Young Adult NonFiction - Biography

More YA NonFiction - Biography & Autobiography Books
We Are Displaced: My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316523646
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

"A stirring and timely book." --New York Times Book Review

After her father was murdered, MarĂ­a escaped in the middle of the night with her mother.


Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before landing in America. Her sister, Sabreen, survived a harrowing journey to Italy.


A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062453013
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 22nd, 2019

The gripping true story of the only women to fly in combat in World War II—from Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of Code Name Verity


Dear Ally, How Do You Write a Book Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338212266
Availability: Backordered
Published: Scholastic Press - March 26th, 2019

From bestselling author Ally Carter, the definitive guide to writing a novel for the NaNoWriMo generation, including helpful tips from other YA stars.


Parkland Speaks: Survivors from Marjory Stoneman Douglas Share Their Stories Cover Image
By Sarah Lerner (Editor)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984849991
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 22nd, 2019

Featuring art and writing from the students of the Parkland tragedy, this is a raw look at the events of February 14, and a poignant representation of grief, healing, and hope.


The Electric War: Edison, Tesla, Westinghouse, and the Race to Light the World Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250120168
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 22nd, 2019

The spellbinding true account of the scientific competition to light the world with electricity.


Soaring Earth: A Companion Memoir to Enchanted Air Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534429536
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - February 26th, 2019

In this powerful companion to her award-winning memoir Enchanted Air, Young People’s Poet Laureate Margarita Engle recounts her teenage years during the turbulent 1960s.

Margarita Engle’s childhood straddled two worlds: the lush, welcoming island of Cuba and the lonely, dream-soaked reality of Los Angeles.


Staff Pick Badge
The Lady Is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II Hero of the French Resistance (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545936125
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Nonfiction - March 26th, 2019

The Lady Is a Spy is the audacious and riveting true story of Virginia Hall, America's greatest spy and unsung hero, brought to vivid life by acclaimed author Don Mitchell.

When Hitler invaded Poland, Virginia Hall was traveling in Europe. Which was dangerous enough, but as fighting erupted, instead of returning home, she headed to France.


Renegade Women in Film and TV Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525574545
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Clarkson Potter - February 5th, 2019

A charmingly illustrated and timely tribute to the women who broke glass ceilings in film and television, debuting during an historic time of change in the entertainment industry.
 


Yes She Can: 10 Stories of Hope & Change from Young Female Staffers of the Obama White House Cover Image
By Molly Dillon (Compiled by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984848451
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Schwartz & Wade - March 5th, 2019

"Young women can run the world. These are the stories of those who did..." @hillaryclinton

"An excellent guide to the how and why of a life of public service." --Amy Poehler


Trans Mission: My Quest to a Beard Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316529037
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2019

A brave first-hand account of online personality Alex Bertie's life, struggles, and victories as a transgender teen, as well as a groundbreaking guide for transitioning teens.


The Great Nijinsky: God of Dance Cover Image
By Lynn Curlee, Lynn Curlee (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781580898003
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge Teen - April 9th, 2019

Dance prodigy, sex symbol, gay pioneer, cultural icon--Vaslav Nijinsky rose to fame as the star of the Ballets Russes in Paris before mental illness stole his career and the last thirty years of his life. A tragic story of a great genius, this compelling work of narrative nonfiction chronicles a life of obsessive artistry, celebrity, and notoriety.


Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524717827
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ember - March 26th, 2019

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs