Science Books - Anthropology

More Anthropology Books
Staff Pick Badge
Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525655084
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - January 14th, 2020

New York Times Best Seller 

"A deft and uniquely credible exploration of rural America, and of other left-behind pockets of our country. One of the most important books I've read on the state of our disunion."—Tara Westover, author of Educated    


Wilmington's Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780802128386
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - January 7th, 2020

From Pulitzer Prize-winner David Zucchino comes a searing account of the Wilmington riot and coup of 1898, an extraordinary event unknown to most Americans


Human Diversity: The Biology of Gender, Race, and Class Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781538744017
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Twelve - January 28th, 2020

All people are equal but, as Human Diversity explores, all groups of people are not the same -- a fascinating investigation of the genetics and neuroscience of human differences.


Sexual Citizens: A Landmark Study of Sex, Power, and Assault on Campus Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781324001706
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 14th, 2020

A groundbreaking study that transforms how we see and address the most misunderstood problem on college campuses: widespread sexual assault.


Full Dissidence: Notes from an Uneven Playing Field Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780807019559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beacon Press - January 21st, 2020

A bold and impassioned meditation on injustice in our country that punctures the illusion of a postracial America and reveals it as a place where authoritarianism looms large.


Transcendence: How Humans Evolved through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780465094905
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Basic Books - January 21st, 2020

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species


American Manifesto: Saving Democracy from Villains, Vandals, and Ourselves Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640092808
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Counterpoint LLC - January 14th, 2020

Do you fear for our democracy? Are you perplexed by Trumpism? Are you ready to throw in the towel? Don't This is your guidebook to reassembling our hyperpolarized American society in six (not-so-easy) steps, written by cohost of WNYC's On the Media Bob Garfield


How the South Won the Civil War: Oligarchy, Democracy, and the Continuing Fight for the Soul of America Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780190900908
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - April 1st, 2020

While the North prevailed in the Civil War, ending slavery and giving the country a "new birth of freedom," Heather Cox Richardson argues in this provocative work that democracy's blood-soaked victory was ephemeral. The system that had sustained the defeated South moved westward and there established a foothold. It was a natural fit.


Burden (Movie Tie-In Edition): A Preacher, a Klansman, and a True Story of Redemption in the Modern South Cover Image
By Courtney Hargrave, Andrew Heckler (Foreword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781524762704
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Convergent Books - February 4th, 2020

The true story behind the film starring Academy Award winner Forest Whitaker and Garrett Hedlund; written and directed by Andrew Heckler; produced by Academy Award nominee Robbie Brenner (Dallas Buyers Club)

A powerful, timely story about an African American reverend whose faith compelled him to help a KKK member leave a life of hate
 


Becoming Free, Becoming Black: Race, Freedom, and Law in Cuba, Virginia, and Louisiana (Studies in Legal History) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781108480642
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Cambridge University Press - January 16th, 2020

How did Africans become 'blacks' in the Americas? Becoming Free, Becoming Black tells the story of enslaved and free people of color who used the law to claim freedom and citizenship for themselves and their loved ones. Their communities challenged slaveholders' efforts to make blackness synonymous with slavery.


Memory Craft: Improve Your Memory with the Most Powerful Methods in History Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781643133249
Availability: Special Order
Published: Pegasus Books - January 7th, 2020

Groundbreaking anthropologist and memory champion Lynne Kelly reveals how we can use ancient and traditional mnemonic methods to enhance and expand our memory.


Lurking: How a Person Became a User Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374194338
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: MCD - February 25th, 2020

A concise but wide-ranging personal history of the internet from—for the first time—the point of view of the user


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs