Social Studies Books

Braver than I Thought: Real People. Real Courage. Real Hope. By Luke Reynolds Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781582708461
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Aladdin/Beyond Words - September 13th, 2022

Meet people who have had a profound impact on our world while bearing the physical and emotional scars born out of struggles and suffering, transforming their stories from pain to power in this inspirational middle grade nonfiction book about overcoming challenges.

Magazine spreads and Hollywood hits showcase stars with perfect skin, perfect faces, perfect hair, perfect lives, perfec


Maya’s Song By Renée Watson, Bryan Collier (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062871589
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - September 20th, 2022

From bestselling, award-winning creators Renée Watson and Bryan Collier comes a stunningly crafted picture book chronicling the life of poet and activist Maya Angelou.


The Antiracist Kid: A Book About Identity, Justice, and Activism By Tiffany Jewell, Nicole Miles (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tiffany Jewell, Nicole Miles (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358629399
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Versify - October 4th, 2022

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of This Book Is Anti-Racist, Tiffany Jewell, with art by Eisner-nominated illustrator Nicole Miles, The Antiracist Kid is the essential illustrated guide to antiracism for empowering the young readers in your life!


Bessie the Motorcycle Queen By Charles R. Smith Jr., Charlot Kristensen (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338752472
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - September 20th, 2022

Hop on the bike with Bessie Stringfield, the motorcycle queen of Miami, in this powerful picture book from Coretta Scott King medalist Charles R. Smith, Jr.


100 Disasters That Shaped World History (100 Series) By Joanne Mattern Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728260778
Availability: Backordered
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - October 4th, 2022

Action-packed true stories of the biggest disasters in history - perfect for fans of the I Survived series


Brothers in Arms: A True World War II Story of Wojtek the Bear and the Soldiers Who Loved Him By Susan Hood, Jamie Green (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Susan Hood, Jamie Green (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063064768
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - October 4th, 2022

Brothers in Arms is the remarkable true story of an orphaned bear cub who grew into a World War ll hero alongside his brothers in arms from award-winning author Susan Hood and star illustrator Jamie Green. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie. 


Stand Up!: 10 Mighty Women Who Made a Change By Brittney Cooper, Cathy Ann Johnson (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338763850
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - August 2nd, 2022

From the New York Times bestselling author of Eloquent Rage comes a powerful, groundbreaking picture book debut introducing young readers to ten revolutionary Black women -- both historical and contemporary -- who changed the world for the better, inspiring readers today to know their strength, to be brave, and to STAND UP!

“A breakthrough...


Blue Skies and Golden Fields: Celebrating Ukraine By Oksana Lushchevska Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781669033042
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Capstone Press - September 1st, 2022

All proceeds from the sale of this book are being donated to Ukrainian relief organizations. Explore Ukraine and its people by learning about the traditions and experiences that make Ukraine rich in culture and history. Welcome to the land of sunflowers: Ukraine From the sandy coasts of the Black Sea to the vibrant capital of Kyiv, this proud nation is full of history, culture, and beauty.


I Am Ruby Bridges By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338753882
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Orchard Books - September 6th, 2022

Ruby Bridges tells her story as never before and shares the events of the momentous day in 1960 when Ruby became the first Black child to integrate the all-white William Franz Elementary as a six year old little girl -- a personal and intimate look through a child's lens at a landmark moment in our Civil Rights history.

My work will be precious.

I will bridge the "gap"


Indigenous America (True History) By Liam McDonald, Jennifer Sabin (Created by), Doug Kiel (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Liam McDonald, Jennifer Sabin (Created by), Doug Kiel (Introduction by)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593386088
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 30th, 2022

"A comprehensive and accessible history of the Indigenous peoples of North America." - STARRED REVIEW, School Library Journal
 
Introducing a new nonfiction series that uncovers hidden histories of the United States.


The true story of the United States’ Indigenous beginnings.


Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX: The Law That Changed the Future of Girls in America By Karen Blumenthal Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781665918749
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

Celebrate the 50th anniversary of Title IX, the law that opened the door for greater opportunities for girls and women, with this refreshed edition of the nonfiction illustrated middle grade book about an important victory in the fight for equality.

Not long ago, people believed girls shouldn’t play sports. That math and science courses were too difficult for them.


Earth Clock: The History of Our Planet in 24 Hours By Tom Jackson, Nic Jones (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tom Jackson, Nic Jones (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781783128495
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Welbeck Children's - September 6th, 2022

Our planet has been spinning in the blackness of Space for 4.5 billion years. People have only been around for a tiny part of it. But what happened before we arrived on the scene? Before animals, dinosaurs and even trees? Imagine if we could discover Earth's history in one day...