ntiktinsky_39014's blog

Nadja Tiktinsky - Bookseller in Manchester

Children's books are what I like best and read most, but I'll throw the occasional adult novel into the mix! I have an MFA in Children's Literature and teach high school English and creative writing in addition to working as a Northshire bookseller.

The Great Alone: A Novel by Kristin Hannah - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Great Alone: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250229533
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 24th, 2019

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller, Delia Owens, and Peter Geye, who will understand what I mean when I say that descriptive craft, not plot mechanics, make a book worth reading. There's violence, romance, and melodrama here, for those who like that type of thing, but the real star is the exquisitely rendered corner of the Alaskan wilderness that forms the setting. Hannah's carefully chosen language makes the intricacy of the wilds tangible, yet somehow retains a wonderful feeling of mystery. Read it for the fascinating depiction of life in the bush, and try not to let the plot dull your senses too much. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Bea Is for Blended by Lindsey Stoddard - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Bea Is for Blended Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062878168
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 4th, 2021

I've finally figured out just why it is that I like Lindsey Stoddard so much - that is, in addition to her phenomenal craft and ability to slowly inflate unlikeable characters into fully-rounded, complex people, while still maintaining and honoring that negative first impression. It's that, in all of her books, she taps into one of the great traditions of children's literature: gracious recognition of the interconnectivity between books. So many of the all-time greats - Nesbit, Eager, Birdsall - use what their characters read as a way to define who they are. By continuing this tradition, Stoddard pays homage to the authors she's built off of, and, more importantly, offers their work as gifts to her readers. Add that to the biting feminist commentary in this book, as well as the blueprint it lays out for creating small-scale social change, and you've got the perfect blend of tradition and revolution. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


The Year I Flew Away by Marie Arnold - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Year I Flew Away Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358272755
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Versify - February 2nd, 2021

Haitian magical realism set in modern-day Brooklyn. Ten year-old Gabrielle immigrates to Brooklyn from Haiti to live with her aunt and uncle, with the promise that her parents will join her when they can afford it. After experiencing cruelty at the hands of her new classmates, she's desperate to find a way to be accepted in America. So, when a witch gives her a mango sliced into three pieces and tells her to make a wish for every piece she eats, Gabrielle doesn't hesitate. She wishes away her accent, her appearance - and a few things she hadn't bargained for. Witches always take payment, after all. I loved this book's playful energy and its undercurrent of serious commentary on the immigrant experience in America and the value of individualized identity. It would make a great choice for a classroom or book club read. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


365 Days to Alaska by Cathy Carr - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
365 Days to Alaska Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419743801
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Amulet Books - January 19th, 2021

In the current wave of middle-grade outdoor adventure books, this novel stands out in a big way. It flips the script on the genre by starting its protagonist, Rigel, off in a wilderness-survival setting (her family lives in the Alaskan bush with no power or running water) and then displacing her to the world of suburbia when her parents split up and she's forced to move to Connecticut. To Rigel, who's completely at home in the wilderness, suburban life is fraught with danger - racing cars, escalators, and, most treacherously, strangers and their opinions. This book puts social survival on the level of intensity and immediacy usually reserved for physical survival, making the reader reexamine their own definition of civilization. Truly outstanding, especially considering that this is a debut. I'm already looking forward to reading whatever Carr publishes next. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


The Trouble with Good Ideas by Amanda Panitch - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Trouble with Good Ideas Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250245106
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 5th, 2021

Magical realism rooted in Yiddish mythology with an eye to contemporary antisemitism. Twelve-year-old Leah's Zaide (grandfather) is showing signs of Alzheimer's, and her parents are thinking of sending him to an assisted-living facility. Leah can't imagine Zaide being trapped in "hospital jail" instead of living right down the street from her, so she makes a golem - a human figure made of clay, who must do her bidding - to take care of Zaide. What she doesn't account for is that a golem always turns against its creator. Absolutely fantastic. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ntiktinsky_39014's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs