tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog

Raft of Stars: A Novel by Andrew J. Graff - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Raft of Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063031906
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - March 23rd, 2021

For fans of Jane Smiley or William Kent Krueger, this is a remarkable and thrilling adventure tale with great heart and well developed characters you will come to care about. Fish and Bread,10-year-old best friends, believe that they have committed a murder and run away deep into the northern Wisconsin woods where they construct a raft and start a terrifying voyage downriver. Four adults track them into the woods hoping to find and save them. Not only is this full of danger and excitement, it is a heartrending story of loss,of hope and of friendship. I did not want to put it down! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


A Most Remarkable Creature: The Hidden Life and Epic Journey of the World's Smartest Birds of Prey by Jonathan Meiburg - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Most Remarkable Creature: The Hidden Life and Epic Journey of the World's Smartest Birds of Prey Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781101875704
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - March 30th, 2021

I loved every minute of this book. This mesmerizing debut is ostensibly about the world’s smartest and least known raptor, the South American caracara, but along the way the author delves into natural history, evolution, continental drift, Darwin and his naturalist contemporary William Henry Hudson. Meiburg brings the reader along with him to the high Andes, the South American jungles and the windswept Falklands and the frozen Antarctic with side trips to England and the US. His descriptions of why and how these unique, intelligent birds and their environments developed is just brilliant. AND, it is a great travel and adventure story as well. It will hold your attention to the very last page. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Confident Women: Swindlers, Grifters, and Shapeshifters of the Feminine Persuasion by Tori Telfer - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Confident Women: Swindlers, Grifters, and Shapeshifters of the Feminine Persuasion Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062956033
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Perennial - February 23rd, 2021

A new compilation from the author of Lady Killers: Deadly Women Throughout History, this is a “thoroughly entertaining and darkly humorous roundup of history’s notorious but often forgotten female con artists and their bold, outrageous scams...”. Divided into groups “Glitterati”, “Seers”,“Fabulists” and “Drifters” this marvelous book exposes all sorts of con-women throughout history, and poses the question of how these women managed so brilliantly to dupe and swindle. An incredibly fun read. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Captive: A Novel by Fiona King Foster - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Captive: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062990976
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - January 12th, 2021

Foster’s tense and compelling debut novel is set in the entirely believable, slightly dystopian near-future of rural North America (Canada? One is not quite sure.) Beautifully rendered, this dark tale follows the story of a strong heroine who will stop at nothing to protect her family from the threats of her violent past from which she had believed she had successfully escaped. The book weaves past and present and the reader will constantly be surprised by the twists and turns as all is not as it first seems. Although violent, often dark, the heroine’s deep love for her children and husband propels the reader through. Definitely worth discovering this new talent! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Lost Village: A Novel by Camilla Sten - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Village: A Novel Cover Image
By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250249258
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Minotaur Books - March 23rd, 2021

A delicious and creepy story, which reminded me a bit of watching the Blair Witch Project movie. Alice Lindstedt, a documentary filmmaker, has been obsessed with the missing/vanished residents of the town dubbed "The Lost Village" since childhood. Her grandmother's entire family disappeared and what remained was a dead woman tied to a tree and an infant found crying in a building. She persuades a team to go and investigate and immediately unusual and threatening things begin to happen and they feel they are being watched...what IS the secret this abandoned village is hiding? Classic Scandinavian noir with a totally unexpected ending. It is fast paced and will keep you guessing. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog