Social Studies Books - Biography - Literary

More Social Study - Literary Biography & Autobiography Books
For Spacious Skies: Katharine Lee Bates and the Inspiration for
By Nancy Churnin, Olga Baumert (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780807525302
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - April 1st, 2020

Katharine Lee Bates first wrote the lines to "America the Beautiful" after a stirring visit to Pikes Peak in 1893. But the story behind the song begins with Katharine herself, who pushed beyond conventional expectations of women to become an acclaimed writer, scholar, suffragist, and reformer.


On Wings of Words: The Extraordinary Life of Emily Dickinson (Emily Dickinson for Kids, Biography of Female Poet for Kids) Cover Image
By Jennifer Berne, Becca Stadtlander (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781452142975
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - February 18th, 2020

An inspiring and kid-accessible biography of one of the world's most famous poets.


Astrid Lindgren (Little People, BIG DREAMS #35) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780711252172
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

In this book from the critically acclaimed, mulitmillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover how Astrid Lindgren grew up to become one of the world’s best-loved authors, and the creator of the irresistible Pippi Longstocking.

Little Astrid grew up on an old farm in Sweden.


Nonsense! The Curious Story of Edward Gorey Cover Image
By Lori Mortensen, Chloe Bristol (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358033684
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Versify - March 24th, 2020

A beautifully illustrated and lyrical picture-book biography of eccentric and beloved writer and artist Edward Gorey

In this lyrical biography of one of literature’s most creepily creative authors and illustrators, kids will learn about the inspiration behind a generation of creators, from Lemony Snicket to Tim Burton.

Known for, among other things, w


The Fabled Life of Aesop: The extraordinary journey and collected tales of the world’s greatest storyteller Cover Image
By Ian Lendler, Pamela Zagarenski (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781328585523
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Honoring the path of a slave, this dramatic picture-book biography and concise anthology of Aesop’s most child-friendly fables tells how a child born into slavery in ancient Greece found a way to speak out against injustice by using the skill and wit of his storytelling—storytelling that has survived for 2,500 years.


Cub Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781616208486
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

“Raina Telgemeier fans will lap this up.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

A laugh-out-loud funny and empowering graphic memoir about growing up and finding your voice.

Twelve-year-old Cindy has just dipped a toe into seventh-grade drama—with its complicated friendships, bullies, and cute boys&md


Saving the Countryside: The Story of Beatrix Potter and Peter Rabbit Cover Image
By Linda Marshall, Ilaria Urbinati (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499809602
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: little bee books - January 28th, 2020

"Fans of Beatrix Potter will delight in this tribute to her dedication and talent, encapsulating a legacy that reaches far beyond the pages of her beloved books."-Foreword Reviews in a STARRED REVIEW

"Empowering and fresh."-School Library Journal

"The life of the British picture-book author and illustrator makes a serendipitous


Exquisite: The Poetry and Life of Gwendolyn Brooks Cover Image
By Suzanne Slade, Cozbi A. Cabrera (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419734113
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 7th, 2020

Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia Cover Image
By Lina Maslo, Lina Maslo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062798565
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 19th, 2020

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B.


Alphamaniacs: Builders of 26 Wonders of the Word Cover Image
By Paul Fleischman, Melissa Sweet (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780763690663
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick Studio - April 14th, 2020

Are you a word person? A curiosity seeker? An explorer? Take a look at these twenty-six extraordinary individuals for whom love of language is an extreme sport.


A Portrait in Poems: The Storied Life of Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas Cover Image
By Evie Robillard, Rachel Katstaller (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781525300561
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kids Can Press - March 3rd, 2020

Here's an insider's tour of the fascinating lives of Gertrude Stein and her partner, Alice B. Toklas, amusingly addressed directly to the reader ("The next time you go to Paris ..."). It explores the couple's art collection, their famous writer and artist friends and even their dog, Basket. It also describes how Gertrude's book The Autobiography of Alice B.


Lucy Maud Montgomery: Creator of Anne of Green Gables: I Can Read Level 1 Cover Image
By Sarah Howden, Nick Craine (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781443460262
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Collins - January 21st, 2020

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs