Social Studies Books - 2020 Bestsellers - Page 6

Who Was Martin Luther King, Jr.? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Bonnie Bader, Who HQ, Elizabeth Wolf (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448447230
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - December 27th, 2007

The story of one of the most influential civil rights activist of our time. 


This Is Your Time Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780593378526
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Delacorte Press - November 10th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Civil rights icon Ruby Bridges—who, at the age of six, was the first black child to integrate into an all-white elementary school in New Orleans—inspires readers and calls for action in this moving letter.


Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By James Buckley, Jr., Who HQ, Tim Foley (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448479514
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - May 1st, 2014

As young boys, Orville and Wilbur Wright loved all things mechanical.  As young men, they gained invaluable skills essential for their success by working with printing presses, bicycles, motors, and any sort of machinery they could get their hands on.  As adults, the brothers worked together to invent, build, and fly the world’s first successful airplane.


She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Chelsea Clinton, Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524741723
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Philomel Books - May 30th, 2017

Chelsea Clinton introduces tiny feminists, mini activists and little kids who are ready to take on the world to thirteen inspirational women who never took no for an answer, and who always, inevitably and without fail, persisted.
 


What Is the Story of Doctor Who? (What Is the Story Of?) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781524791063
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 15th, 2019

Who HQ brings you the stories behind the most beloved characters of our time.

This What Is the Story of? title is out of this universe! Learn the history of the Time Lord, the TARDIS, and the epic battles they've faced across time and space.


Who Was Princess Diana? (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Ellen Labrecque, Who HQ, Jerry Hoare (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448488554
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - April 4th, 2017

Learn how Lady Diana Spencer became the People's Princess as she takes her place in the ranks of the Who Was? series.


Follow one day in the real lives of seven kids from around the world—Italy, Japan, Iran, India, Peru, Uganda, and Russia!

In Japan, Kei plays Freeze Tag, while in Uganda, Daphine likes to jump rope. While the way they play may differ, the shared rhythm of their days—and this one world we all share—unites them.


Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593120866
Availability: Special Order
Published: Delacorte Press - April 7th, 2020

An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe. Fans of The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 will be thrilled by this astronaut's real life adventure.


It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525582199
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Yearling - April 7th, 2020

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, shares his personal story and the injustices he faced while growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this New York Times bestselling young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir.
 


What Was the Battle of Gettysburg? (What Was?) Cover Image
By Jim O'Connor, Who HQ, John Mantha (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448462868
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - February 7th, 2013

"Four score and seven years ago..." begins Abraham Lincoln's beautiful speech commemorating the three-day battle that turned the tide of the Civil War. The South had been winning up to this point. So how did Union troops stop General Robert E. Lee's invasion of the North?


Who Was Susan B. Anthony? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448479637
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 30th, 2014

Susan B. Anthony may be an international icon but her campaign for women’s rights had personal roots. Working as a school teacher in New York, Anthony refused to settle for less pay than her male colleagues which ignited her lifelong devotion to women’s equality.


Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062742469
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 16th, 2018

Based on the New York Times bestselling book and the Academy Award–nominated movie, author Margot Lee Shetterly and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award winner Laura Freeman bring the incredibly inspiring true story of four black women who helped NASA launch men into space to picture book readers!