Social Studies Books - Biography

She Did It!: 21 Women Who Changed the Way We Think Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781368019910
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Disney-Hyperion - November 6th, 2018

Prepare to discover new heroes among these twenty-one women who challenged the status quo, championed others, and made their voices heard. From Jane Addams to Alice Waters, from groundbreaking artists and social justice advocates to scientific pioneers and business innovators, a strong thread of trailblazing women runs through American history.


Reach Higher: An Inspiring Photo Celebration of First Lady Michelle Obama Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525644002
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 23rd, 2018

This gift book collection of photographs of Michelle Obama from an official White House photographer is perfect for young readers who want to get in on all of the excitement happening around her memoir Becoming!


Little Dreamers: Visionary Women Around the World (Vashti Harrison) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316475174
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

The instant New York Times bestseller!

From the author of Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History comes the highly anticipated follow-up, a beautifully illustrated collectible detailing the lives of women creators around the world.


Bold & Brave: Ten Heroes Who Won Women the Right to Vote Cover Image
By Kirsten Gillibrand, Maira Kalman (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525579014
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - November 13th, 2018

From United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand comes an inspiring picture book about ten suffragists who fought for women's right to vote.


Endurance, Young Readers Edition: My Year in Space and How I Got There Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524764241
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Discover what it's like to spend a year in space in this awe-inspiring memoir from a real-life NASA astronaut who did just that!

Prepare to blast off with astronaut Scott Kelly as he takes readers on a journey through his year aboard the International Space Station and his life prior to becoming a true American hero.


Malala: My Story of Standing Up for Girls' Rights Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780316527156
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 9th, 2018

A chapter book edition of Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai's bestselling story of courageously standing up for girls' education.

Malala's memoir of a remarkable teenage girl who risked her life for the right to go to school is now abridged and adapted for chapter book readers.


Staff Pick Logo
Limitless: 24 Remarkable American Women of Vision, Grit, and Guts Cover Image
By Leah Tinari, Leah Tinari (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534418554
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Aladdin - November 6th, 2018

In the spirit of She Persisted, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, and Rad American A-Z, acclaimed artist Leah Tinari offers a spectacular collection of portraits, celebrating iconic, inspirational, and groundbreaking American women.

Fine artist Leah Tinari’s stunning, spellbinding portraits honor the groundbreaking achievements and indelible impact of twen


Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316353731
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.


Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women Cover Image
By Catherine Thimmesh, Melissa Sweet (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328772534
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 9th, 2018

This updated edition of the bestselling Girls Think of Everything, by Sibert-winner Catherine Thimmesh and Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet, retains all the integrity of the original but includes expanded coverage of inventions (and inventors) to better reflect our diverse and technological world.

In kitchens and living rooms, in garages and labs and basemen


Kid Scientists: True Tales of Childhood from Science Superstars (Kid Legends #5) Cover Image
By David Stabler, Anoosha Syed (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781683690740
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quirk Books - October 9th, 2018

Funny and totally true childhood biographies and full-color illustrations tell tales from the challenging yet defining growing-up years of Albert Einstein, Jane Goodall, Marie Curie, and 12 other brilliant scientists.


The Boy Who Fell Off the Mayflower, or John Howland's Good Fortune Cover Image
By P. J. Lynch, P. J. Lynch (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781536202960
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - October 2nd, 2018

“This feast of a book . . . will captivate readers from its opening double-page spread. . . . Sweeping and grand, this personal take on a familiar story is an engaging success.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


Staff Pick Logo
The Diamond and the Boy: The Creation of Diamonds & The Life of H. Tracy Hall Cover Image
By Hannah Holt, Jay Fleck (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062659033
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 2nd, 2018

Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs