Social Studies Books - History - Exploration & Discovery

New Releases
 
More Juvenile Nonfiction - Exploration & Discovery Books
Little Kid, Big City!: London Cover Image
By Beth Beckman, Holley Maher (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781683692485
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Quirk Books - June 15th, 2021

If you could have an adventure in London, where would you go? Curious kids will find plenty to see, learn, and explore in this fun and illustrated pick-your-own-path travel guide series!

Would you hop on the Tube to visit Buckingham Palace, find a tasty lunch on Brick Lane, or pass the time with Big Ben?


Wilbur Wright Meets Lady Liberty Cover Image
By Robert Burleigh, Wendell Minor (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781627793681
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 9th, 2021

In Robert Burleigh's nonfiction picture book Wilbur Wright Meets Lady Liberty, illustrated by Wendell Minor, two American icons meet during Wilbur Wright's dramatic flight circling the Statue of Liberty.


Journey Around the Sun: The Story of Halley's Comet Cover Image
By James Gladstone, Yaara Eshet (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781771473712
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Owlkids - March 15th, 2021

Halley's Comet tells its own history in this unique STEM book
Halley's Comet, visible from Earth only once every 75 years, tells its own story in this unique informational picture book. With each return of the comet, the book highlights human life at that time, and how science has advanced toward a greater understanding of our universe.


What Was the Age of Exploration? (What Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780593093825
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - March 9th, 2021

Land ho! Discover what the Age of Exploration was all about in this wonderful addition to the bestselling Who HQ series!


We are Explorers: Extraordinary Women Who Discovered the World Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780500652398
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Thames & Hudson - March 16th, 2021

Join fourteen incredible female explorers on their journeys around the world, and learn about the life-changing discoveries they made against all odds.


Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120897
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Yearling - April 20th, 2021

An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe. Fans of The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 will be thrilled by this astronaut's real life adventure.


The Mystery of the Titanic: A Historical Investigation for Kids Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781647398774
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Rockridge Press - March 9th, 2021

Uncover the secrets of the Titanic in this fascinating exploration for kids 8 to 12


Adventure Starts at Bedtime: 30 Real-Life Stories of Daring and Danger Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781786279323
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Laurence King Publishing - July 27th, 2021

Brush off the cobwebs and take an adventure tonight, with 30 real-life stories of danger and intrigue.

Travel back in time and across thousands of miles to escape quicksand, survive a desert storm, and reach the summit of Everest with this diverse collection of real-life stories from men and women from past and present.


Imagine You Were There... Walking on the Moon Cover Image
By Caryn Jenner, Marc Pattenden (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780753477489
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Kingfisher - July 6th, 2021

Imagine You Were There—Walking on the Moon helps readers imagine what it was like to actually be part of the historic Apollo 11 Moon landing.


Older Than Dirt: A Wild but True History of Earth Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358452126
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Etch/Clarion Books - July 13th, 2021

Two-time Sibert Honor winner Don Brown has crafted a graphic history of the world's geology with a humble groundhog tour guide, leading readers through the planet’s natural history and stages of the Earth’s evolution, as well as the incredible natural forces constantly at work. 

Almost 14.5 billion years ago, it all started with a Big Bang and what began as a


Rocks & Gems: Big, Tiny, Rough & Shiny Cover Image
By Jaye Garnett, Beatrice Tinarelli (Illustrator), Cottage Door Press (Editor)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781646381906
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Cottage Door Press - November 2nd, 2021

What is a rock? And what's the difference between a rock, a mineral, and a gem? Kids are sure to discover the answer in this addition to our Smithsonian First Discovery Books Every page of the board book is filled with interesting facts from the different layers of rocks which make up the earth, to the identification of precious and semi-precious gems.


Reinventing Invention: A Crayola (R) Guide to Innovation Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781728423821
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Lerner Publications (Tm) - March 2nd, 2021

Inventions change people's lives. But the stories told about how they were invented are often wrong. That story you heard of an overnight success took years of hard work and countless failed attempts to create. Discover the true stories behind inventions from the lifesaving gas mask to the thrilling Super Soaker.