shynds's blog

Happiness by Aminatta Forna - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Happiness Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802127556
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - March 6th, 2018

This is very strong fiction from a very gifted novelist. Set in London, Happiness deals with love (lost and found), the effects of trauma, immigration, urban foxes, hostage negotiation, Alzheimer's, dancing, and race relations. All of these elements are masterfully woven together in a story precipitated by the chance encounter of an American wildlife biologist and a Ghanaian psychiatrist. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Place for Us: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524763558
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: SJP for Hogarth - June 12th, 2018

Mirza evokes with equal skill and nuance the specifics of the first and second generation immigrant experience, and the universal themes of family unity and discord. In A Place For Us she captures the complicated dynamics of one family's relationships with one another with astonishing insight. I found it tremendously moving in a way that only the most authentic stories and voices can be. The last seventy pages buckled my knees. How can a story about characters who in many ways are so unlike my own be so hauntingly familiar? ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Unmade World by Steve Yarbrough - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Unmade World Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609531430
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Unbridled Books - January 16th, 2018

An American in Poland loses everyone he loves in a car accident. An unremarkable petty criminal is responsible but never caught. How do these two strangers go on with their lives--one consumed by grief, the other by guilt. This is page-turning literary fiction. Excellently crafted characters, propulsive narrative (plus a generous dose of suspense), sparkling prose. In a word--superb. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Breaking Bread: A Baker's Journey Home in 75 Recipes by Martin Philip - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Breaking Bread: A Baker's Journey Home in 75 Recipes Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780062447920
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Wave - October 31st, 2017

Part memoir– an Ozark childhood, a successful career in Manhattan, an entry-level baker's position in Vermont, and now, head baker at King Arthur Flour–and mostly recipes, this meandering baking book is full of traditional, beginning and advanced instructions. Biscuits and bagels and baguettes. Sourdough and cider bread. And pecan pie. For the passionate baker in your life. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods by Robert Llewellyn - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781604697124
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Timber Press - October 4th, 2017

For readers of The Hidden Life of Trees, or simply people who love trees, an immersive journey into the life of the woods. Water, soil, animals, and every part of the tree are explored in readable scientific prose and extraordinary images. An eye-popping, mind-expanding gift. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits by Mihaela Noroc - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399579950
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 26th, 2017

Noroc traveled the world with a backpack and camera photographing women in 50 countries. This is not only and atlas of beauty but a treasure trove of humanity. These simple and beautiful images of everyday women may help restore your faith in at least 49% of humankind. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - shynds's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs