mcornwell@northshire.com's blog

The Someday Birds by Sally J. Pla - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Someday Birds Cover Image
By Sally J. Pla, Julie McLaughlin (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062445766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 24th, 2017

I loved every moment of reading about hand washing, chicken nugget eating, bird obsessed Charlie, his family and their zany cross country road trip in search of "someday birds" after their father's accident in Afghanistan. A staggeringly honest read, perfect for fans of Counting by 7s and Wonder. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


By Your Side by Kasie West - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
By Your Side Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062455864
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperTeen - January 31st, 2017

Autumn finds herself locked in a library with Dax- the school's resident troublemaker. In true West fashion sparks fly, truths are uncovered and new friendships are forged. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Train I Ride by Paul Mosier - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Train I Ride Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062455734
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 24th, 2017

Rydr is traveling cross country on a train ride to a scary, uncertain future after her grandmother passes away. Her three days on the train are full of friendships, growth and self acceptance. A beautiful, deeply moving book that will stay with you. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Scar Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338053845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - January 3rd, 2017

A tale of misfits and outcasts is forced to live on an island prison. When a freak accident occurs the boys must decide what to do, but choosing freedom isn't always what its cracked up to be. I devoured this book in one sitting! Very reminiscent of "Treasure Island", "Lord of the Flies" and "The Outsiders" ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Dead Girls Society Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553508024
Availability: Special Order
Published: Delacorte Press - November 8th, 2016

A wonderfully engaging mystery perfect for fans of "Panic" and "Pretty Little Liars". A group of girls receives mysterious invites to a Society of dares, which challenges their worst fears. This is a page turning thriller with a completely unexpected twist! ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


The Red Abbey Chronicles: Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Maresi (The Red Abbey Chronicles) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781419722691
Availability: Backordered
Published: Amulet Books - January 3rd, 2017

Welcome to the Red Abbey- a sanctuary built by powerful sisters for girls escaping the world of men. Embued with myth, wonder and told with a compelling ferocity- this is perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin or His Fair Assassin Trilogy. ~ Reviewed by Martha Cornwell


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - mcornwell@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs