firsthand the horrors of the 2014 genocide of the Ezidi people by ISIS forces. Captured by ISIS, known locally as Daesh, Badeeah was among hundreds forced into a brutal human trafficking network made up of women and girls of Ezidi ethnicity, a much-persecuted minority culture of Iraq.


Flying to the Moon: An Astronaut's Story Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374312022
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - May 28th, 2019

Based on the adult bestseller Carrying the Fire

In time for the 50th anniversary of man's first landing on the moon, this re-release of Michael Collins's autobiography is a bold, sparkling testament to exploration and perseverance.


Brave Face: A Memoir Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534431515
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon Pulse - May 21st, 2019

Critically acclaimed author of We Are the Ants—described as having “hints of Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five (School Library Journal)—opens up about what led to an attempted suicide in his teens, and his path back from the experience.

“I wasn’t depressed because I was gay.


Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers as Kids Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328801531
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2019

This exciting debut in graphic novel format tells the childhood stories of literary legends including Maya Angelou, Roald Dahl, and Sandra Cisnernos. Perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World.

What makes a writer?  What inspires them? Where do their stories come from?


Strangers Assume My Girlfriend Is My Nurse Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781626727700
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - April 30th, 2019

With his signature wit, twenty-something author, blogger, and entrepreneur Shane Burcaw is back with an essay collection about living a full life in a body that many people perceive as a tragedy.


The Truths We Hold: An American Journey (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984837066
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Philomel Books - May 7th, 2019

Now adapted for young readers, Senator Kamala Harris's empowering memoir about the values and inspirations that guided her life.


Bad Boys of Fashion: Style Rebels and Renegades Through the Ages Cover Image
By Jennifer Croll, Aneta Pacholska (Illustrator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781773212432
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Annick Press - April 9th, 2019

Sashay away, ladies: it's the boys' turn for the fashion spotlight. From Louis XIV to Kanye West, Jennifer Croll takes us on a tour of daring and different men throughout history who have all used fashion to get what they want.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs