Travel Books, Guides - Literature, Essays & Travelogues - Bestsellers - Page 9 | Northshire Bookstore

Travel Books, Guides - Literature, Essays & Travelogues - Bestsellers - Page 9

Dispatches from Pluto: Lost and Found in the Mississippi Delta Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476709642
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 13th, 2015

In Dispatches from Pluto, adventure writer Richard Grant takes on “the most American place on Earth”—the enigmatic, beautiful, often derided Mississippi Delta.

Richard Grant and his girlfriend were living in a shoebox apartment in New York City when they decided on a whim to buy an old plantation house in the Mississippi Delta.


She Explores: Stories of Life-Changing Adventures on the Road and in the Wild (Solo Travel Guides, Travel Essays, Women Hiking Books) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781452167664
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Chronicle Books - March 26th, 2019

For every woman who has ever been called outdoorsy comes a collection of stories that inspires unforgettable adventure.

Beautiful, empowering, and exhilarating, She Explores is a spirited celebration of female bravery and courage, and an inspirational companion for any woman who wants to travel the world on her own terms.


Pacific Coasting: A Guide to the Ultimate Road Trip, from Southern California to the Pacific Northwest Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781579658717
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Artisan - March 16th, 2021

“Your illustrated guide to the perfect West Coast road trip.”
—C magazine

Roll down the windows, turn up the radio, and take a drive up the world’s most magical coastline.

It’s a beautiful and practical travel guide. An illustrated keepsake. An inspiration to get out and visit.


Staff Pick Badge
The Oregon Trail: A New American Journey Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781451659177
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 7th, 2016

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #1 Indie Next Pick • Winner of the PEN New England Award

“Enchanting…A book filled with so much love…Long before Oregon, Rinker Buck has convinced us that the best way to see America is from the seat of a covered wagon.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Amazing…A real nonfic


My Wanderlust Diaries: A Compilation of Travel Stories, Misadventures, and Life Lessons from a Solo Female Backpacker Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781649526496
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Fulton Books - July 27th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Destinations of a Lifetime: 225 of the World's Most Amazing Places Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781426215643
Availability: Backordered
Published: National Geographic - October 27th, 2015

NatGeo takes you on a photographic tour of the world's most spectacular destinations, inspiring tangible ideas for your next trip. Travel to hundreds of the most breathtaking locales-both natural and man-made-illustrated with vivid images taken by the organization's world-class photographers.


The Curve of Time Cover Image
By M. Blanchet, Timothy Egan (Foreword by), Gray Campbell (Introduction by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770500372
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Whitecap Books - April 11th, 2011

Our world then was both wide and narrow -- wide in the immensity of sea and mountain; narrow in that the boat was very small, and we lived and camped, explored and swam in a little realm of our own making.
-- M. Wylie Blanchet


The End of the Golden Gate: Writers on Loving and (Sometimes) Leaving San Francisco Cover Image
By Gary Kamiya (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781797210285
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Chronicle Prism - May 25th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER! Capturing an ever-changing San Francisco, 25 acclaimed writers tell their stories of living in one of the most mesmerizing cities in the world.


Travels with Charley in Search of America: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By John Steinbeck, Jay Parini (Introduction by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143107002
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Classics - October 2nd, 2012

A collectible 50th anniversary deluxe edition featuring an updated introduction by Jay Parini and first edition cover art and illustrated maps of Steinbeck’s route by Don Freeman

A Penguin Classic


House of Rain: Tracking a Vanished Civilization Across the American Southwest Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316067546
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Back Bay Books - July 3rd, 2008

A "beautifully written travelogue" that draws on the latest scholarly research as well as a lifetime of exploration to light on the extraordinary Anasazi culture of the American Southwest (Entertainment Weekly). 

The greatest "unsolved mystery" of the American Southwest is the fate of the Anasazi, the native peoples who in the eleventh century


The Passenger: How a Travel Writer Learned to Love Cruises & Other Lies from a Sinking Ship Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781567926972
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: David R. Godine Publisher - June 8th, 2021

"Beautifully written and astutely observed. This is a marvelous book."
--Washington Post

"For fans of The Perfect Storm, In the Heart of the Sea, and Bill Bryson on his sassiest days."
--Afar Travel Magazine and Guide


The Outermost House: A Year of Life On The Great Beach of Cape Cod Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780805073683
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Holt Paperbacks - July 1st, 2003

The seventy-fifth anniversary edition of the classic book about Cape Cod, "written with simplicity, sympathy, and beauty" (New York Herald Tribune)