Social Studies Books - United States

Browse More Social Study - United States Books
Stamped (For Kids): Racism, Antiracism, and You Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316167581
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

This chapter book edition of the #1 New York Times bestseller by luminaries Ibram X. Kendi and Jason Reynolds is an essential introduction to the history of racism and antiracism in America
 
RACE. Uh-oh.


Let Liberty Rise!: How America’s Schoolchildren Helped Save the Statue of Liberty Cover Image
By Chuck Groenink (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338225884
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Press - March 2nd, 2021

How did 121,000 Americans save their most beloved icon? Here is an inspiring story about the power we have when we all work together!

* "This charming history title is a true inspiration for the present.


Who Was Levi Strauss? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448488561
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - March 9th, 2021

How did an immigrant who sold sewing supplies in New York City reinvent himself in the American West by creating the most iconic pair of pants in the world? Find out in this addition to the Who HQ library!


Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781541581203
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - February 2nd, 2021

Celebrated author Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrator Floyd Cooper provide a powerful look at the Tulsa Race Massacre, one of the worst incidents of racial violence in our nation's history. The book traces the history of African Americans in Tulsa's Greenwood district and chronicles the devastation that occurred in 1921 when a white mob attacked the Black community.


History Comics: The Wild Mustang: Horses of the American West Cover Image
By Chris Duffy, Falynn Koch (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250174284
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: First Second - February 23rd, 2021

Turn back the clock with History Comics, First Second's new nonfiction graphic novel series! In this volume, learn how wild mustangs were first introduced to America and how they still roam free today.


An Equal Shot: How the Law Title IX Changed America Cover Image
By Helaine Becker, Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250241955
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - February 23rd, 2021

Helaine Becker's An Equal Shot is a nonfiction picture book introduction to the history and importance of Title IX as civil rights legislature, featuring illustrations by Dow Phumiruk.


Kids on the March: 15 Stories of Speaking Out, Protesting, and Fighting for Justice Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643751009
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 23rd, 2021

From the March on Washington to March for Our Lives to Black Lives Matter, the powerful stories of kid-led protest in America. 
  

Lady Bird Johnson, That's Who!: The Story of a Cleaner and Greener America Cover Image
By Tracy Nelson Maurer, Ginnie Hsu (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250240361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - February 23rd, 2021

Lady Bird Johnson, That's Who! is Tracy Nelson Maurer's lively picture book biography of Lady Bird Johnson, with a focus on her environmentalist passion and legacy as First Lady.

Who fought to stop pollution? Who helped make America cleaner and greener? Lady Bird Johnson, That's Who!


Unsolved Case Files: Escape at 10,000 Feet: D.B. Cooper and the Missing Money Cover Image
By Tom Sullivan, Tom Sullivan (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062991515
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 2nd, 2021

A thrilling new graphic nonfiction series about real FBI cases, launching with a gripping, minute-by-minute account of the only unsolved airplane hijacking in the U.S.

CASE NO. 001: NORJAK
NOVEMBER 24, 1971
PORTLAND, OREGON


There Goes Patti McGee!: The Story of the First Women's National Skateboard Champion Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313999
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - February 23rd, 2021

Tootie Nienow's There Goes Patti McGee! is an uplifting picture book biography of the first-ever professional female skateboarder and winner of the 1964 National Skateboard Championship for Women.


Grace Banker and Her Hello Girls Answer the Call: The Heroic Story of WWI Telephone Operators Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781684373505
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Calkins Creek - February 2nd, 2021

Led by twenty-five-year-old Grace Banker, thirty-two telephone operators — affectionately called "Hello Girls" back in the US — became the first female combatants in World War I.


Sprouting Wings: The True Story of James Herman Banning, the First African American Pilot to Fly Across the United States Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984847621
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs