Psychology Books

Staff Pick Logo
From Here to Eternity: Traveling the World to Find the Good Death Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393356281
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 9th, 2018

Fascinated by our pervasive fear of dead bodies, mortician Caitlin Doughty embarked on a global expedition to discover how other cultures care for the dead. From Zoroastrian sky burials to wish-granting Bolivian skulls, she investigates the world's funerary customs and expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with dignity.


The Inflamed Mind: A Radical New Approach to Depression Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250318145
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Picador - December 31st, 2018

A Sunday Times (London) Top Ten Bestseller

Worldwide, depression will be the single biggest cause of disability in the next twenty years. But treatment for it has not changed much in the last three decades. In the world of psychiatry, time has apparently stood still...until now with Edward Bullmore's The Inflamed Mind: A Radical New Approach to Depression.


Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner): An Invitation and Guide to Life's Most Important Conversation Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780738235295
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Da Capo Lifelong Books - October 2nd, 2018

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation


Notes for the Everlost: A Field Guide to Grief Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781611805505
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Shambhala - September 18th, 2018

Part memoir, part handbook for the heartbroken, this powerful, unsparing account of losing a premature baby will speak to all who have been bereaved and are grieving, and offers inspiration on moving forward, gently integrating the loss into life.


Schadenfreude: The Joy of Another's Misfortune Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780316470308
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Spark - November 20th, 2018

An entertaining and insightful exploration of schadenfreude: the deliciously dark and complex joy we've all felt, from time to time, at news of others' misfortunes.

You might feel schadenfreude when...


Why We Dream: The Transformative Power of Our Nightly Journey Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780544931213
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - November 20th, 2018

A fresh, revelatory foray into the new science of dreams—how they work, what they’re for, and how we can reap the benefits of our own nocturnal life

While on a research trip in Peru, science journalist Alice Robb became hooked on lucid dreaming—the uncanny phenomenon in which a sleeping person can realize that they’re dreaming and even control the dr


Staff Pick Logo
The Choice: Embrace the Possible Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501130793
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - September 4th, 2018

Winner of the 2017 National Jewish Book Award and 2018 Christopher Award

“Edith’s strength and courage are remarkable…her life and work are an incredible example of forgiveness, resilience, and generosity.”—Sheryl Sandberg

It’s 1944 and sixteen-year-old ballerina and gymnast Edith Eger is sent to Auschwitz.


The Disordered Mind: What Unusual Brains Tell Us About Ourselves Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374287863
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 28th, 2018

A Nobel Prize–winning neuroscientist’s probing investigation of what brain disorders can tell us about human nature


The Personality Brokers: The Strange History of Myers-Briggs and the Birth of Personality Testing Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780385541909
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Doubleday - September 11th, 2018

"Inventive and beguiling... The Personality Brokers is history that reads like biography that reads like a novel--a fluid narrative that defies expectations and plays against type." --New York Times


Altered Traits: Science Reveals How Meditation Changes Your Mind, Brain, and Body Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399184390
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Avery - September 4th, 2018

Two New York Times–bestselling authors unveil new research showing what meditation can really do for the brain.
 


Aware: The Science and Practice of Presence--The Groundbreaking Meditation Practice Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101993040
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: TarcherPerigee - August 21st, 2018

New York Times bestseller · This groundbreaking new book from New York Times bestselling author Daniel J. Siegel, M.D., introduces readers to his pioneering, science-based meditation practice.


Reader, Come Home: The Reading Brain in a Digital World Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062388780
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper - August 7th, 2018

From the author of Proust and the Squid, a lively, ambitious, and deeply informative epistolary book that considers the future of the reading brain and our capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection as we become increasingly dependent on digital technologies.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs