pmushaw@northshire.com's blog

Girls On Fire

Staff Pick Badge
Girls on Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062415486
Availability: Special Order
Published: Harper - May 17th, 2016

Two unrelated events begin the spiral of Hannah Dexter's life: the star basketball player commits suicide, and Lacey Champlain transforms unremarkable Hannah into "Dex," a girl of the Docs-wearing, Cobain-worshipping generation. Together Lacey and her protégée are invincible and terrible; Dex is more than Hannah ever was. They're united against the common foes of mundanity and mean girls, unconcerned with vanquishing the devils inside themselves—even as their conservative town vilifies them. Wasserman's adult debut is a scorchingly honest look at the dark side of unshakable female friendship, set on the backdrop of the early '90s satanic panic. This novel is so brilliant you'll want to look away, but you won't be able to. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Things We Know by Heart

Staff Pick Badge
Things We Know by Heart Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062299444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - June 21st, 2016

When her boyfriend, Trent, dies in a car accident and his organs are donated, Quinn spends the next year counting the days and meeting the recipients— all except the boy who got his heart. Colton has asked to be anonymous, so when Quinn finds him anyway, she must keep her identity a secret or risk losing him, and Trent's heart, forever. Another thoughtful summer romance from one of my favorite contemporary YA authors, ideal for fans of Sarah Dessen. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062348685
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 7th, 2016

​A smart, adorable read reminiscent of Anna and the French Kiss, Anatomy of a Misfit and Two Boys Kissing, this novel follows Simon, a closeted gay teen who has been emailing another boy from his school who he just might be falling in love with. The only problem is that they each have no idea who the other is. When someone at school discovers the emails and blackmails Simon, he struggles with whether or not to "come out." A keen social critic and observer of high school life, Simon is a narrator that no reader will soon forget, and his story a great pick-me-up for those days when you just need something good to happen. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Saint Anything

Staff Pick Badge
Saint Anything Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147516039
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - May 31st, 2016

Sydney is the "good kid," the one who has lived in her brother's shadow her whole life — idolized him until he got involved with drugs and alcohol and was arrested for paralyzing a boy while drunk driving. Now Sydney lives with the guilt of what her brother did, and with the short leash her parents have kept her on since. Dessen's most serious novel to date, Saint Anything will attract new readers and satisfy old fans with its thought-provoking premise, meaningful friendships, and lighthearted romance. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


I'll Meet You There

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Meet You There Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250080073
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - June 28th, 2016

Skylar Evans wants nothing more than to get out of her black hole of a town, where no one gets to live their dreams — if they even have dreams. But when local playboy Josh comes back from Afghanistan with one leg and a different personality, Sky's chemistry with him is undeniable and terrifying: Is this Creek View's way of getting its claws into her? Can she really deal with Josh's issues on top of her own? Or could this be exactly what she needs? This book is both a wonderful, slow-burning romance and a realistic look at social issues like class and post-war life. Demetrios has somehow managed to evoke both the character dynamics of Stephanie Perkins and the emotional grit of Katie McGarry — a combination that any romance fan will adore. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


The Devil You Know

Staff Pick Badge
The Devil You Know Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781681190228
Availability: Special Order
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - June 28th, 2016

​Part summer romance, part murder mystery/thriller, you won't be able to put this book down. The captivating prose and well-developed characters make this atmospheric tale of love, family and spontaneity one you will finish in one sitting. ~ Reviewed by Paige Mushaw


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - pmushaw@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs