Social Studies Books - Biography

An Invisible Thread: A Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534437289
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2020

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski comes the young readers edition of an unbelievable memoir about an unlikely friendship that forever changed the lives of a busy sales executive and a hungry eleven-year-old boy.

On one rainy afternoon, on a crowded New York City street corner, eleven-year-old Maurice met Laura.


Living the Confidence Code: Real Girls. Real Stories. Real Confidence. Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062954114
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 23rd, 2021

New from the New York TimesUSA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling authors of The Confidence Code for Girls!


The Eagle Huntress: The True Story of the Girl Who Soared Beyond Expectations Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316522618
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2020

The subject of the award-winning documentary The Eagle Huntress tells the true story of how she became the first girl to compete in -- and win -- one of Mongolia's most prestigious competitions.


Not Playing by the Rules: 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524764531
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls!

Before girls wore pants or women were permitted to swim in bathing suits at public beaches, who paved the way for women in sports? And who's breaking new ground today?


Elizabeth Warren's Big, Bold Plans Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534475809
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2020

Discover the inspiring story of Senator Elizabeth Warren and her lifelong commitment to working hard and advocating for equality in this compelling and accessible picture book biography.

Elizabeth Warren always has a plan. As a child, she wanted to help others by becoming a teacher. When discrimination forced her to surrender that dream, she found another path: She became a lawyer.


Hello, Neighbor!: The Kind and Caring World of Mister Rogers Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823446186
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Neal Porter Books - April 6th, 2020

Kindness, caring, and reliance on our neighbors are more important now than ever before. We all need more Mister Rogers in our lives.

In difficult times, Mister Rogers' Neighborhood provided a refuge for children and their families alike; a way to understand and talk about what was happening, and find hope for a brighter tomorrow.


On the Horizon Signed Edition Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358354765
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Not Avail - April 7th, 2020

From two-time Newbery medalist and living legend Lois Lowry comes a moving account of the lives lost in two of WWII’s most infamous events: Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima.


It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525582199
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Yearling - April 7th, 2020

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, shares his personal story and the injustices he faced while growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this New York Times bestselling young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir.
 


Pets and Their Famous Humans Cover Image
By Ana Gallo, Katherine Quinn (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9783791374253
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Prestel Junior - March 19th, 2020

In this charmingly illustrated collection of pet-related stories children will find out about some of history's most important scientists, artists, writers, and musicians and their beloved animals.


The Life of the Buddha Cover Image
By Heather Sanche, Tara di Gesu (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781611806298
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bala Kids - March 24th, 2020

“In the full bloom of spring, in a beautiful garden, in a place called Lumbini, a prince was born.”
 


Path to the Stars: My Journey from Girl Scout to Rocket Scientist Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358206934
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Clarion Books - March 31st, 2020

The inspiring memoir for young readers about a Latina rocket scientist whose early life was transformed by joining the Girl Scouts and who currently serves as CEO of the Girl Scouts of the USA.

A meningitis outbreak in their underprivileged neighborhood left Sylvia Acevedo’s family forever altered.


Stories of the Saints: Bold and Inspiring Tales of Adventure, Grace, and Courage Cover Image
By Carey Wallace, Nick Thornborrow (Illustrator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9780761193272
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Workman Publishing Company - March 31st, 2020

Performing Miracles. Facing Wild Lions. Confronting Demons. Transforming the World.

From Augustine to Mother Teresa, officially canonized as St. Teresa of Calcutta, discover seventy of the best-known and best-loved saints and read their riveting stories.
Meet Joan of Arc, whose transcendent faith compelled her to lead an army when the king’s courage failed.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10pm-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs