Whitney Kaaz - Bookseller in Manchester

Whitney Kaaz"She liked anything orange: leaves; some moons; marigolds; chrysanthemums; cheese; pumpkin, both in pie and out; orange juice; marmalade. Orange is bright and demanding. You can't ignore orange things." from the novel The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Love & Luck by Jenna Evans Welch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Love & Luck Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534401006
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon Pulse - May 8th, 2018

While visiting Ireland for her aunt's wedding, Addie finds an Irish travel guide for the heartbroken, which turns out is exactly what she needs. Her plans take a drastic turn and she must not only repair her relationship with her brother but try to move on from the boy she once trusted. A fun romantic summer romp across Ireland! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Possum and the Summer Storm by Anne Hunter - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Possum and the Summer Storm Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544898912
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Houghton Mifflin - May 22nd, 2018

Local author Anne Hunter is back with our favorite Possum just in time for summer! This gentle story of cooperation and friendship accompanied by gorgeous illustrations makes this picture book a sure winner! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions (Auntie Poldi Adventure #1) by Mario Giordano - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions (Auntie Poldi Adventure #1) Cover Image
By Mario Giordano, John Brownjohn (Translator)
$24.00
ISBN: 9781328863577
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 6th, 2018

Move over Miss Marple, Auntie Poldi is on the scene! The first book in the new series by Mario Giordano, Auntie Poldi delivers. Sassy, saucy, and subtly erotic, she's just turned 60 and moved to Sicily with plans to drink herself to death...until her handsome young handyman goes missing! With beautiful scenery, local lore, and food descriptions to die for, this book will leave you yearning for a Sicilian lover! Best summer read ever! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Emergency Contact Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534408968
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 27th, 2018

Sam is the damaged, tattooed boy from the trailer park. Penny is the responsible yet emotionally unavailable college student. After meeting just one time, Penny sees Sam pass out on the sidewalk and takes him to the hospital. They exchange phone numbers and become each other's emergency contact...and the texting begins. For fans of Eleanor and Park this is a young adult romance at its best! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Red Clocks by Leni Zumas - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Red Clocks Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316434812
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little Brown and Company - January 16th, 2018

It is the near future. Abortion is illegal in all 50 states along with other horrifying laws implemented by the patriarchy. This is the story of four women's lives woven together by fate and this brave new world. Red Clocks is a testament to the strength and resilience of women throughout the centuries who continue to fight stereotypes and the systems that would deny them their humanity. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Truly Devious: A Mystery by Maureen Johnson - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062338051
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 16th, 2018

Super sleuth, Stevie Bell, has been accepted to Ellingham Academy, a prestigious school for gifted children. She has been sought out to use her crime solving skills to help solve a hundred year old mystery that looms over the academy. While knee-deep in old mysteries a student is murdered and Stevie must use her skills once again. Set in Vermont, this new series is sure to pull you in! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Fire Sermon by Jamie Quatro - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Fire Sermon Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780802127044
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Grove Press - January 9th, 2018

This impressive literary debut is an incredibly honest and often painful look at a marriage. I was moved by the author's fierce honesty and her bravery by tackling a subject that is very common, but rarely approached with such brutal frankness. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Ruby and Olivia by Rachel Hawkins - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Ruby and Olivia Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399169618
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - October 24th, 2017

What does lying to protect your twin sister earn you? A summer at a camp for "troubled" kids! The last thing Olivia expects to find at Camp Chrysalis is friendship mystery and adventure. A creepy historic home filled with mysterious noises and secret places provide all the elements for an exciting summer. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Staff Pick Logo
Bonfire Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524759841
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Archetype - November 7th, 2017

Bonfire asks the age old question can you truly go home again once you have tried to erase your past? Abby confronts that notion by returning to her small midwestern 10 years later as an environmental lawyer hired to investigate the corporation that owned her town even back then. Abby must delve into her traumatic past to uncover scandalous truths about the corporation and the town she is trying to forget. Lies deceit and blackmail will surely seduce you in Ritter's debut novel. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Meaning of Maggie Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781452128764
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - May 12th, 2015

Being 11 means the beginning of everything! Maggie is one step closer to voting, getting a tattoo and becoming the president. It also means she needs to find out why her dad’s legs are falling asleep. Told with refreshing honesty, this is a quirky, heartbreaking story of a family coping with MS. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell & Whitney Kaaz


Pages

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs