Social Studies Books - Bestsellers - Page 2

History Smashers: The Titanic Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Matt Aytch Taylor (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120439
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 6th, 2021

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the sinking of the Titanic with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2016

Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner is a powerful memoir that tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

A President Obama "O" Book Club pick


History Smashers: The Mayflower Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120316
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1620, the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock and made friends with Wampanoag people who gave them corn. RIGHT?


History Smashers: Women's Right to Vote Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120347
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1920, Susan B. Anthony passed a law that gave voting rights to women in the United States. RIGHT?


Stamped (For Kids): Racism, Antiracism, and You Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316167581
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

This chapter book edition of the groundbreaking #1 bestseller by luminaries Ibram X. Kendi and Jason Reynolds is an essential introduction to the history of racism and antiracism in America

 
RACE. Uh-oh.


Who Is Dwayne
$4.99
ISBN: 9780593226377
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - April 20th, 2021

This new title in the Who HQ Now format for trending topics details superstar Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson's legendary career from the ring to the big screen.

This new title in the Who HQ Now format for trending topics details superstar Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson's legendary career from the ring to the big screen.


Who Was Ruth Bader Ginsburg? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781524793531
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - December 3rd, 2019

You've probably seen her on T-shirts, mugs, and even tattoos. Now that famous face graces the cover of this Who Was? book.


Who Was Stephen Hawking? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780451532480
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 4th, 2019

Learn more about the renowned British scientist, professor, and author who spent his entire career trying to answer the question: "Where did the universe come from?"


What Was the Holocaust? (What Was?) Cover Image
By Gail Herman, Who HQ, Jerry Hoare (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780451533906
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 19th, 2018

A thoughtful and age-appropriate introduction to an unimaginable event—the Holocaust.


Who Was Babe Ruth? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Joan Holub, Who HQ, Ted Hammond (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448455860
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - January 5th, 2012

Just in time for baseball season!


Who Is Jackie Chan? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781524791629
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - February 4th, 2020

How did Jackie Chan become one of the most recognizable and beloved actors in the world? Find out in this exciting biography of this martial artist turned international film superstar.


Who Is Greta Thunberg? (Who HQ Now) Cover Image
By Jill Leonard, Who HQ, Manuel Gutierrez (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780593225677
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 1st, 2020

The inspiring story of a young Swedish schoolgirl who sparked a worldwide revolution, told in a new Who HQ Now format for trending topics.