| Northshire Bookstore

Whitney Kaaz - Bookseller in Manchester

Whitney Kaaz"She liked anything orange: leaves; some moons; marigolds; chrysanthemums; cheese; pumpkin, both in pie and out; orange juice; marmalade. Orange is bright and demanding. You can't ignore orange things." from the novel The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Witch's Boy

Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Boy Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781616205485
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2015

For fans of Wildwood and The Apothecary comes this new novel of fate, family and friendship. Filled with omens, "The Witch's Boy" follows two children destined to meet as their kingdoms clash over stolen magic and family traditions. A wonderful tale of finding your own voice despite a great responsibility to attend to the needs of others. A must-read! ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo & Whitney Kaaz


Miniaturist

Staff Pick Badge
The Miniaturist: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062306845
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - June 2nd, 2015

A wealthy merchant, an arranged marriage, and a mysterious wedding gift set the stage for this fast-paced, smart debut novel. Set in 17th century Amsterdam, "The Miniaturist" follows Petronella as she attempts to find her place in a house full of mystery and secrets. Polish off your summer with this great weekend read! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Goldfinch

Staff Pick Badge
The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780316055444
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Back Bay Books - April 7th, 2015

The long awaited third novel from Donna Tartt was well worth the wait. She is back and better than ever in this epic novel of life, death, fate, memory and love. Her characters and plot are carefully thought out and executed without flaw. The art of the novel is alive and well! Rejoice! If you read one novel this year make it this one! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


The Answer to the Riddle Is Me: A Memoir of Amnesia by David Stuart MacLean - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Answer to the Riddle Is Me: A Memoir of Amnesia Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780544227705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - March 10th, 2015

After experiencing a severe reaction to an anti-malarial drug the author loses his memory completely. This is the gripping story of a man who struggles to piece his life back together and rediscover who he is. Beautifully written!! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


A Snicker of Magic

Staff Pick Badge
A Snicker of Magic (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545552738
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Press - April 28th, 2015

Felicity Pickle is a word collector. She is also looking for a place to call home. Wandering from place to place makes it difficult to make friends. What happens when she ends up in her mother’s home town? Could Felicity find her first best friend? Is there enough magic in Midnight Gulch to make them stay? ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Just Right for Christmas

Staff Pick Badge
Just Right for Christmas Cover Image
By Birdie Black, Rosalind Beardshaw (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780763675639
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Nosy Crow - September 23rd, 2014

The king buys Christmassy fabric for a gift and puts the leftover scraps on the doorstep. Gradually, Christmas presents are made and the scraps passed on to the next person in need. A magical story about the spirit of giving. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Dear Malala

Staff Pick Badge
Dear Malala, We Stand with You Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780553521207
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 28th, 2014

This is a perfect gift for kids of all ages, written to Malala Yousafzai, the recipient of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize, in the form of an open letter. The message is simple, “Education is the only solution. Education first. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Christmas Treasure Hunt

Staff Pick Badge
The Christmas Treasure Hunt: A Lift the Flap Book Cover Image
By Ag Jatkowska (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780230768635
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Pan MacMillan - September 1st, 2014

Come join the animals in Green Oak Wood for an old fashioned Christmas! Adorable illustrations and lift the flap surprises accompany this sweet rhyming story. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Simon and the Bear

Staff Pick Badge
Simon and the Bear: A Hanukkah Tale Cover Image
By Eric A. Kimmel, Matthew Trueman (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781423143550
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 2nd, 2014

As Simon sets sail for a new life in America his mother packs an extra gift, a small menorah, and reminds him to always celebrate the miracles of Hanukkah. Stunning illustrations illuminate this beautiful tale of courage, faith and the power of miracles! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Sam and Dave Dig a Hole

Staff Pick Badge
Sam and Dave Dig a Hole Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763662295
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - October 14th, 2014

This dynamic award-winning duo is back and better than ever! Pay close attention as the boys dig for treasure. The words tell one story and the charming pictures another. Hilarious! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Pages

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs