Young Adult NonFiction

New Releases
 
Staff Pick Badge
Girling Up: How to Be Strong, Smart and Spectacular Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399548611
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - May 14th, 2019

Mayim Bialik, star of The Big Bang Theory, puts her Ph.D. to work as she talks to teens about the science of growing up and getting ahead. A must-have book for all teenage girls.


Staff Pick Badge
The Borden Murders: Lizzie Borden and the Trial of the Century Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984892447
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Yearling - May 7th, 2019

With murder, court battles, and sensational newspaper headlines, the story of Lizzie Borden is compulsively readable and perfect for the Common Core.
 
Lizzie Borden took an axe, gave her mother forty whacks. When she saw what she had done, she gave her father forty-one.
 


Strangers Assume My Girlfriend Is My Nurse Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781626727700
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - April 30th, 2019

With his signature acerbic wit and hilarious voice, twenty-something author, blogger, and entrepreneur Shane Burcaw is back with an essay collection about living a full life in a body that many people perceive as a tragedy.


Boying Up: How to Be Brave, Bold and Brilliant Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525515999
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - May 14th, 2019

Fearless Public Speaking: A Guide for Beginners Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781454931812
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Sparknotes - May 7th, 2019

Scared of speaking in public? You're not alone This accessible guide, written by a former teacher and poetry slam coach, will help tweens and teens find their voice


The Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets: Coming Out in the Streets Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419737206
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 14th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
For Every One Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481486255
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2019

“A lyrical masterpiece.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Originally performed at the Kennedy Center for the unveiling of the Martin Luther King Jr.


The Heart of a Boy: Celebrating the Strength and Spirit of Boyhood Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781523505517
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Workman Publishing Company - April 2nd, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER.

It’s time to celebrate boys. 

 
Against the backdrop of a growing national conversation about how to raise sons to become good people, Kate T. Parker is leading the way by turning her lens on boys.


Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524717827
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ember - March 26th, 2019

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.


Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338255669
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Nonfiction - March 26th, 2019

Alvin Townley, a critically acclaimed author of adult nonfiction, delivers a searing YA debut about American POWs during the Vietnam War.


A Cave in the Clouds: A Young Woman's Escape from Isis Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781773212340
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Annick Press - April 9th, 2019

Badeeah Hassan was just 18 when she witnessed firsthand the horrors of the 2014 genocide of the Ezidi people by ISIS forces. Captured by ISIS, known locally as Daesh, Badeeah was among hundreds forced into a brutal human trafficking network made up of women and girls of Ezidi ethnicity, a much-persecuted minority culture of Iraq.


Girl Mogul: Dream It. Do It. Change the World Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250298966
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Imprint - April 2nd, 2019

"If you know an aspirational teen who's destined for the big leagues, or if you just want to make sure you're doing everything right in today's weird economy, Girl Mogul is the perfect book to help." —Bustle


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs