pmushaw@northshire.com's blog

Emmy & Oliver

Staff Pick Badge
Emmy & Oliver Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062330598
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - June 23rd, 2015

Oliver and Emmy were born on the same day and lived next door to each other as best friends until Oliver's dad kidnapped him when they were seven. After being missing for ten years, now Oliver has been found and everyone, including himself, has to adjust to having him back. He and Emmy make it easier for each other by having fun together and being honest, without pretending no time has passed since they last saw each other. A cute romance and friendship story with Benway's signature humor, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Illuminae

Staff Pick Badge
Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553499117
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 20th, 2015

Told via a dossier of files documenting three major galactic events, this is the story of Kady and Ezra, teenage exes whose planet was destroyed, separating them onto two different rescue ships. Kady is a hacker on the science vessel Hypatia, trying to figure out what exactly is going on, and Ezra is a shuttle pilot on the battlecarrier Alexander. Equal parts love story, war story and thought-provoking opus on corporations and humanity, this book is an expansive and unforgettable thrill ride with characters you'll root for from start to finish. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


More Happy Than Not

Staff Pick Badge
More Happy Than Not Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781616955601
Availability: Backordered
Published: Soho Teen - June 2nd, 2015

Set in the near future when a procedure allows people to have specific memories removed for their own good, Aaron is dealing with the suicide of his father and the dawning realization that he might not be straight. He has a perfect girlfriend and a loving mother, but growing up in the Bronx is a struggle and when Aaron starts developing feelings for his new best friend Thomas, he thinks about getting the procedure to make him forget that he likes boys. A beautifully strange and heartfelt novel about family, class, sexuality and self-acceptance. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


The Summer of Chasing Mermaids

Staff Pick Badge
The Summer of Chasing Mermaids Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481401272
Availability: Special Order
Published: Simon Pulse - June 2nd, 2015

My new favorite Ockler novel, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids centers on Elyse d'Abreau's personal tragedy: the loss of her voice— and her promising singing career— in a boating accident. The sea is a part of who Elyse is, and she feels like it has betrayed her; the same goes for her twin sister, Natalie. The mystery surrounding Elyse and Natalie's rift will keep readers intrigued until the very end, but the most gripping aspect of this novel is the lyrical, poetic writing that raises the bar for Ockler's future work and YA in general. An important story about silenced voices finding a way to make themselves heard. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


A Fine Dessert

Staff Pick Badge
A Fine Dessert: Four Centuries, Four Families, One Delicious Treat Cover Image
By Emily Jenkins, Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780375868320
Availability: Backordered
Published: Schwartz & Wade - January 27th, 2015

Families throughout four centuries prepare the same dessert together—blackberry fool—and the kids just love licking the bowl clean! With beautiful and well-researched illustrations, A Fine Dessert explores the family dynamics and social progress of the past 400 years, through the lens of the changing ways families have made this delicious dessert. Includes a recipe for blackberry fool! ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Staff Pick Badge
Uprooted Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780804179034
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Del Rey Books - May 19th, 2015

Her whole life, Agnieszka has expected her best friend Kasia to be the girl chosen by the ancient wizard in the tower. She always thought he would take her away and, like all the other girls, Kasia would not return once her ten years was up. Agnieszka was wrong: the Dragon chose her instead. When she goes to live in his tower, she discovers her natural affinity for magic and witnesses firsthand the evil powers of the Wood, which she must help the Dragon stop before it destroys the kingdom. Readers will fall in love with not only Agnieszka, but the Dragon and Kasia too, and find themselves swept up in the natural magic of the Wood. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - pmushaw@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs