mcornwell@northshire.com's blog

The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet by Natasha Farrant - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545940313
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicken House - October 25th, 2016

A quirky, fun retelling of the familiar “Pride and Prejudice” story from one of the least likeable Bennet sisters! ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Whatever Cure - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Whatever Cure Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250071699
Availability: Backordered
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 6th, 2016

Continuing in the tradition of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Missy has taken over running the Upside-Down House and works her magic on children's worst behaviors with clever potions and inventive gadgets. A sweet take on a classic story that will delight children and parents alike. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark Cover Image
By Debbie Levy, Elizabeth Baddeley (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481465595
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 20th, 2016

A captivating story of Ginsburg's climb to the Supreme Court. I love her dissents showing her boldness and grit that started when she was a girl. A brilliant biography with dynamic illustrations. Go RBG! ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


First Snow by Bomi Park - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
First Snow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452154725
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Chronicle Books - September 6th, 2016

This book perfectly captures the beauty and possibilities of the first snowfall. The beautiful black and white nighttime illustrations are magical and full of imagination


Trailblazers: 33 Women in Science Who Changed the World - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Trailblazers: 33 Women in Science Who Changed the World Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780399553967
Availability: Special Order
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2016

Did you know that women scientists developed Kevlar, GPS and windshield wipers? These awe-inspiring stories will spark budding scientists to recognize the accomplishments of smart, fiery and unconventional women in all scientific fields. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


The Scourge

Staff Pick Badge
The Scourge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545682459
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - August 30th, 2016

Ani is taken from her river home, tested for a mysterious illness called the Scourge and thrown into the Colony- a final resting place for the infected. But Ani realizes the Colony is a form of government control trying to destroy the River People. Full of political intrigue, enduring friendships and fighting classes. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - mcornwell@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs