Social Studies Books - Biography

Reach Higher: An Inspiring Photo Celebration of First Lady Michelle Obama Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525644002
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 23rd, 2018

A collection of striking and intimate photographs of Michelle Obama, coupled with personal reflections and behind-the-scenes stories from official White House photographer and New York Times bestselling author of Chasing Light, Amanda Lucidon, presented in a deluxe format for young readers.


Turning Pages: My Life Story Cover Image
By Sonia Sotomayor, Lulu Delacre (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525514084
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Philomel Books - September 4th, 2018

Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor tells her own story for young readers for the very first time!


Endurance, Young Readers Edition: My Year in Space and How I Got There Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524764241
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Newly adapted for young readers from the New York Times bestseller comes the awe-inspiring memoir from NASA astronaut Scott Kelly, who spent a record-breaking year in space.

How does a boy struggling in school become an American hero and a space pioneer?


Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316353731
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.


Elizabeth Warren: Nevertheless, She Persisted Cover Image
By Susan Wood, Sarah Green (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419731624
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harry N. Abrams - August 7th, 2018

Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice Cover Image
By Veronica Chambers, Paul Ryding (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062796257
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperCollins - September 25th, 2018

A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into the leaders of tomorrow, Veronica Chambers’s inspiring collection of profiles—along with Senator Cory Booker’s stirring foreword—will inspire readers of all ages to stand up for what’s right.

You may only be one person, but you have the power to change the world.


Grandad Mandela Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781786031365
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Lincoln Children's Books - June 28th, 2018

"...profoundly moving..." -Publishers Weekly

Nelson Mandela’s two great-grandchildren ask their grandmother, Mandela’s youngest daughter, 15 questions about their grandad – the global icon of peace and forgiveness who spent 27 years in prison.


God Bless America: The Story of an Immigrant Named Irving Berlin Cover Image
By Adah Nuchi, Rob Polivka (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368015769
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 5th, 2018

An inspiring portrait of an immigrant and the gift he gave his new home.


My Family Divided: One Girl's Journey of Home, Loss, and Hope Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250134868
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 17th, 2018

Before landing a spot on the megahit Netflix show Orange is the New Black; before wow-ing audiences as Lina on Jane the Virgin; and before her incredible activism and work on immigration reform, Diane Guerrero was a young girl living in Boston. One day, while Guerrero was at school, her undocumented immigrant parents were taken from their home, detained, and deported.


Counting on Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Saved Apollo 13 Cover Image
By Helaine Becker, Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250137524
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 19th, 2018

The bold story of Katherine Johnson, an African-American mathematician who worked for NASA during the space race and was depicted in the film Hidden Figures.

You've likely heard of the historic Apollo 13 moon landing. But do you know about the mathematical genius who made sure that Apollo 13 returned safely home?


Nothing Stopped Sophie: The Story of Unshakable Mathematician Sophie Germain Cover Image
By Cheryl Bardoe, Barbara McClintock (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316278201
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 12th, 2018

The true story of eighteenth-century mathematician Sophie Germain, who solved the unsolvable to achieve her dream.


Pocket Bios: Coco Chanel Cover Image
By Al Berenger, Al Berenger (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250166258
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - July 17th, 2018

A colorfully illustrated, pocket-size picture book biography of renowned fashion designer Coco Chanel.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs