tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog

American Dirt: A Novel by Jeanine Cummins - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
American Dirt: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250209764
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 21st, 2020

“If it's only a better life you seek, seek it elsewhere...This path is only for people who have no choice, no other option, only violence and misery behind you..”. It is hard to exactly put into words the profound impact that this poignant, epic telling of a migrant’s arduous journey had on me. It is a beautifully written and timely book that puts a human face on those seeking asylum. Heart-wrenching and filled with humanity. You will never look at this issue the same again, I know I won’t. EVERYONE should read this book! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Searching for Sylvie Lee: A Novel by Jean Kwok - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Searching for Sylvie Lee: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062834300
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: William Morrow - June 4th, 2019

“..we are all ultimately unreliable storytellers of our own lives, whether we wish it so or not…” This is a heartrending novel of family secrets, of discovering those you love are not always as you believe them to be, or even as they believed themselves to be. Intertwined with these discoveries is also a searing exploration of what it means to be an immigrant trying to both assimilate into the new and to hold onto the past. Beautifully written, you will be thinking about these people long after you have heard their stories. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II by Sonia Purnell - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Viking - April 9th, 2019

An amazing tale of the overlooked WWII heroine Virginia Hall, a young American in the service of the British SOE and later the American OSS under Wild Bill Donovan. Hall, at a time when women weren’t allowed on front line combat, almost single-handedly pioneered secret warfare deep in Nazi territory; recruiting spies, directing guerilla warfare and equipping the French Resistance. A marvelous, illuminating look at one facet of newly developing covert warfare and of the woman with a wooden leg, the “Madonna of the Mountains” who never gave up, even after betrayal and a harrowing escape over the Pyrenees. Mesmerizing! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) by Stephen Mack Jones - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616959593
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Soho Crime - January 8th, 2019

In this first sequel to the rollicking August Snow Detroit’s favorite ex-cop, along with an assortment of friends and allies, comes to the aid of his beloved Mexicantown which is caught up in a human trafficking conspiracy. Add in hackers, military grade weapons, drugs, biker bars, hip-hop recording studios, both seedy and swanky nightclubs, and you have one wild ride to find answers and ultimately, justice. Fans of Chandler, Mosley or Hammett will love this new hero of the downtrodden. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Wolf and the Watchman: A Novel by Niklas Natt och Dag - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf and the Watchman: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501196775
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atria Books - March 5th, 2019

WOW. What a wild, tumultuous and disturbing ride. Set against a backdrop of a depraved, putrid and venal 18th c. Stockholm, this is a dark, intricately written literary mystery of two men trying to solve a heinous and brutal murder. As they slowly learn the bitter impetus of the crime they must come to terms as well with Man’s inhumanity to Man and attempt to rectify it somewhat. NOT for the weak at heart, this novel stays with one long after it has been finished. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Mon 10am-7pm Tue-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs