Social Studies Books - Bestsellers - Page 1

The Perfect Horse: The Daring Rescue of Horses Kidnapped During World War II Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525644774
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Yearling - February 18th, 2020

In this inspiring young readers adaptation of the New York Times bestseller, one American troop will save the world's most precious horses during the final stretch of World War II.


The Who Was? History of the World Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524788001
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 8th, 2019

Based on The New York Times Best-Selling series, this timeline of world history gives a fresh take on global events, from King Tut to Malala Yousafzai.


Who Was Seabiscuit? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448483092
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 20th, 2015

In the middle of the worst depression in U.S. history, one young racehorse lifted a nation's spirits. Seabiscuit was born in 1933 on a farm in Kentucky. Though bred for racing, he was weak and undersized. He slept too long and ate too much. Against the odds, he began to win local races. He was given a new coach who trained him to race in larger circuits.


Who Was Kobe Bryant? (Who HQ Now) Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780593225707
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 1st, 2020

Told in a new Who HQ Now format for trending topics, this Who Was? biography details NBA superstar Kobe Bryant's legendary career and the impact of his legacy on the sports world and beyond.


What Is Nintendo? (What Was?) Cover Image
By Gina Shaw, Who HQ, Andrew Thomson (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780593093795
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - January 12th, 2021

The game is on! Get your hands on this book about one of the most influential companies in the video game industry.


History Smashers: The American Revolution Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Justin Greenwood (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120460
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) Cover Image
By Jim O'Connor, Who HQ, Ted Hammond (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448487854
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - May 10th, 2016

Discover the true story of the Twin Towers—how they came to be the tallest buildings in the world and why they were destroyed.


Who Was Alexander Hamilton? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780399544279
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 22nd, 2017

Read the story of the Founding Father who inspired the smash Broadway musical.


What Is the Story of Dracula? (What Is the Story Of?) Cover Image
By Michael Burgan, Who HQ, David Malan (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781524788452
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 11th, 2020

Who HQ brings you the stories behind the most beloved--and frightening!--characters of our time.

Find out how Dracula--a smooth-talking count with a dark secret--became the infamous creature we all know and fear.


Who Was King Tut? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Roberta Edwards, Who HQ, True Kelley (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448443607
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - March 2nd, 2006

Ever since Howard Carter uncovered King Tutankhamun’s tomb in 1922, the young pharaoh has become a symbol of the wealth and mystery of ancient Egypt. Now, a two-and-a-half-year-long museum exhibit of Tut’s treasures is touring major cities in the U.S., drawing record crowds. This Who Was . . . ?


Who Is Derek Jeter? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Gail Herman, Who HQ, Andrew Thomson (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448486970
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 18th, 2015

When Derek Jeter was eight years old, he announced that he was going to play baseball for the New York Yankees. Jeter earned the attention of major league scouts in high school and was drafted to the New York Yankees in 1992. Named Rookie of the Year, he helped the Yankees win the World Series five times, and became team captain in 2003.


The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Young Readers Edition Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147510426
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Puffin Books - January 5th, 2016

Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village.