Social Studies Books - Bestsellers - Page 1

One Real American: The Life of Ely S. Parker, Seneca Sachem and Civil War General Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419746574
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - October 27th, 2020

Children’s book icon Joseph Bruchac tells the fascinating story of a Seneca (Iroquois) Civil War officer
 
Ely S. Parker (1828–1895) is one of the most unique but little-known figures in US history. A member of the Seneca (Iroquois) Nation, Parker was an attorney, engineer, and tribal diplomat.


Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2016

Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner is a powerful memoir that tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

A President Obama "O" Book Club pick


It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525582199
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Yearling - April 7th, 2020

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, shares his personal story and the injustices he faced while growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this New York Times bestselling young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir.
 


Who Is Kamala Harris? (Who HQ Now) Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780593384480
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - January 19th, 2021

The inspiring story of Vice President Kamala Harris told in the new Who HQ Now format for trending topics.


Lost Boy, Lost Girl: Escaping Civil War in Sudan Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781426307089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: National Geographic Kids - October 12th, 2010

One of thousands of children who fled strife in southern Sudan, John Bul Dau survived hunger, exhaustion, and violence. His wife, Martha, endured similar hardships. In this memorable book, the two convey the best of African values while relating searing accounts of famine and war. There’s warmth as well, in their humorous tales of adapting to American life.


Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories of Growing up Scieszka Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780670011384
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2008

How did Jon Scieszka get so funny, anyway? Growing up as one of six brothers was a good start, but that was just the beginning. Throw in Catholic school, lots of comic books, lazy summers at the lake with time to kill, babysitting misadventures, TV shows, jokes told at family dinner, and the result is Knucklehead.


Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice Cover Image
By Nikki Grimes, Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534462670
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2020

Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants who would grow up to be the first woman, first Black person, and first South Asian American ever elected Vice President of the United States in this moving picture book biography of Kamala Harris.

When Kamala Harris was young, she often accompanied her parents to civil rights marches—so many, in fact, that w


Who Was Alexander Hamilton? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780399544279
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 22nd, 2017

Read the story of the Founding Father who inspired the smash Broadway musical.


This Is Your Time Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780593378526
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - November 10th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Civil rights icon Ruby Bridges—who, at the age of six, was the first black child to integrate into an all-white elementary school in New Orleans—inspires readers and calls for action in this moving letter.


History Smashers: Pearl Harbor Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593120378
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the infamous Pearl Harbor attack with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374314156
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 12th, 2021

“A riveting, hopeful survival story.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

A mesmerizing memoir from a living literary legend, giving readers a new perspective on the origins of Gary Paulsen's famed survival stories.


Lincoln's Grave Robbers (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338290134
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 11th, 2018

A true-crime thriller -- the first book for teens to tell the nearly unknown tale of the brazen attempt to steal Abraham Lincoln's body. Reissued in Scholastic Focus, with an exciting new cover.

The action begins in October of 1875, as Secret Service agents raid the Fulton, Illinois, workshop of master counterfeiter Ben Boyd.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs