Sports Books | Northshire Bookstore

Sports Books

KG: A to Z: An Uncensored Encyclopedia of Life, Basketball, and Everything in Between Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982170325
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 23rd, 2021

A unique, unfiltered memoir from the NBA champion and fifteen-time all-star ahead of his induction into the Hall of Fame.

Kevin Garnett was one of the most dominant players the game of basketball has ever seen. He was also one of its most outspoken.


Endure: Mind, Body, and the Curiously Elastic Limits of Human Performance Cover Image
By Alex Hutchinson, Malcolm Gladwell (Foreword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062499981
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Custom House - February 16th, 2021

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Foreword by Malcolm Gladwell

Limits are an illusion: discover the revolutionary account of the science and psychology of endurance, revealing the secrets of reaching the hidden extra potential within us all.


The Impossible First: From Fire to Ice—Crossing Antarctica Alone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982133122
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - January 19th, 2021

Colin O’Brady’s awe-inspiring, New York Times bestselling memoir recounting his recovery from a tragic accident and his record-setting 932-mile solo crossing of Antarctica is a “jaw-dropping tale of passion and perseverance” (Angela Duckworth, New York Times bestselling author of Grit).


Pee Wees: Confessions of a Hockey Parent Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374268015
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 12th, 2021

A New York Times bestselling author takes a rollicking deep dive into the ultra-competitive world of youth hockey


42 Today: Jackie Robinson and His Legacy (Washington Mews Books #9) Cover Image
By Michael G. Long (Editor), Ken Burns (Foreword by), Sarah Burns (Foreword by)
$27.95
ISBN: 9781479805624
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: New York University Press - February 9th, 2021

Explores Jackie Robinson's compelling and complicated legacy


The Making of a Miracle: The Untold Story of the Captain of the 1980 Gold Medal–Winning U.S. Olympic Hockey Team Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062960962
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Paperbacks - January 26th, 2021

On the fortieth anniversary of the historic "Miracle on Ice," Mike Eruzione—the captain of the 1980 U.S Men’s Olympic Hockey Team, who scored the winning goal—recounts his amazing career on ice, the legendary upset against the Soviets, and winning the gold medal.


The MeatEater Guide to Wilderness Skills and Survival Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780593129692
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House - December 1st, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An indispensable guide to surviving everything from an extended wilderness exploration to a day-long boat trip, with hard-earned advice from the host of the show MeatEater as seen on Netflix


Staff Pick Badge
Tom Seaver: A Terrific Life Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982136185
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - November 24th, 2020

An authoritative biography of Hall of Fame pitching legend Tom Seaver, still the greatest player ever to wear a Mets jersey, by a journalist who knew him well.

He was called Tom Terrific for a reason. Tom Seaver was one of the most talented and popular players in the history of baseball. He is one of only two pitchers with 300 wins, 3,000 strikeouts, and an ERA under 3.00.


I Came As a Shadow: An Autobiography Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250619358
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - December 15th, 2020

The long-awaited autobiography from Georgetown University’s legendary coach, whose life on and off the basketball court threw America’s unresolved struggle with racial justice into sharp relief.

John Thompson was never just a basketball coach and I Came As A Shadow is categorically not just a basketball autobiography.


Best Backcountry Skiing in the Northeast: 50 Classic Ski and Snowboard Tours in New England and New York Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781628421248
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Appalachian Mountain Club - December 14th, 2020

"The bible" of backcountry skiing is now bigger, better, and completely updated. Thirty years after his first guidebook became a cult classic among Eastern powder seekers and garnered two national awards, David Goodman has revised and expanded his "bible of Northeastern backcountry skiing" for the next generation of winter adventurers.


At the Mercy of the Mountains: True Stories Of Survival And Tragedy In New York's Adirondacks Cover Image
By Peter Bronski, Jonathan Waterman (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781493050307
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Lyons Press - December 1st, 2020

In this compelling book, award-winning adventure writer and former Lower Adirondack Search and Rescue team member Peter Bronski chronicles true stories of survival and tragedy, from famous historical cases during the early 20th century, to modern tales of harrowing struggle in the mountains and wilderness.


From Hang Time to Prime Time: Business, Entertainment, and the Birth of the Modern-Day NBA Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982103958
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atria Books - December 1st, 2020

Perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball, this vivid, thoroughly entertaining, and well-researched book explores the NBA’s surge in popularity in the 1970s and 1980s and its transformation into a global cultural institution.

Far beyond simply being a sports league, the NBA has become an entertainment and pop culture juggernaut.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs