Social Science Books - Emigration & Immigration - Bestsellers - Page 3

More Emigration & Immigration Books
The Hungry Season: A Journey of War, Love, and Survival By Lisa M. Hamilton Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316415897
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 26th, 2023

A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice | A Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Book of the Year | Longlisted for the 2024 Plutarch Award | Longlisted for the 2023 California Book Awards

In the tradition of Katherine Boo and Tracy Kidder, The Hungry Season is a “lyrical” narrative with "real suspense" (


What We Remember Will Be Saved: A Story of Refugees and the Things They Carry By Stephanie Saldaña Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781506484211
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Broadleaf Books - September 12th, 2023

2023 Christopher Award Winner

Eggplant seeds, a lullaby in a vanishing language, an embroidered dress. When people flee their homes, the things they save speak of beauty and suffering and the indomitable human spirit.


Inventing Latinos: A New Story of American Racism By Laura E. Gómez Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781620977613
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: New Press - September 6th, 2022

Named one of the Best Books of the Year by NPR

An NPR Best Book of the Year, exploring the impact of Latinos' new collective racial identity on the way Americans understand race, with a new afterword by the author


Giannis: The Improbable Rise of an NBA Champion By Mirin Fader Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780306924118
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Hachette Books - April 12th, 2022

The story of Giannis Antetokounmpo’s extraordinary rise from poverty in Athens, Greece, to superstardom in America with the Milwaukee Bucks—becoming one of the most transcendent players in history and an NBA Champion—from award-winning basketball reporter and feature writer at The Ringer Mirin Fader. Now in paperback with a new Epilogue.
 


The Women's Mosque of America: Authority and Community in Us Islam By Tazeen M. Ali Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781479811304
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: New York University Press - November 1st, 2022

Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2023

Analyzes how American Muslim women assert themselves as religious actors in the US and beyond, using the Qur'an as a tool for social justice and community building


Open Borders: The Science and Ethics of Immigration By Bryan Caplan, Zach Weinersmith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Bryan Caplan, Zach Weinersmith (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250316967
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: First Second - October 29th, 2019

An Economist “Our Books of the Year” Selection

Economist Bryan Caplan makes a bold case for unrestricted immigration in this fact-filled graphic nonfiction.


Dear America: Notes of an Undocumented Citizen By Jose Antonio Vargas Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062851345
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Dey Street Books - September 3rd, 2019

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“This riveting, courageous memoir ought to be mandatory reading for every American.”  Michelle Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of The New Jim Crow


Staff Pick Badge
Mayflower: Voyage, Community, War By Nathaniel Philbrick Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780143111979
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Books - April 24th, 2007

"Vivid and remarkably fresh...Philbrick has recast the Pilgrims for the ages."--The New York Times Book Review

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in History
New York Times Book Review Top Ten books of the Year

With a new preface marking the 400th anniversary of the landing of the Mayflower.


Border and Rule: Global Migration, Capitalism, and the Rise of Racist Nationalism By Harsha Walia, Robin D. G. Kelley (Foreword by), Nick Estes (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Harsha Walia, Robin D. G. Kelley (Foreword by), Nick Estes (Afterword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781642592696
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Haymarket Books - February 9th, 2021

An urgent, global account of the migration crisis and the function of borders across political, social, cultural, and economic systems.


America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States By Erika Lee Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781541672611
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Basic Books - June 15th, 2021

This definitive history of American xenophobia is "essential reading for anyone who wants to build a more inclusive society" (Ibram X. Kendi, New York Times-bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist)

The United States is known as a nation of immigrants. But it is also a nation of xenophobia.


Postcolonialism: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) By Robert J. C. Young Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780198856832
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - January 2nd, 2021

Postcolonialism explores the political, social, and cultural effects of decolonization, continuing the anti-colonial deconstruction of western dominance. This Very Short Introduction discusses both the history and key debates of postcolonialism, and considers its importance as a means of changing the way we think about the world.


Settlers: The Mythology of the White Proletariat from Mayflower to Modern (Kersplebedeb) By J. Sakai Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781629630373
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: PM Press - September 11th, 2014

A uniquely important book in the canon of the North American revolutionary left and anticolonial movements, Settlers was first published in the 1980s.