Social Studies Books - Biography

Honey, the Dog Who Saved Abe Lincoln Cover Image
By Shari Swanson, Chuck Groenink (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062699008
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

Based on a little-known tale from Abraham Lincoln’s childhood, this charming picture book written by debut author Shari Swanson and illustrated by acclaimed artist Chuck Groenink tells a classic story of a boy, his dog, and a daring rescue.


Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062888785
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperCollins - January 28th, 2020

An inspiring picture book for little ballerinas everywhere!

Ready to Fly is the true story of Sylvia Townsend, an African American girl who falls in love with ballet after seeing Swan Lake on TV.


Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter Cover Image
By Bethany Hegedus, Kyung Eun Han (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062643780
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

The first picture book about the inspiring life of humanitarian Jimmy Carter, the thirty-ninth president of the United States and a Nobel Prize winner—from Alabama Spitfire author Bethany Hegedus.


This Little Dreamer: An Inspirational Primer Cover Image
By Joan Holub, Daniel Roode (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534442917
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little Simon - January 14th, 2020

Learn all about dreamers who changed history in this engaging and hopeful board book perfect for dreamers-in-training!

In this sixth book in the This Little series, now even the youngest readers can learn all about important people in history who dared to dream big for a better future!


Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl Cover Image
By Megan Reid, Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062851093
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 21st, 2020

A spirited picture book biography about Althea Gibson, the first black Wimbledon, French, and U.S. Open tennis champion, from debut author Megan Reid and Coretta Scott King Honor–winning illustrator Laura Freeman.


Fred's Big Feelings: The Life and Legacy of Mister Rogers Cover Image
By Laura Renauld, Brigette Barrager (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534441224
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - January 14th, 2020

An inspiring picture book biography about the inimitable Fred Rogers, beloved creator and star of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood.

Fred Rogers was a quiet boy with big feelings. Sometimes, he felt scared or lonely; at other times, he was playful and joyous.


Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Cheryl Hudson, Erin K. Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645818
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.


March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781328603920
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - December 24th, 2019

From the legendary civil rights activist and author of the million-copy-selling Warriors Don’t Cry comes an ardent and profound childhood memoir of growing up while facing adversity in the Jim Crow South.

Long before she was one of the Little Rock Nine, Melba Pattillo Beals was a warrior.


We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices Cover Image
By Wade Hudson (Editor), Cheryl Willis Hudson (Editor)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525580454
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Yearling - December 31st, 2019

Fifty of the foremost diverse children's authors and illustrators--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this beautiful, full-color keepsake collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.


DK Readers Level 3: Sports Legends Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9781465490612
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: DK Children - December 31st, 2019

Have you ever wondered what it's like to stand on an Olympic podium having just won a gold medal? Or what it takes to become a record-breaking soccer player? Find out all about sports stars and their inspiring achievements in this nonfiction book for kids.


The Fierce 44: Black Americans Who Shook Up the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328940629
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - December 24th, 2019

A dynamic and hip collective biography that presents forty-four of America’s greatest movers and shakers, from Frederick Douglass to Aretha Franklin to Barack Obama, written by ESPN’s TheUndefeated.com and illustrated with dazzling portraits by Rob Ball.

Meet forty-four of America’s most impressive heroes in this collective biography of African Americ


The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read Cover Image
By Rita Lorraine Hubbard, Oge Mora (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524768287
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Schwartz & Wade - January 7th, 2020

Imagine learning to read at the age of 116! Discover the true story of Mary Walker, the nation's oldest student who did just that, in this picture book from a Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator and a rising star author.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs