Social Studies Books - Biography

It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525582168
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2019

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, tells the story of growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this young readers' adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood.

BORN A CRIME IS SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING OSCAR WINNER LUPITA NYONG'O!


The Heart of a Boy: Celebrating the Strength and Spirit of Boyhood Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781523505517
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Workman Publishing Company - April 2nd, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER.

It’s time to celebrate boys. 

 
Against the backdrop of a growing national conversation about how to raise sons to become good people, Kate T. Parker is leading the way by turning her lens on boys.


The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Sarah Jacoby (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393449
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 21st, 2019

An exceptional picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight MoonThe Runaway Bunny, and other beloved children’s classics, that's as groundbreaking as the icon herself was—from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Jacoby.


An Invisible Thread: A Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534437272
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 7th, 2019

From New York Times bestselling authors Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski comes the young readers edition of an unbelievable memoir about an unlikely friendship that forever changed the lives of a busy sales executive and a homeless eleven-year-old boy.

On one rainy afternoon, on a crowded New York City street corner, eleven-year-old Maurice met Laura.


Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team   Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062907721
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 7th, 2019

Don’t miss the breathtaking true story of the international rescue of the Wild Boars soccer team from a flooded cave in Thailand! 


Lighter than Air: Sophie Blanchard, the First Woman Pilot: Candlewick Biographies Cover Image
By Matthew Clark Smith, Matt Tavares (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781536205558
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - March 19th, 2019

“Smith tells Sophie’s inspiring story with a buoyant sense of wonder, fitting for a woman who was happiest in the air. Her accomplishments and passion for flight are brought beautifully to life by Tavares.” — Booklist (starred review)


Funny, You Don't Look Autistic: A Comedian's Guide to Life on the Spectrum Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9781773212579
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Annick Press - March 12th, 2019

Like many others on the autism spectrum, 20-something stand-up comic Michael McCreary has been told by more than a few well-meaning folks that he doesn't "look" autistic. But, as he's quick to point out in this memoir, autism "looks" different for just about everyone with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).


Superheroes Are Everywhere Cover Image
By Kamala Harris, Mechal Renee Roe (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984837493
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Philomel Books - January 8th, 2019

From Senator Kamala Harris comes a picture book with an empowering message: Superheroes are all around us--and if we try, we can all be heroes too. Now a #1 New York Times bestseller!


Fly Girls Young Readers’ Edition: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328618429
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

From NPR correspondent Keith O’ Brien comes this thrilling Young Readers' edition of the untold story about pioneering women, including Amelia Earhart, who fought to compete against men in the high-stakes national air races of the 1920s and 1930s—and won.

In the years between World War I and World War II, airplane racing was one of the most popular spor


Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681196763
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 12th, 2019

Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.


A Green Place to Be: The Creation of Central Park Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763696955
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2019

How did Central Park become a vibrant gem in the heart of New York City? Follow the visionaries behind the plan as it springs to green life.


A Computer Called Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Helped Put America on the Moon Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316435178
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 12th, 2019

The inspiring true story of mathematician Katherine Johnson--made famous by the award-winning film Hidden Figures--who counted and computed her way to NASA and helped put a man on the moon!


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs