Social Studies Books

Staff Pick Badge
Before She Was Harriet Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823444298
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Holiday House - June 11th, 2019

An evocative poem and stunning watercolors come together to honor an American heroine in a Coretta Scott King Honor and Christopher Award-winning picture book.


From an Idea to Google: How Innovation at Google Changed the World Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781328954923
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - July 9th, 2019

From an Idea to Google is a behind-the-computer-screen look into the history, business, and brand of the world's largest search engine.


Groundbreaking Guys: 40 Men Who Became Great by Doing Good Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316529419
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 11th, 2019

An illustrated book of biographies highlighting the inspiring and innovative qualities of forty very different men throughout history, for fans of Heroes for My Son and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.


Reaching for the Moon: The Autobiography of NASA Mathematician Katherine Johnson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534440838
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 2nd, 2019

The inspiring autobiography of NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, who helped launch Apollo 11.

As a young girl, Katherine Johnson showed an exceptional aptitude for math. In school she quickly skipped ahead several grades and was soon studying complex equations with the support of a professor who saw great promise in her.


Imagine You Were There... Winning the Vote for Women Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780753475010
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kingfisher - June 11th, 2019

The Imagine You Were There... series celebrates events that changed the world and the people who made them happen. 2019 sees the 100th anniversary of the passing of the 19th Amendment giving women the vote in the United States.


All of Us: A Young People's History of the World Cover Image
By Yvan Pommaux (Illustrator), Christophe Ylla-Somers, Anna Lehmann (Translated by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781681373218
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: NYR Children's Collection - June 25th, 2019

An inclusive and expansive telling of the history of civilization from the beginning of time, by one of France's most beloved children's authors


Secrets of the American Museum of Natural History: Weird and Wonderful Facts about America's Natural History Museum Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781454921998
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Sterling Children's Books - May 14th, 2019

Take a behind-the scenes look at the world-famous American Museum of Natural History


Our Flag Was Still There: The True Story of Mary Pickersgill and the Star-Spangled Banner Cover Image
By Jessie Hartland, Jessie Hartland (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534402331
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - May 21st, 2019

“So much to like about this, including the folk art–style artwork with childlike appeal, the emphasis on the women who constructed the flag, and the important ways a symbol can influence a country for generations.”Booklist (starred review)

From beloved author-illustrator Jessie Hartland comes a whimsical nonfiction picture book that tells t


Stephen Biesty's Cross-Sections Castle Cover Image
By Stephen Biesty (Illustrator), Richard Platt
$19.99
ISBN: 9781465484703
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: DK Children - May 14th, 2019

History comes alive in this incredible children's illustrated book about castles.

Slicing through different areas of a medieval fortress, extraordinary views reveal the people busy inside, preparing for battle as an enemy army approaches.


Writers and Their Pets: True Stories of Famous Authors and Their Animal Friends Cover Image
By Kathleen Krull, Violet Lemay (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781947458529
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: duopress - June 11th, 2019

Discover how animals influenced 20 of the world’s most beloved authors, from Charles Dickens to J.K. Rowling. Did you know that a dog saved Pablo Neruda’s life? Or that Mark Twain had a cat named Bambino? Or that Edgar Allen Poe wrote with a cat on his shoulders?


Staff Pick Badge
The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Sarah Jacoby (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393449
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 21st, 2019

An exceptional picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight MoonThe Runaway Bunny, and other beloved children’s classics, that's as groundbreaking as the icon herself was—from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Jacoby.


Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062418876
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 21st, 2019

Crazy-but-true stories about history, geography, and human achievement make this acclaimed nonfiction series perfect for fans of curiosities and wonders. A fun way for middle graders to explore ways to separate fact from fiction.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs