Young Adult NonFiction - Biography

More YA NonFiction - Biography & Autobiography Books
The Beautiful Struggle (Adapted for Young Adults) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984894021
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Press - January 12th, 2021

Adapted from the adult memoir by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Water Dancer and Between the World and Me, this father-son story explores how boys become men, and quite specifically, how Ta-Nehisi Coates became Ta-Nehisi Coates.


Girlhood: Teens around the World in Their Own Voices Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643750118
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - February 9th, 2021

What does a teenage girl dream about in Nigeria or New York? How does she spend her days in Mongolia, the Midwest, and the Middle East?

All around the world, girls are going to school, working, dreaming up big futures—they are soccer players and surfers, ballerinas and chess champions. Yet we know so little about their daily lives.


In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062888754
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 9th, 2021

An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind’s race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin’s Bomb and M. T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead.

You’ve heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story?


Empowered Black Girl: Joyful Affirmations and Words of Resilience (Teen and YA Maturing, Self-Esteem, Cultural Heritage, for Fans of Badass Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781642505603
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Mango - January 19th, 2021

Inspirational Affirmations from Fabulous Black Female Trailblazers


Strangers Assume My Girlfriend Is My Nurse Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250233165
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Square Fish - January 26th, 2021

With his signature wit, twenty-something author, blogger, and entrepreneur Shane Burcaw is back with Strangers Assume My Girlfriend Is My Nurse, an essay collection about living a full life in a body that many people perceive as a tragedy.


The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks: Adapted for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People) Cover Image
By Jeanne Theoharis, Brandy Colbert (Adapted by), Jeanne Theoharis (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807067574
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Beacon Press - February 2nd, 2021

Now adapted for readers ages 12 and up, the award-winning biography that examines Parks’s life and 60 years of radical activism and brings the civil rights movement in the North and South to life


The Truths We Hold: An American Journey (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780593113172
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - October 13th, 2020

Now adapted for young readers, Vice President Kamala Harris's empowering memoir about the values and inspirations that guided her life.


Apple: (Skin to the Core) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140138
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Levine Querido - October 6th, 2020

National Book Award Longlist
TIME's 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2020
NPR's Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness's Best Books of 2020
Publishers Weekly's Big Indie Books of Fall
Amazon's Best Book of the Month
AICL Best YA Books of 2020
CSMCL Best Multicultural Children's Books of 2020

PRAISE


A Teenager's Guide to Feminism Cover Image
By Christina Brown (Editor), Stephanie Anderson (Cover Design by), Megan Mimiaga (Designed by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781736052204
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Pear Shaped Press - December 4th, 2020

This powerful debut anthology from Pear Shaped Press features contributions by feminists from all walks of life. What started out as an introductory book for teens, has morphed into a set of stories and sentiments about the continued search for gender equality through the ages.


Out!: How to Be Your Authentic Self Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419739941
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Amulet Books - October 6th, 2020

Miles McKenna is a queer and trans activist. He transitioned online in front of a million people. This is his survival guide.
 
When Miles came out on his YouTube channel in 2015—then transitioned online in 2017—his aim was to help other teens navigate their identities and take charge of their own coming-out stories.


Taking on the Plastics Crisis (Pocket Change Collective) Cover Image
By Hannah Testa, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593223338
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 13th, 2020

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

"Taking on the Plastics Crisis delivers straightforward advise for getting involved in the global movement to eliminate single-use plastics." -- Booklist, Starred Review


Surviving the Angel of Death: The True Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781939100450
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tanglewood - October 13th, 2020

Eva Mozes Kor was just ten years old when she arrived in Auschwitz. While her parents and two older sisters were taken to the gas chambers, she and her twin, Miriam, were herded into the care of the man known as the Angel of Death, Dr. Josef Mengele. Subjected to sadistic medical experiments, she was forced to fight daily for her and her twin's survival.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs