shynds's blog

Share this

The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods by Robert Llewellyn - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781604697124
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Timber Press (OR) - October 4th, 2017

For readers of The Hidden Life of Trees, or simply people who love trees, an immersive journey into the life of the woods. Water, soil, animals, and every part of the tree are explored in readable scientific prose and extraordinary images. An eye-popping, mind-expanding gift. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits by Mihaela Noroc - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Atlas of Beauty: Women of the World in 500 Portraits Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399579950
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 26th, 2017

Noroc traveled the world with a backpack and camera photographing women in 50 countries. This is not only and atlas of beauty but a treasure trove of humanity. These simple and beautiful images of everyday women may help restore your faith in at least 49% of humankind. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Points North: Stories by Howard Frank Mosher - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Points North: Stories Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250161932
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 23rd, 2018

If Vermont's Northeast Kingdom had a literary king, it was Howard Frank Mosher. His final book is a collection of linked short stories all taking place in that lovely landscape near the Canadian border. Spanning the centuries, these stories touch on universal themes like love, race, home and death but with exquisite attention to the details of his characters and their natural surroundings. We lost Howard a year ago this month but his words are very much alive. Long live the king. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Good Things Happen Slowly: A Life in and Out of Jazz by Fred Hersch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Good Things Happen Slowly: A Life in and Out of Jazz Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101904343
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Crown Archetype - September 12th, 2017

Fred Hersch is one of the greatest jazz pianists of his generation. This is his story--from upper middle-class Midwestern beginnings to wild times in New York City where he ultimately forged his illustrious career. Hersch is the first openly gay, HIV positive jazz man. In the overtly masculine world of be-bop and straight-ahead jazz, his was a difficult road in coming to terms with who he was and dealing with serious health concerns. Readers and listeners of jazz will appreciate this candid and musical memoir. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Montpelier Parade by Karl Geary - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Montpelier Parade Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781936787555
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Catapult - August 22nd, 2017

Geary's first novel is brave and deeply affecting. Brave because he tells the story in the second person. (You have to get used to it but you do.) Affecting because of the superbly crafted characters. In 1980's Dublin, Sonny, an aimless, working-class teen falls for Vera, a posh, older English woman. Sonny's life at school and at home is little more than a sad pattern to be endured. Vera represents beauty and worldliness although she is utterly unknowable to him. Their slowly developing relationship is ultimately touching, heartbreaking and doomed. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - shynds's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs