ntiktinsky_39014's blog

Nadja Tiktinsky - Bookseller in Manchester

Children's books are what I like best and read most, but I'll throw the occasional adult novel into the mix! I have an MFA in Children's Literature and teach high school English and creative writing in addition to working as a Northshire bookseller.

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781442472433
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 28th, 2017

I know, I know, I'm very late to the game reading this! But the best compliment I can give it is that I, as a non-sci-fi, non-YA reader, simply could not resist reading this sci-fi YA novel. It really is that good. I particularly enjoyed the structure, which is a patchworked third-person perspective that dips into the consciousness of many different characters, including many minor ones we never hear from again. It gives a satisfying sense that you're getting to know the world itself as a character rather than just the characters themselves. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Northernmost: A novel by Peter Geye - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Northernmost: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525655756
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - August 18th, 2020

A cross-generational, dual-POV novel. In 1897, a Norwegian man lost for weeks in the Arctic returns home on the day of his own funeral. In 2017, his great-great-granddaughter travels from Minnesota to Norway to cope with the dissolution of her marriage. This book intersects physical and emotional loss in a really interesting way. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Letters from Cuba by Ruth Behar - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Letters from Cuba Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516477
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

Historical fiction set in late 1930s Cuba, where Esther and her father have immigrated to escape the growing prejudice against Jewish people in Poland. They're saving up money to bring over Esther's mother, Baba, and younger siblings by selling the dresses that Ruth designs and sews. Based on Behar's family history, this novel-in-letters takes a wide view of this time in Cuban history, examining the experiences of Chinese and Black Cubans in Esther's neighborhood as well as the growing population of Cuban Jews. Great if you are looking for a Jewish-perspective WWII story that is empowering rather than a (unfortunately much more commonplace) helpless Jewish victim narrative. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The List of Things That Will Not Change Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938096
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - April 7th, 2020

Stead has always been a master of creating incredibly complex, ultra-realistic characters with layered stories, but she's outdone herself with this one. Bea simply leaps off the page. I adore her, and I adore this book! There's something so delightfully fun about the perspective of a "bad kid" protagonist. Do not read in public unless you want to embarrass yourself by laughing out loud every other page. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Before the Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Next-level good. You will cry the whole way through this book, which is no surprise given that that's Jaqueline Woodson's specialty. This is a sports novel in verse, perfect for fans of Kwame Alexander's The Crossover, but it's technically post-sports: it follows ZJ, whose pro-football-player dad is starting to act strangely: forgetting things, having migraines, and getting so shaky he can no longer play. Set in the early 2000s, this book looks at the dark side of football, examining one man's battle with CTE and its effect on his tight-knit family. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ntiktinsky_39014's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs