pgoodreau_46580's blog

Parker Goodreau - Bookseller in Manchester

ParkerParker is a children's bookseller with an overwhelming love of fantasy, queer themes, and illustration. They recently finished their theatre degree and are excited to read something other than plays (though they haven't stopped reading those, either).

Axiom's End: A Novel (Noumena #1) by Lindsay Ellis - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Axiom's End: A Novel (Noumena #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250798138
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 10th, 2021

Axiom's End artwork by Parker GoodreauUnderachiever Cora doesn't want anything to do with the conspiracies started by a recent meteorite crash, until her whistleblower father exposes a cover-up, bringing to light her family's ties to the extraterrestrial. Unexpectedly acting as translator for an alien visitor, Cora finds herself trying to protect this mysterious being from her own government, though she can't shake the feeling her alien is hiding something. And when did he become "her" alien? An engrossing, down-to-earth take on the political and emotional consequences of first contact, exploring differences in communication, worldview, and culture. Cora's struggle for direction is deeply relatable, and the growing bond with her inscrutable companion is a fascinating study of the human capacity for connection. ~ Reviewed by Parker Goodreau


Pet by Akwaeke Emezi - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Pet Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593175446
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

"We are each other's harvest. We are each other's business. We are each other's magnitude and bond." With this Gwendolyn Brooks quote as a rallying cry, the people of Lucille got rid of the monsters and made a perfect utopian society. Or so Jam believes, until a creature crawls out of her mother's painting and claims there is a monster in their midst--and it's up to her and this terrifying angel to stop them. Something a little different for fans of dystopia and fabulism, this lyrical novel imagines a Black, queer, community-focused future that embraces the responsibility we hold for each other. ~ Reviewed by Parker Goodreau


The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol. I by Diana Wynne Jones - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol. I Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780063067035
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 18th, 2021

Even in a magical land, travel between worlds is tricky--unless you have nine lives. Cat and Christopher seem to have no magic at all, but when they meet the "nine-lifed" enchanter Chrestomanci, their hidden abilities draw them into adventures across the multiverse. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter or Madeleine L'Engle, this six-book series, collected in three volumes, follows Chrestomanci's mission to stop the misuse of magic, from stealing your sibling's powers to smuggling spell ingredients from other worlds. Each novel features protagonists exploited by those closest to them as they learn to embrace their power and stand up for themselves. ~ Reviewed by Parker Goodreau


Rick by Alex Gino - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Rick Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338048100
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 21st, 2020

In this companion to the award-winning George, Rick has never had crushes like other kids his age, making him wonder if he might be asexual. Joining his school's Rainbow Spectrum club sparks another question: why is Rick's friend bullying the club members? And why is Rick putting up with it? A compelling, informative novel about questioning yourself, building communities, and standing up to bigotry. Fans of George will be glad to see Melissa thriving from a new perspective. ~ Reviewed by Parker Goodreau


The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) by Trung Le Nguyen - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

Tíên has a crush on his best friend, but he doesn't know how to tell his Vietnamese parents, who don't speak English as well as he does, that he's gay. Through the fairy tales he and his mom read together, they find a way to connect and explore language barriers, grief, and sexuality. One of the most uplifting coming out narratives I've ever seen, with gorgeous illustrations. An absolute must-read for anyone who loves fairy tales, immigration stories, or plain-old adorable characters. ~ Reviewed by Parker Goodreau


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - pgoodreau_46580's blog