Social Studies Books - Biography

Dolly!: The Story of Dolly Parton and Her Big Dream Cover Image
By Robyn McGrath, Ellen Surrey (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316324526
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - June 7th, 2022

A rhythmically told and vibrantly illustrated picture book biography of Dolly Parton: an American icon beloved by all.

You’ve likely heard of the performer Dolly Parton. But do you know where this dazzling songwriter and musician draws her roots? As one of twelve children growing up in rural Tennessee, Dolly was determined to be seen and heard.


Celia Planted a Garden: The Story of Celia Thaxter and Her Island Garden Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536204292
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Candlewick - May 17th, 2022

From an all-star team comes a lyrical picture-book biography about a writer and master gardener who created beauty in a harsh island habitat that was visited by literary and artistic luminaries of her time.


The Sun Does Shine is an extraordinary testament to the power of hope sustained through the darkest times, now adapted for younger readers.


¡José! Nacido para bailar (Jose! Born to Dance): La historia de José Limón Cover Image
By Susanna Reich, Raúl Colón (Illustrator), Alexis Romay (Translated by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665906142
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - May 24th, 2022

¡José! Nacido para bailar cuenta la historia de un niño que nació en un pequeño pueblo mexicano y que se convirtió en uno de los más grandes bailarines de todos los tiempos: José Limón.

José era un niño con una canción en su corazón y la danza en los pasos.


Advancing Technology: Women Who Led the Way  (Super SHEroes of Science) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338800395
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Children's Press - May 17th, 2022

This brand-new series highlights some of the major contributions women have made in the world of science.

Did you know that the technology behind cell phones was based on an idea developed during World War II by the Hollywood star Heddy Lamar to prevent the enemy intercepting radio messages?


Awesome Accidents: 19 Discoveries That Changed the World Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781914519208
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orange Mosquito - June 7th, 2022

The microwave oven, Super Glue, X-rays, fireworks, and potato chips--all of these clever creations were the result of an awesome accident.

Discover the fantastic stories of the creative geniuses who transformed their mistakes, miscalculations, and mix-ups into these and many other outstanding inventions that improved our world--and saved lives.

Introduction


Rainbow Revolutionaries: Fifty LGBTQ+ People Who Made History Cover Image
By Sarah Prager, Sarah Papworth (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063091061
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - May 3rd, 2022

One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this groundbreaking, pop-culture-infused illustrated biography collection takes readers on an eye-opening journey through the lives of fifty influential queer figures who have made a mark on every century of hu


We Have a Dream: Meet 30 Young Indigenous People and People of Color Protecting the Planet Cover Image
By Mya-Rose Craig, Sabrena Khadija (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419756665
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Magic Cat - April 12th, 2022

Thirty young environmental activists share their dreams with voice of a generation Mya-Rose Craig

Indigenous people and people of color are disproportionately affected by climate change. And yet they are underrepresented within the environmental movement.


Strong Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316292900
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2022

A fresh, charming picture book that shows there are lots of ways to be STRONG.

Rob dreams of becoming a champion strongman. He wants to flip huge tires, lug boulders, and haul trucks -- and someday be the strongest man in the world! But he feels like he can’t fit in with his bright leggings, unicorn T-shirts, and rainbow-dyed hair.


Yes We Will: Asian Americans Who Shaped This Country Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593463055
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Dial Books - May 3rd, 2022

From #1 NYT bestselling author Kelly Yang comes a gorgeously illustrated picture book about Asian American changemakers doing everything they dreamed of and inspiring all of us to reach for new heights!


The Astronomer Who Questioned Everything: The Story of Maria Mitchell Cover Image
By Laura Alary, Ellen Rooney (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781525303487
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Kids Can Press - May 3rd, 2022

Perfect for fans of STEM, this inspiring picture book biography tells the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell.


Florence Nightingale (Little People, BIG DREAMS #74) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780711270794
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - April 12th, 2022

In this book from the highly acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the incredible life of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing.

Growing up in an upper-class family, it was expected that Florence would find a husband and live a life of luxury—but that kind of life wasn’t for her.