Social Studies Books - History - Exploration & Discovery

New Releases
 
More Juvenile Nonfiction - Exploration & Discovery Books
Into the Clouds: The Race to Climb the World’s Most Dangerous Mountain (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338207361
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Focus - April 21st, 2020

A nail-biting tale of survival and brotherhood atop one of the deadliest mountains on Earth.


Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593120866
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of the bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe.


American Moonshot Young Readers' Edition: John F. Kennedy and the Great Space Race Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062660299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperCollins - April 14th, 2020

In anticipation of the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing, New York Times bestselling author and historian Douglas Brinkley delivers a young readers’ edition of a story rooted in heroism, bravery, and patriotism: America’s race to the moon.


1,000 Inventions and Discoveries Cover Image
By Roger Bridgman, Smithsonian Institution (Contributions by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781465494351
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: DK Children - July 28th, 2020

Dip into this illustrated account of key inventions and discoveries, listed year by year, with intriguing facts about each invention and the person (or people) who invented it.


Race through the Skies: The Week the World Learned to Fly Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781547603442
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - July 28th, 2020

In 1903, the Wright brothers made three brief flights, and no one was there to watch them. Six years later, Wilbur Wright traveled to Europe to evangelicize about aviation and raise money for patents--and the world got aviation fever. That summer, a group of champagne companies organized the first ever international air meet. They knew they could throw a great party and sell a lot of champagne.


I am Curious: A Little Book About Albert Einstein (Ordinary People Change the World) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593110072
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dial Books - June 2nd, 2020

The littlest readers can learn about Albert Einstein in this board book version of the New York Times bestselling Ordinary People Change the World biography.


History Smashers: The Mayflower Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120316
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1620, the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock and made friends with Wampanoag people who gave them corn. RIGHT?


The Atlas of Women Explorers Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9788854416673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: White Star Kids - June 2nd, 2020

Follow the fascinating voyages of 18 courageous women who defied convention to follow their dreams and explore the world.


First Man on the Moon: 21 July 1969 (Dates with History ) Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781842349359
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Cherrytree Books - May 1st, 2020

The dramatic story of Apollo 11 and its crew that took "the giant leap for Mankind" are retold in this title. This highly accessible series explore key dates in history by looking at what happened on the day and background and consequences of the event.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs