shynds's blog

A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Place for Us: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524763558
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: SJP for Hogarth - June 12th, 2018

Mirza evokes with equal skill and nuance the specifics of the first and second generation immigrant experience, and the universal themes of family unity and discord. In A Place For Us she captures the complicated dynamics of one family's relationships with one another with astonishing insight. I found it tremendously moving in a way that only the most authentic stories and voices can be. The last seventy pages buckled my knees. How can a story about characters who in many ways are so unlike my own be so hauntingly familiar? ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Unmade World by Steve Yarbrough - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Unmade World Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609531430
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Unbridled Books - January 16th, 2018

An American in Poland loses everyone he loves in a car accident. An unremarkable petty criminal is responsible but never caught. How do these two strangers go on with their lives--one consumed by grief, the other by guilt. This is page-turning literary fiction. Excellently crafted characters, propulsive narrative (plus a generous dose of suspense), sparkling prose. In a word--superb. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Breaking Bread: A Baker's Journey Home in 75 Recipes by Martin Philip - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Breaking Bread: A Baker's Journey Home in 75 Recipes Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780062447920
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Wave - October 31st, 2017

Part memoir– an Ozark childhood, a successful career in Manhattan, an entry-level baker's position in Vermont, and now, head baker at King Arthur Flour–and mostly recipes, this meandering baking book is full of traditional, beginning and advanced instructions. Biscuits and bagels and baguettes. Sourdough and cider bread. And pecan pie. For the passionate baker in your life. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods by Robert Llewellyn - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781604697124
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Timber Press - October 4th, 2017

For readers of The Hidden Life of Trees, or simply people who love trees, an immersive journey into the life of the woods. Water, soil, animals, and every part of the tree are explored in readable scientific prose and extraordinary images. An eye-popping, mind-expanding gift. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits by Mihaela Noroc - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399579950
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 26th, 2017

Noroc traveled the world with a backpack and camera photographing women in 50 countries. This is not only and atlas of beauty but a treasure trove of humanity. These simple and beautiful images of everyday women may help restore your faith in at least 49% of humankind. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Points North: Stories by Howard Frank Mosher - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Points North: Stories Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250161932
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 23rd, 2018

If Vermont's Northeast Kingdom had a literary king, it was Howard Frank Mosher. His final book is a collection of linked short stories all taking place in that lovely landscape near the Canadian border. Spanning the centuries, these stories touch on universal themes like love, race, home and death but with exquisite attention to the details of his characters and their natural surroundings. We lost Howard in January 2017 but his words are very much alive . Long live the king. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - shynds's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs