Staff Picks 2014 August

The August Staff Picks can also be viewed or printed as a PDF
Staff Picks August 2014 (600KB)
AUGUST FEATURE
A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great BetrayalA Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal by Ben Mcintryre. Philby was the KGB spy who threw the Cold War into deep freeze and inspired a dozen John Le Carre novels. How did he get away with it? Macintyre's provocative non-fiction thriller points the finger at an English old boy network that unwittingly plotted its own destruction. ~ Charles Bottomley

Highly entertaining portrait of British intelligence during the Cold War. Great characters with lots of intrigue, betrayal and social class elitism. Best of all, it's true. No wonder they lost their empire. ~ Sarah Knight

Even James Jesus Angleton, head of CIA counterintelligence, was fooled. A great read for fans of fact and fiction! ~ Louise Jones
NONFICTION
NEW HARDCOVER
Cowboys and Indies: The Epic History of the Record IndustryCowboys and Indies: The Epic History of the Record Industry by Gareth Murphy. The business of pop as told by the mavericks, hustlers and swindlers who turned hits onto untold riches (and ruined a few careers on the way). With plenty of inside dope, this is a delicious trip into making and faking it in the music biz. ~ Charles Bottomley Haatchi & Little B: The Inspiring True Story of One Boy and His DogHaatchi & Little B: The Inspiring True Story of One Boy and His Dog by Wendy Holden. An initially heartbreaking but completely uplifting story of how a young boy with a rare genetic disorder and a dog who nearly lost his life when he was tied to active railroad tracks rally together and overcome the odds against them. ~ Jess Hanlon Elephant Company: The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World War IIElephant Company: The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World War II by Vicki Constantine Croke. James "Billy" Williams worked in the teak forests of Burma after WWI, learning more than anyone else about elephants, as their friend, communicator, counselor, doctor. A truly amazing story of the relationship between a man and these intelligent animals. ~ Louise Jones
The People's Republic of Amnesia: Tiananmen RevisitedThe People's Republic of Amnesia: Tiananmen Revisited by Louisa Lim. This superb investigative history portrays a China still suffering the effects of Tiananmen 25 years on. Despite the passage of time, the details of that day in 1989 remain obscure and often (intentionally) forgotten. An in-depth look at the human cost of history. ~ Cheryl Cornwall Defending the City of God: A Medieval Queen, the First Crusades, and the Quest for Peace in JerusalemDefending the City of God: A Medieval Queen, the First Crusades, and the Quest for Peace in Jerusalem by Sharan Newman. Melisande (1105- 1161), daughter, wife and mother of crusader knights, was the second ruler of the Christian Kingdom of Jerusalem for over 30 years, a woman honored and respected in her own time, then subsequently forgotten. This amazing book reads like a novel. ~ Maeve Noonan
NEW PAPERBACK
Knocking on Heaven's Door: The Path to a Better Way of DeathKnocking On Heaven's Door: The Path to a Better Way of Death by Kathy Butler. The author's father suffered a debilitating stroke after having a pacemaker installed - a relatively minor surgery. This heartrending, infuriating trek through the labyrinth of contemporary health care is primarily a cautionary tale addressing the dangers - and the cost - of extending life for its own sake. ~ Alden Graves
The End of Absence: Reclaiming What We've Lost in a World of Constant ConnectionThe End of Absence: Reclaiming What We've Lost in a World of Constant Connection by Michael Harris. My children won't remember what the world was like without the Internet, nor what has been lost. Harris simply calls it absence. A combination of brain science, cultural history and personal reflection, this is fascinating reading for those concerned about a world of constant connectedness. ~ Stan Hynds Sous Chef: 24 Hours on the LineSous Chef: 24 Hours on the Line by Michael Gibney. A frantic, sweaty-palms look at a day in the life of a Sous Chef told with a keen understanding of the restaurant industry in tantalizing language. The food is described so lovingly, and the pace is so frenetic, you'll be equal parts exhausted and hungry by the end! ~ Chris Linendoll
Saratoga Springs 1st Birthday Party
Tuesday 1–7 pm It's exactly one year since we opened our Saratoga Springs store. Join us for the celebration with games, door prizes, lists of our favorite books, & (of course) birthday cake!
OLD FAVORITE
Dancers Among Us: A Celebration of Joy in the EverydayDancers Among Us: A Celebration of Joy in the Everyday by Jordan Matter. Amazing photos of ballet dancers around the country. These images tell stories of everyday life through incredible displays of talent. Inspiring for any dancer or photographer. ~ Leah Moore
USED BOOK NOOK
COOKBOOKS
is the featured category in the Used Book Collection for August. Short & tall, big & small … all fresh acquisitions are on display.
Do you like to talk books?
For book group schedules, check our website: www.northshire.com/event-list
To join Saratoga Springs groups contact Jess at jhanlon@northshire.com
To join Manchester groups contact Erik at ebarnum@northshire.com
NEW HARDCOVER
NEW PAPERBACK
The Book of LifeThe Book of Life by Deborah Harkness. Finally - the conclusion of the All Soul's Trilogy. Matthew and Diana return to the future, loose ends are tied up, but there's room for the complex characters to return. History, genetics and morality play out in this escapist fantasy for the educated woman. ~ Marika McCoola Summer House with Swimming PoolSummer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch. A narcissistic, sociopathic, miserable doctor takes on a celebrity patient. Then he sleeps with his wife. And then kills him. Was it an accident? An incredibly strong narrative voice makes this book a must-read for fans of Bret Easton Ellis or Chuck Palahniuk. ~ Chris Linendoll This Is the WaterThis is the Water by Yannick Murphy. While swim team mom Annie chafes over the latest hi-tech bathing suits for her daughters, considers her drifting marriage and mourns the loss of a brother to suicide, a serial killer strikes in this cleverly constructed, suspenseful novel - a perfect summertime read. ~ Amy Palmer
Lucky UsLucky Us by Amy Bloom. What a joy! A group of occasionally unfortunate but ultimately lucky characters remake their lives and redefine "family" as they move across the country during the 1940s and 50s. Written with wit and style – surprising you each time the plot swerves in a new direction. ~ Louise Jones Herbie's GameHerbie's Game by Timothy Hallinan. Junior Bender, LA burglar since he was 14, has never been caught and always obeys his moral code. However, other LA criminals insist he help them with their problems. Laugh aloud funny, witty dialogue, great characters. Also in the series in paperback: Crashed, Little Elvises, The Fame Thief. ~ Sarah Knight The Truth About the Harry Quebert AffairThe Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker. A customer recommended I read this and I'm glad I did. When the body of a young girl is discovered in a famous writer's New Hampshire yard, his protégé investigates. An unputdownable mystery whose surprises don't end until the very last page. Thanks, customer! ~ Charles Bottomley
Lost for WordsLost for Words by Edward St. Aubyn. A refreshing, satirical romp through the literary world, following the hilariously drawn cast of characters as they await the result of the prestigious Elysian Prize. Corruption, liaisons and a murder plot ensue. A laugh-out-loud must-read if you follow any of the hoopla surrounding literary prizes. ~ Lily Ringler The Kills: Sutler, The Massive, The Kill, and The HitThe Kills: Sutler, The Massive, The Kill, and The Hit by Richard House. A bomb goes off in the beginning of this massive tome. Its ripples are felt across Iraq, across Europe, across time and across four fascinating, interlocking stories that feel ripped from today's headlines, but the memory of this ingenious thriller will last through many tomorrows. ~ Charles Bottomley The Bookman's Tale: A Novel of ObsessionThe Bookman's Tale: A Novel of Obsession by Charlie Lovett. A rich, beautifully written novel of love, loss and redemption through the passion for books in general, Shakespeare in particular, that spans centuries, including real and imaginary Oxfordians and Stratfordians. ~ Maeve Noonan
OLD FAVORITE
The Lost WeekendThe Lost Weekend by Charles Jackson. The unheralded Jackson saw most of his life through the bottom of a shot glass, and his prose reads like F. Scott Fitzgerald dictating from the floor of McSorley's Old Ale House. His 1944 masterpiece is an unflinching account of alcoholism as both disease and the ultimate form of rebellion. A hardboiled depiction of the Great American Loser, the missing link between The Great Gatsby and On the Road. ~ Charles Bottomley
Queen's GambitThe Queen's Gambit by Elizabeth Fremantle. The complexity of politics and marriage in Henry the Eighth's terrifying final years, in the voice of Katherine Parr, his last wife. Well constructed, well researched, convincing in tone, with deftly drawn characters. An excellent companion read to Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall series. ~ Maeve Noonan
GRAPHIC NOVEL
Seconds: A Graphic NovelSeconds: A Graphic Novel by Bryan Lee O'Malley. After the amazing Scott Pilgrim series, O'Malley has done it again - a triumph in every single way. Small characters, moments, charismatic artwork, relatable dialogue nail it all. I loved every single second of reading it; in fact, I wish I could go back for "Seconds!" Sorry. ~ Chris Linendoll
FAVORITE THINGS
The Bookstore Sells Clothing??
Yes we do! And they are either fair trade or from women's cooperative businesses as well. Come in and see the great variety offered by both stores. Sizes, styles and prices will vary. ~ Monique Proulx
Doctor SleepDoctor Sleep by Stephen King. Danny Torrence never lost his ability to shine and now he must use it to save the life of a child who becomes the prey of a murderous band of nomads called The True Knot. King's sequel to his 1977 horror classic The Shining will not disappoint fans. ~ Alden Graves
     
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs