Nicole Ihasz's blog

The Five Year Lie: A Domestic Thriller by Sarina Bowen - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Five Year Lie: A Domestic Thriller By Sarina Bowen Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063280601
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper Paperbacks - May 7th, 2024

One morning, Ariel gets a cryptic text from Drew, the love of her life...only problem is...he's dead. With the help of a work colleague Ariel begins to uncover the truth behind why Drew disappeared five years ago and what really happened to him. A fast-paced domestic thriller about love, betrayal, and redemption. Perfect for fans of The Last Thing He Told Me. ~ Reviewed by Nicole Ihasz


The Half Moon: A Novel by Mary Beth Keane - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Half Moon: A Novel By Mary Beth Keane Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982172619
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scribner - April 2nd, 2024

In an intimate and affecting exploration of marriage, Mary Beth Keane's The Half Moon follows the lives of a midlife couple who face the harsh realities of failed dreams. Malcolm and Jess encounter many hardships that threaten their marriage: a struggling business, the heartache of infertility, financial strain, communication breakdowns, and betrayals. Keane masterfully navigates the complexities of love, forgiveness, and redemption as Malcolm and Jess confront the daunting question: Can they forge a renewed connection and chart a new course together, or are they destined to part ways? ~ Reviewed by Nicole Ihasz


The Morningside: A Novel by Téa Obreht - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Morningside: A Novel By Téa Obreht  Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781984855503
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House - March 19th, 2024

Set in the near future, The Morningside by Téa Obreht is a moving story about friendship, family, parental protection, and the irresistible desire to understand one's heritage. Silvia and her mother move to a new city to live with Silvia’s aunt Ena in a once-grand but now decaying apartment complex called The Morningside. Silvia's yearning to understand her family's history clashes with her mother's reticence. Against her mother's wishes, Ena tells Silvia stories about the past, accompanied by old photographs and cultural folklore. Captivated by these tales, Silvia becomes convinced that something magical surrounds a mysterious tenant in the building, Bezi Duras (a glamorous woman who lives in the penthouse alone with three massive hounds she only walks at night), and she sets off on an adventure to uncover the truth. ~ Reviewed by Nicole Ihasz


James: A Novel by Percival Everett - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
James: A Novel By Percival Everett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550369
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Doubleday - March 19th, 2024

James by Percival Everett is a brilliant and engaging reimagining of Twain's "Huck Finn," told from the perspective of the character Jim. As Jim and Huck embark on a captivating adventure on the Mississippi, the novel confronts readers with the harsh truths of history. The true essence of the story lies in the poignant portrayal of Jim and his resolve to survive the brutal realities of slavery in order to save his family. ~ Reviewed by Nicole Ihasz


Piglet: A Novel by Lottie Hazell - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Piglet: A Novel By Lottie Hazell Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250289841
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - February 27th, 2024

Piglet, by Lottie Hazell, is a propulsive debut novel that confronts what can happen when someone prioritizes the facade of perfection over their own happiness. Piglet has a seemingly perfect existence: a good career, a picturesque home in Oxford, and the companionship of a handsome and wealthy fiancé, Kit. However, her world is shattered when Kit reveals a long-hidden secret just days before their wedding. As Piglet confronts betrayal and pressures (from family, friends, and society), she is forced to make a crucial decision: perpetuate the lie or summon the courage to pursue her own happiness, free from external expectations. ~ Reviewed by Nicole Ihasz


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Nicole Ihasz's blog