Social Studies Books - Biography

Braver than I Thought: Real People. Real Courage. Real Hope. By Luke Reynolds Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781582708461
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Aladdin/Beyond Words - September 13th, 2022

Meet people who have had a profound impact on our world while bearing the physical and emotional scars born out of struggles and suffering, transforming their stories from pain to power in this inspirational middle grade nonfiction book about overcoming challenges.

Magazine spreads and Hollywood hits showcase stars with perfect skin, perfect faces, perfect hair, perfect lives, perfec


Maya’s Song By Renée Watson, Bryan Collier (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062871589
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - September 20th, 2022

From bestselling, award-winning creators Renée Watson and Bryan Collier comes a stunningly crafted picture book chronicling the life of poet and activist Maya Angelou.


Bessie the Motorcycle Queen By Charles R. Smith Jr., Charlot Kristensen (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338752472
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - September 20th, 2022

Hop on the bike with Bessie Stringfield, the motorcycle queen of Miami, in this powerful picture book from Coretta Scott King medalist Charles R. Smith, Jr.


Dazzlin' Dolly: The Songwriting, Hit-Singing, Guitar-Picking Dolly Parton By Suzanne Slade, Edwin Fotheringham (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Suzanne Slade, Edwin Fotheringham (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781635928419
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Calkins Creek - September 20th, 2022

This inspirational and dazzlin’ story of Dolly Parton—noted singer, songwriter, and humanitarian—follows her rise to fame, from her beginnings in East Tennessee to performing to thousands at the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville.


I Am Ruby Bridges By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338753882
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - September 6th, 2022

Ruby Bridges tells her story as never before and shares the events of the momentous day in 1960 when Ruby became the first Black child to integrate the all-white William Franz Elementary as a six year old little girl -- a personal and intimate look through a child's lens at a landmark moment in our Civil Rights history.

My work will be precious.

I will bridge the "gap"


A Life of Service: The Story of Senator Tammy Duckworth By Christina Soontornvat, Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536222050
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick - September 27th, 2022

Thai American creators portray the inspirational and barrier-breaking life of Senator Tammy Duckworth in a picture-book tribute to an extraordinary woman.


Stand Up!: 10 Mighty Women Who Made a Change By Brittney Cooper, Cathy Ann Johnson (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338763850
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - August 2nd, 2022

From the New York Times bestselling author of Eloquent Rage comes a powerful, groundbreaking picture book debut introducing young readers to ten revolutionary Black women -- both historical and contemporary -- who changed the world for the better, inspiring readers today to know their strength, to be brave, and to STAND UP!

“A breakthrough...


Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders By Sarah Prager, Cheryl Thuesday (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sarah Prager, Cheryl Thuesday (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762475001
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Running Press Kids - August 2nd, 2022

For fans of Little Leaders and Pride comes a nonfiction picture book celebrating 14 incredible LGBTQ+ change makers and forward thinkers throughout history.

Kind Like Marsha celebrates 14 amazing and inspirational LGBTQ+ people throughout history.


Our Little Mushroom: A Story of Franz Schubert and His Friends By Emily Arnold McCully, Emily Arnold McCully (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534488786
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 16th, 2022

Caldecott Medal winner Emily Arnold McCully delivers a charming picture book following the life of prolific composer and musician Franz Schubert through the eyes of the friends who helped him find success.

Franz Schubert was only eleven when he auditioned for the Emperor’s Choir School in Vienna, a place where everyone loved music.


Agent Most Wanted: The Never-Before-Told Story of the Most Dangerous Spy of World War II By Sonia Purnell Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593350546
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 9th, 2022

A young readers adaptation of Sonia Purnell's New York Times bestselling book A Woman of No Importance, the story of Virginia Hall; the unassuming American spy who helped the allies win World War II.


Staff Pick Badge
On the Horizon By Lois Lowry, Kenard Pak (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lois Lowry, Kenard Pak (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780358668077
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Clarion Books - August 16th, 2022

From two-time Newbery medalist and living legend Lois Lowry comes a moving account of the lives lost in two of WWII’s most infamous events: Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima. With evocative black-and-white illustrations by SCBWI Golden Kite Award winner Kenard Pak.


Staff Pick Badge
Secret Schools: True Stories of the Determination to Learn By Heather Camlot, Erin Taniguchi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Heather Camlot, Erin Taniguchi (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781771474603
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Owlkids - September 13th, 2022

Education goes undercover in this compelling look at some of the world's most secretive schools through history

Can you keep a secret? What if it meant hiding from your loved ones, sneaking out late at night, or risking imprisonment? And what if that secret was that you were going to school?