Social Studies Books - History - Exploration & Discovery

New Releases
 
More Juvenile Nonfiction - Exploration & Discovery Books
Ernest Shackleton (Little People, BIG DREAMS #45) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780711245716
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - September 1st, 2020

In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Ernest Shackleton, the fearless Antarctic adventurer.

When Ernest Shackleton was young, he longed for a life of adventure.


The Human Race: A History of Record-Breakers Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780711256682
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: QEB Publishing - October 20th, 2020

Let your little explorer go on a daring journey across land, sea, and sky! Discover the exciting exploits of incredible adventurers who shaped our world.

Learn all about famous adventurers who searched the world far and wide in this engaging and colorful adventure book for pioneers-in-training. Happy exploring!


Ida and the World Beyond Mount Kaiserzipf Cover Image
By Linda Schwalbe, David Henry Wilson (Translated by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780735844209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: NorthSouth Books - September 1st, 2020

Ida Pfeiffer has a mind of her own.

Although she lives at a time when girls are expected to be mothers and housewives, Ida dreams of being an explorer and going on expeditions.


Ferdinand Magellan (The First Names Series) Cover Image
By Candy Gourlay, Tom Knight (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781419746789
Availability: Backordered
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Meet the first explorer who went around the world
 
Before he led the first expedition to circumnavigate the Earth, Ferdinand Magellan (1480–1521) was a Portuguese sailor known for his incredible navigation skills. After years of sailing, he was chosen to lead a crew to circle the globe—a trip that no other ship had ever completed.


Atlas of Great Journeys: The Story of Discovery in Amazing Maps Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781783126026
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Welbeck Children's - November 24th, 2020

Original map illustrations show the world's greatest journeys, and illustrated fact pages tell the stories of each expedition.The Atlas of Great Journeys allows readers to follow in the footsteps of the most daring adventurers as they set out to explore the unknown.


History Smashers: The Mayflower Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120316
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1620, the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock and made friends with Wampanoag people who gave them corn. RIGHT?


The Mayflower: The perilous voyage that changed the world Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781465491138
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: DK Children - August 18th, 2020

Discover the real history behind the Mayflower in this illustrated nonfiction storybook for kids ages 7 to 9, timed to coincide with the 400th anniversary of the Pilgrims' famous voyage to the Americas.


Race through the Skies: The Week the World Learned to Fly Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781547603442
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - July 28th, 2020

From National Book Award winner Martin W. Sandler, a fascinating look at the week that brought aviation fever to the world


1,000 Inventions and Discoveries Cover Image
By Roger Bridgman, Smithsonian Institution (Contributions by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781465494351
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: DK Children - July 28th, 2020

Dip into this illustrated account of key inventions and discoveries, listed year by year, with intriguing facts about each invention and the person (or people) who invented it.


Living in the Jamestown Colony: A This or That Debate Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781496687852
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Capstone Press - August 1st, 2020

In May 1607, English settlers stepped off their ship in North America. They were about to start the first permanent English settlement in North America. They endured many hardships and made many tough choices in the new land. Now the choices are yours. Would you rather suffer from intestinal problems after becoming infected with dysentery or have bleeding gums after getting scurvy?


Mayflower: The Ship that Started a Nation Cover Image
By Rebecca Siegel, Michael Lauritano (Illustrator), Mike Love (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780711248250
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: words & pictures - August 18th, 2020

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs