Young Adult NonFiction - Biography

More YA NonFiction - Biography & Autobiography Books
Notes from a Young Black Chef (Adapted for Young Adults) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176009
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Delacorte Press - April 13th, 2021

This inspiring memoir, now adapted for young adults, chronicles Top Chef star and Forbes and Zagat 30 Under 30 phenom Kwame Onwuachi's incredible and odds-defying fame in the food world after a tough childhood in the Bronx and Nigeria.


Skate for Your Life Cover Image
By Leo Baker, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593223475
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 1st, 2021

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

Wow Leo's vulnerability and authenticity allowed me to experience his pain and triumph. A great testament to the positive power of skateboarding and the dangers of gender. --Elissa Steamer (skateboarding pioneer)


Can't Stop Won't Stop (Young Adult Edition): A Hip-Hop History Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250790514
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Wednesday Books - March 16th, 2021

The American Book Award winner, now completely adapted for a young adult audience!

From award-winning author Jeff Chang, Can't Stop Won't Stop is the story of hip-hop, a generation-defining movement and the music that transformed American politics and culture forever.


Violet and Daisy: The Story of Vaudeville's Famous Conjoined Twins Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119723
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - April 27th, 2021

From the author of The Miracle & Tragedy of the Dionne Quintuplets and The Borden Murders comes the absorbing and compulsively readable story of Violet and Daisy Hilton, conjoined twins who were the sensation of the US sideshow circuits in the 1920s and 1930s.


My Body in Pieces Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781773064840
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Groundwood Books - April 6th, 2021

A deeply emotional graphic memoir of a young woman's struggles with self-esteem and body image issues.


They Better Call Me Sugar: My Journey from the Hood to the Hardwood Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781617759291
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Black Sheep - May 4th, 2021

In unflinchingly honest prose, Sugar Rodgers shares her inspiring story of overcoming tremendous odds to become an all-star in the WNBA.

WNBA All-Star Sugar Rodgers doesn't hold back in her memoir.
--New York Amsterdam News


We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316523653
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

In this powerful book, Nobel Peace Prize winner and New York Times bestselling author Malala Yousafzai introduces the people behind the statistics and news stories about the millions of people displaced worldwide.

After her father was murdered, Maria escaped in the middle of the night with her mother.

Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before


A Time of Fear: America in the Era of Red Scares and Cold War Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525644293
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - March 30th, 2021

From National Book Award Finalist and Sibert Honor Author Albert Marrin, a timely examination of Red Scares in the United States, including the Rosenbergs, the Hollywood Ten and the McCarthy era.


Paul Robeson: No One Can Silence Me: The Life of the Legendary Artist and Activist (Adapted for Young Adults) Cover Image
By Martin Duberman, Jason Reynolds (Foreword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620976494
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: New Press - March 9th, 2021

The inspiring life and legacy of vocal artist and civil rights icon Paul Robeson--one of the most important public figures in the twentieth century--adapted for young adults by the acclaimed Robeson biographer

As an artist I come to sing, but as a citizen, I will always speak for peace, and no one can silence me in this. --Paul Robeson


Women Discoverers: Top Women in Science (NBM Comics Biographies) Cover Image
By Christelle Pecout (Illustrator), Marie Moinard
$19.99
ISBN: 9781681122700
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: NBM Publishing - March 1st, 2021

From Ada Lovelace (computing) to Marie Curie (Physics and Chemistry), these exceptional women enabled the world to advance in all fields of science including space exploration (Mae Jemison), telecommunications (the actress also genius discoverer Hedy Lamarr), and Biology (Rosalind Franklin).


Seen: Rachel Carson Cover Image
By Birdie Willis, Rii Abrego (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781684156481
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: BOOM! Box - March 9th, 2021

The second original graphic novel in a new series spotlighting the true stories of the real groundbreakers who changed our world for the better.

Booklist Starred Review!

“Those who dwell among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life.”

Meet Rachel Carson, the woman who changed the way America fought against the envir


Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593116722
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Philomel Books - March 2nd, 2021

*"[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction." --Booklist (starred review)

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.