Social Studies Books - Biography

From an Idea to Google: How Innovation at Google Changed the World Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781328954923
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - July 9th, 2019

From an Idea to Google is a behind-the-computer-screen look into the history, business, and brand of the world's largest search engine.


Reaching for the Moon: The Autobiography of NASA Mathematician Katherine Johnson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534440838
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 2nd, 2019

The inspiring autobiography of NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, who helped launch Apollo 11.

As a young girl, Katherine Johnson showed an exceptional aptitude for math. In school she quickly skipped ahead several grades and was soon studying complex equations with the support of a professor who saw great promise in her.


DK Life Stories: Nelson Mandela Cover Image
By Stephen Krensky, Charlotte Ager (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781465484000
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: DK Children - July 2nd, 2019

In this kids biography, discover the inspiring story of Nelson Mandela, who became the first black president of South Africa after spending 27 years in prison.


From an Idea to Lego: The Building Bricks Behind the World's Largest Toy Company Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781328954947
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - July 9th, 2019

For fans of the successful Who Was series, From an Idea to Lego is a behind-the-bricks look into the world's famous toy company, with humorous black & white illustrations throughout.

Today, LEGO is one of the biggest toy companies in the world, but a long time ago, a Danish carpenter, Ole Kirk Christiansen, started with just an idea.


Samuel Morse, That's Who!: The Story of the Telegraph and Morse Code Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781627791304
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 25th, 2019

A lively picture book biography of Samuel Morse that highlights how he revolutionized modern technology.


Writers and Their Pets: True Stories of Famous Authors and Their Animal Friends Cover Image
By Kathleen Krull, Violet Lemay (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781947458529
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: duopress - June 11th, 2019

Discover how animals influenced 20 of the world’s most beloved authors, from Charles Dickens to J.K. Rowling. Did you know that a dog saved Pablo Neruda’s life? Or that Mark Twain had a cat named Bambino? Or that Edgar Allen Poe wrote with a cat on his shoulders?


Staff Pick Badge
The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Sarah Jacoby (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393449
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 21st, 2019

An exceptional picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight MoonThe Runaway Bunny, and other beloved children’s classics, that's as groundbreaking as the icon herself was—from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Jacoby.


The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean Cover Image
By Dean Robbins, Sean Rubin (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338259537
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Orchard Books - May 28th, 2019

Journey to the moon on the Apollo 12 mission with Alan Bean, the fourth astronaut to walk on the lunar surface and the only artist to paint its beauty firsthand!


Born Just Right (Jeter Publishing) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534428386
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Aladdin - June 4th, 2019

From tween advocate for limb difference and founder of Project Unicorn Jordan Reeves and her mom, Jen, comes an inspiring memoir about how every kid is perfect just the way they are.


Nelson Mandela Cover Image
By Kadir Nelson, Kadir Nelson (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780061783777
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 14th, 2019

This stunning picture book biography of Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson is a receipient of the Coretta Scott King Honor award.

In this lush, acclaimed book, award-winning author-illustrator Kadir Nelson tells the story of global icon and Nobel Peace Prize winner Nelson Mandela in poignant free verse and glorious illustrations.


Girls with Guts!: The Road to Breaking Barriers and Bashing Records Cover Image
By Debbie Gonzales, Rebecca Gibbon (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580897471
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Charlesbridge - May 14th, 2019

No chasing! No stretching or straining! And never, ever sweat. These were the rules girls were forced to play by until Title IX passed in 1972. And it was a game-changer.


Groundbreaking Guys: 40 Men Who Became Great by Doing Good Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316529419
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 11th, 2019

An illustrated book of biographies highlighting the inspiring and innovative qualities of forty very different men throughout history, for fans of Heroes for My Son and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs