Whitney Kaaz - Bookseller in Manchester

Whitney Kaaz"She liked anything orange: leaves; some moons; marigolds; chrysanthemums; cheese; pumpkin, both in pie and out; orange juice; marmalade. Orange is bright and demanding. You can't ignore orange things." from the novel The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Snow (Four Seasons of Walter de la Mare) by Walter de la Mare - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Snow (Four Seasons of Walter de la Mare) Cover Image
By Walter de la Mare, Carolina Rabei (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9780571312191
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Faber & Faber Childrenas - October 4th, 2018

Rhyming text accompanies a beautiful yet simple color palette, evoking a feeling of peace and tranquility as the children explore the wonders of a snowy day! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


The Ink House by Rory Dobner - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Ink House Cover Image
By Rory Dobner (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786270771
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Laurence King Publishing - October 9th, 2018

Celebrate the magic of ink and paper in this incredibly intricate black and white gem! A sophisticated picture book for children and adults of all ages! Don’t miss the search and find at the end of book! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Archie and the Bear by Zanni Louise - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Archie and the Bear Cover Image
By Zanni Louise, David Mackintosh (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328973412
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Clarion Books - September 18th, 2018

Archie is convinced he is a bear even though everyone around him thinks he is a boy. Until one day when he ventures into the forest only to find a bear...who thinks he’s a boy! They end their day together enjoying the things both boys and bears love: warm quilts, warm fires, and honey sandwiches. The perfect bedtime story! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Katerina by James Frey - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Katerina Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982101442
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - September 11th, 2018

A prequel to the controversial Million Little Pieces, this book is Frey's love letter to Henry Miller. After selling enough drugs to live in Paris for a year and escape "the creaking machinery of humanity," he spends his time in a drug-induced fog drinking, sleeping around, and writing. At this story's heart is a tragic love story borne from reckless behavior and youthful ambitions. ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Cherry: A novel by Nico Walker - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Cherry: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520139
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - August 14th, 2018

Nico Walker saw over 200 missions in Iraq as an army medic, came home with severe PTSD, became addicted to heroin and then started robbing banks. In a voice reminiscent of Holden Caulfield, Walker recounts his story as fiction with beautiful simplistic raw emotion, tinged with dark humor. The creation of this book was as fascinating as the novel itself! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


See All the Stars by Kit Frick - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
See All the Stars Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534404373
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 14th, 2018

Ellory May has everything going for her. The promise of art school,four close friends and boyfriend she adores. But what happens when the truth emerges from the sea of lies? This debut novel is an expertly woven story that alternates between past and present and ends in a gripping reveal. I read it in one sitting and promise you will have a hard time putting it down! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Love & Luck by Jenna Evans Welch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Love & Luck Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534401006
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon Pulse - May 8th, 2018

While visiting Ireland for her aunt's wedding, Addie finds an Irish travel guide for the heartbroken, which turns out is exactly what she needs. Her plans take a drastic turn and she must not only repair her relationship with her brother but try to move on from the boy she once trusted. A fun romantic summer romp across Ireland! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Possum and the Summer Storm by Anne Hunter - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Possum and the Summer Storm Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544898912
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 22nd, 2018

Local author Anne Hunter is back with our favorite Possum just in time for summer! This gentle story of cooperation and friendship accompanied by gorgeous illustrations makes this picture book a sure winner! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions (Auntie Poldi Adventure #1) by Mario Giordano - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions (An Auntie Poldi Adventure #1) Cover Image
By Mario Giordano, John Brownjohn (Translated by)
$24.00
ISBN: 9781328863577
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - March 6th, 2018

Move over Miss Marple, Auntie Poldi is on the scene! The first book in the new series by Mario Giordano, Auntie Poldi delivers. Sassy, saucy, and subtly erotic, she's just turned 60 and moved to Sicily with plans to drink herself to death...until her handsome young handyman goes missing! With beautiful scenery, local lore, and food descriptions to die for, this book will leave you yearning for a Sicilian lover! Best summer read ever! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Emergency Contact Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534408968
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 27th, 2018

Sam is the damaged, tattooed boy from the trailer park. Penny is the responsible yet emotionally unavailable college student. After meeting just one time, Penny sees Sam pass out on the sidewalk and takes him to the hospital. They exchange phone numbers and become each other's emergency contact...and the texting begins. For fans of Eleanor and Park this is a young adult romance at its best! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Pages

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs