sdonner@northshire.com's blog

The 37th Parallel: The Secret Truth Behind America's UFO Highway by Ben Mezrich - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The 37th Parallel: The Secret Truth Behind America's UFO Highway Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501135521
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Atria Books - September 6th, 2016

U.F.O's. Livestock mutilations. The Unexplained. These are Chuck Zukowski's obsessions. Known as The Mulder of El Paso, Zukowski's investigations have covered the Southwest and Western United States. AND he doesn't sound crazy. This is a great read for believers and skeptics alike. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


Mary Astor's Purple Diary: The Great American Sex Scandal of 1936 by Edward Sorel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Mary Astor's Purple Diary: The Great American Sex Scandal of 1936 Cover Image
Call or email to see if a used copy is available.
ISBN: 9781631490231
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Liveright - October 4th, 2016

Sorel's written portrait of Mary Astor is as delightful as his illustrations. Astor's career in silent films began as a teenager, leading eventually to her best known role in The Maltese Falcon, with her fair share of affairs and marriages in between. This isn't just a tale of the famous sex scandal, it's the story of a woman during Hollywood's Golden Age who persevered in a business dominated by men. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


World of Warcraft: The Official Cookbook by Chelsea Monroe-Cassel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
World of Warcraft: The Official Cookbook Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781608878048
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Insight Editions - October 18th, 2016

We've cooked these dished countless times in-game, now you can bring the dishes of WoW to your kitchen! Buzzard Bites ( page 29 ) ~ delicious! It's so much easier to buy ground turkey than to kill buzzards in Hellfire Peninsula while avoiding the Fel Reavers. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


Bloom County Episode XI: A New Hope by Berkeley Breathed - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Bloom County Episode XI: A New Hope Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781631406997
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: IDW Publishing - September 27th, 2016

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! 25 years is a long time without Opus, Bill the Cat and crew! THEY'RE BACK!! ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


Meet Me in Atlantis

Staff Pick Badge
Meet Me in Atlantis: Across Three Continents in Search of the Legendary Sunken City Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101983935
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - April 26th, 2016

Adams takes the reader on an amazing journey in his quest to answer the age old question: Did Atlantis truly exist? His clever interviews of experts and fanatics along with descriptions exotic locales will make even skeptics wonder if perhaps there is truth in the legend. An entertaining and compelling read. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


The Crow Girl by Erik Axl Sund - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Crow Girl: A novel Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780385349871
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Knopf - June 14th, 2016

This tightly woven thriller is an intense, nail-biting journey into the twisted mind of a killer. Fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell: This is a MUST read! ~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - sdonner@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs