Social Studies Books

Endurance, Young Readers Edition: My Year in Space and How I Got There Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524764272
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Yearling - February 11th, 2020

Discover what it's like to spend a year in space in this awe-inspiring memoir from a real-life NASA astronaut who did just that!

Prepare to blast off with astronaut Scott Kelly as he takes readers on a journey through his year aboard the International Space Station and his life prior to becoming a true American hero.


The Perfect Horse: The Daring Rescue of Horses Kidnapped During World War II Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525644774
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Yearling - February 18th, 2020

In this inspiring young readers adaptation of Elizabeth Letts' New York Times bestseller, one American troop will save the world's most precious horses during the final stretch of World War II.


Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062888785
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 28th, 2020

An inspiring picture book for little ballerinas everywhere!

Ready to Fly is the true story of Sylvia Townsend, an African American girl who falls in love with ballet after seeing Swan Lake on TV.


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy Who Became a Dragon: A Biography of Bruce Lee Cover Image
By Jim Di Bartolo, Jim Di Bartolo (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338134117
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - February 4th, 2020

The astonishing story of martial arts legend Bruce Lee . . . told in spectacular graphic form.


Attack on Pearl Harbor (X Books: Total War): World War II Strikes Home in the USA Cover Image
$6.95
ISBN: 9780531243824
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Children's Press - February 4th, 2020

The U.S. fleet is under attack!


China: A History Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781419736803
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2022

One of the world’s most influential superpowers—China—is brought to life by the Field Museum
 
China: A History traces the 7,000-year story of this diverse land.


Honey, the Dog Who Saved Abe Lincoln Cover Image
By Shari Swanson, Chuck Groenink (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062699008
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

Based on a little-known tale from Abraham Lincoln’s childhood, this charming picture book written by debut author Shari Swanson and illustrated by acclaimed artist Chuck Groenink tells a classic story of a boy, his dog, and a daring rescue.


The Secret Garden of George Washington Carver Cover Image
By Gene Barretta, Frank Morrison (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062430151
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

The inspirational story of George Washington Carver and his childhood secret garden is brought to life in this picture book biography by the author-illustrator team behind Muhammad Ali: A Champion Is Born.

When George Washington Carver was just a young child, he had a secret: a garden of his own.


Roses and Radicals: The Epic Story of How American Women Won the Right to Vote Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780425291467
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Puffin Books - January 7th, 2020

The United States of America is almost 250 years old, but American women won the right to vote less than a hundred years ago.

And when the controversial nineteenth amendment to the U.S. Constitution-the one granting suffrage to women-was finally ratified in 1920, it passed by a mere one-vote margin.


Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Cheryl Hudson, Erin K. Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645818
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.


Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547600236
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths, but often forgotten are the near misses. JFK and his fellow servicemen spent six days on a desert island with only coconuts to eat after a deadly attack during WWII. Abe Lincoln was forced to take a train trip in disguise while America's first female detective worked to foil an early assassination attempt.


Catching a Russian Spy: Agent Leslie G. Wiser Jr. and the Case of Aldrich Ames (FBI Files #2) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250199171
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 21st, 2020

In Catching a Russian Spy, Bryan Denson presents the story of the FBI's investigation of Aldrich Ames, and brings to life Agent Les Wiser, Jr., the agent who helped bring him to justice.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs