pmushaw@northshire.com's blog

The Good Sister

Staff Pick Badge
The Good Sister: A Novel Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781250047748
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - December 8th, 2015

Three sisters with a complicated (read: vindictive, loving, volatile) relationship deal with tragedy—for Sarah, it's the events leading up to her death; for Asha, it's Sarah's death; and for Rachel, it's her own guilt. A deeply-felt novel about family and healing with elements of mystery and magical realism, this book is perfect for fans of We Were Liars. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Staff Pick Badge
Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, Book 3) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545424974
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scholastic Press - December 29th, 2015

The path toward finding Glendower becomes significantly more magical and twisty in this third installment of the Raven Cycle. It's difficult to pick a favorite aspect of this series, because every single one is so well-crafted. The characters continue to jump off the pages, developing into the people they will be when all is said and done; the writing continues to use the kind of bold-yet-mesmerizing figurative language that demands to be savored; the plot continues to unfold subtly, turning grand mythologies into an intricate story that weaves through both dark and light. There are countless reasons I have read The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves several times (and have several copies), and there is no question that Blue Lily, Lily Blue will reach the same fate. As my most anticipated book of 2014, this one did not disappoint—but then, does Stiefvater ever? ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


The Darkest Part of the Forest

Staff Pick Badge
The Darkest Part of the Forest Cover Image
$12.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780316213080
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2016

An unbelievably imaginative take on faerie folklore, Holly Black's latest is just more proof of her authorial superpowers. Hazel and Ben live in Fairfold, a town where humans live knowing that faeries exist in their own back yard — the forest, where a horned boy in a glass casket has rested for as long as anyone can remember. When the casket is broken and the boy is released, Hazel learns something about herself that changes everything and leaves the fate of the town in her hands. With a strong yet relatable heroine and complex side characters, this romantic, moss-covered journey into a world of magic and deceit will have readers enthralled from beginning to flawless end. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


I Was Here

Staff Pick Badge
I Was Here Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147514035
Availability: Backordered
Published: Speak - January 26th, 2016

Cody and her best friend Meg were so close growing up that they practically shared parents — Meg's parents filling in for Cody's "too young to be called Mom" mother when she couldn't be bothered. When Meg commits suicide, leaving her family and friends an email to let them know, everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend seems wrong. On her mission to figure out what really happened, she meets some of the new people in Meg's life, including bad-news musician Ben McCallister. Forman is up to her old tricks again in this heart-wrenching story of friendship, family and discovery: bring tissues, of course. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


When We Collided

Staff Pick Badge
When We Collided Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781619638457
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - April 5th, 2016

Following two teens struggling with different hardships, this is a searing story of grief, regret, mental illness and, most importantly, all different kinds of love. Vivi is an artist, wild and magnetic, running from her mysterious, looming past; Jonah is the third of six children coping with the death of their father while their mother closes herself off from the world. With two distinct voices and dynamic, unforgettable characters, When We Collided is more than a summer romance: it's an exploration of how the right friendship at the right time can impact our lives in real and necessary ways. If Emery Lord isn't on your radar yet, this is the novel that will put her there. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Illusions of Fate

Staff Pick Badge
Illusions of Fate Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062135902
Availability: Special Order
Published: HarperTeen - September 8th, 2015

White brings her trademark lighthearted comedy to a dark fantasy about Jessamin, who moved from her home country, Melei, to the privileged country of Albion, in order to study science. When she meets Finn, she discovers that Albion's nobility has a secret: magic. Complete with a powerful villain and a sweet, whirlwind romance, Illusions of Fate is nonstop entertainment. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - pmushaw@northshire.com's blog