Whitney Kaaz - Bookseller in Manchester

Whitney Kaaz"She liked anything orange: leaves; some moons; marigolds; chrysanthemums; cheese; pumpkin, both in pie and out; orange juice; marmalade. Orange is bright and demanding. You can't ignore orange things." from the novel The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

The Heart's Invisible Furies by John Boyne - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Heart's Invisible Furies: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524760786
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Hogarth - August 22nd, 2017

A love song to John Irving, this new novel from John Boyne, acclaimed author of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, may just be his masterpiece. The story follows the life of Cecil Avery, an adopted child raised in repressed Ireland by unconventional parents. Hilarious and awkward, heartbreaking and beautiful, the pains and small triumphs of its characters leave you feeling hopeful for the future. I loved this book! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


White Fur by Jardine Libaire - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
White Fur: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451497925
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Hogarth - May 30th, 2017

Jamey is the son of a famous movie star and billionaire father. Elise is the product of the projects. Is it possible that fate has brought them together? Fueled by intense sexual desire their relationship grows until friends and family start to interfere. Will these star-crossed lovers find their way? Will love conquer all? Find out the answers and more in this beautifully crafted novel of love and sex, poverty and privilege, right and wrong. Intense! love knows no bounds...or does it? ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Over and Under the Snow by Kate Messner - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Over and Under the Snow Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781452136462
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - September 9th, 2014

This is my favorite new winter book! Beautiful illustrations accompany a wonderful story about a girl and her dad skiing through the woods as they discover the hidden animal worlds under the snow. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Edgar and Lucy by Victor Lodato - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Edgar and Lucy: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250096982
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 7th, 2017

For fans of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and Fates & Furies. I loved this book! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Finding Perfect by Elly Swartz - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Finding Perfect Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374303129
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - October 18th, 2016

Ever since Molly's mom left to take a job in Canada her life has been turned upside down. She knows there is something wrong with her when she can't stop the counting in her head. It all comes to a halt when she falls apart during the finals of the poetry slam. Molly's authentic voice and strength of character will have readers rooting for her! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Sleep Tight Farm by Eugenie Doyle - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sleep Tight Farm: A Farm Prepares for Winter Cover Image
By Eugenie Doyle, Becca Stadtlander (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452129013
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - August 2nd, 2016

Join this Vermont family as they slowly close up the farm for winter. Harvesting, pruning, stacking wood and making sure the animals are warm for the long winter are just a few of the many tasks it takes to maintain the farm. Gorgeous illustrations make this a perfect gift! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Because of an Acorn by Lola M Schafer - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Because of an Acorn: (Nature Autumn Books for Children, Picture Books about Acorn Trees) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452112428
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - August 2nd, 2016

Follow the life cycle of an acorn through this beautifully illustrated book. Children will learn just how important a single tree can be! A portion of the proceeds goes to support the NRDC. A simple introduction to teaching kids about ecosystems. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Walking in a Winter Wonderland by Tim Hopgood - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Walking in a Winter Wonderland Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781627793049
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 13th, 2016

Enjoy this holiday classic with beautiful new illustrations. Young and old alike will enjoy walking through the winter woods and viewing wildlife as they sing this winter favorite! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Cooking for Picasso

Staff Pick Badge
Cooking for Picasso: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399177651
Availability: Special Order
Published: Ballantine Books - August 9th, 2016

This is the perfect summer read! The French Riviera had never looked so good. Art, beautiful food, secret affairs, and missing pieces of the past make this novel unputdownable! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Carousel Court

Staff Pick Badge
Carousel Court: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476791272
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 2nd, 2016

What is the American Dream? Money? Power? Career? Watch what happens when a less-than-perfect couple struggle to have it all. With overtones reminiscent of Jonathan Franzen’s Corrections and Hubert Selby’s Requiem for a Dream, this cautionary tale is a compelling read. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Pages

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs