tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog

Share this

A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II by Sonia Purnell - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225299
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - April 9th, 2019

An amazing tale of the overlooked WWII heroine Virginia Hall, a young American in the service of the British SOE and later the American OSS under Wild Bill Donovan. Hall, at a time when women weren’t allowed on front line combat, almost single-handedly pioneered secret warfare deep in Nazi territory; recruiting spies, directing guerilla warfare and equipping the French Resistance. A marvelous, illuminating look at one facet of newly developing covert warfare and of the woman with a wooden leg, the “Madonna of the Mountains” who never gave up, even after betrayal and a harrowing escape over the Pyrenees. Mesmerizing! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) by Stephen Mack Jones - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616959593
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Soho Crime - January 8th, 2019

In this first sequel to the rollicking August Snow Detroit’s favorite ex-cop, along with an assortment of friends and allies, comes to the aid of his beloved Mexicantown which is caught up in a human trafficking conspiracy. Add in hackers, military grade weapons, drugs, biker bars, hip-hop recording studios, both seedy and swanky nightclubs, and you have one wild ride to find answers and ultimately, justice. Fans of Chandler, Mosley or Hammett will love this new hero of the downtrodden. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Wolf and the Watchman: A Novel by Niklas Natt och Dag - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Wolf and the Watchman: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501196775
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atria Books - March 5th, 2019

WOW. What a wild, tumultuous and disturbing ride. Set against a backdrop of a depraved, putrid and venal 18th c. Stockholm, this is a dark, intricately written literary mystery of two men trying to solve a heinous and brutal murder. As they slowly learn the bitter impetus of the crime they must come to terms as well with Man’s inhumanity to Man and attempt to rectify it somewhat. NOT for the weak at heart, this novel stays with one long after it has been finished. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Little Darlings by Melanie Golding - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Little Darlings Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781683319979
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - April 30th, 2019

An eerie mix of normal police procedural and fairy tale, this unusual tale is of a new mother of identical twins who may, or may not, have been abducted. This story brought me back to the uncertain first days of motherhood where everything was both exhilarating and extremely frightening...and often left me wondering about my own sanity. You’ll be hooked from the first page and find yourself racing to the conclusion. Definitely unsettling! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


How to Be a Good Creature: A Memoir in Thirteen Animals by Sy Montgomery - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
How to Be a Good Creature: A Memoir in Thirteen Animals Cover Image
By Sy Montgomery, Rebecca Green (Illustrator)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780544938328
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - September 25th, 2018

Whimsical illustrations accompany this heartfelt collection of essays on life, compassion, love and understanding the world by way of the author’s connections with the animals she has known. I find myself returning to this poetic collection often in quiet moments, contemplating not only how these connections impacted her life and her understanding, but seeing clearer now how my interactions with animals in my life have affected my own perceptions. The author shows us that there is truly a personality and a soul in all beings. A beautiful gift for someone who loves and has been loved by animals. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - tjohnsonreap@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs