mmccoola@northshire.com's blog

Little Pear Tree

Staff Pick Badge
Little Pear Tree Cover Image
By Rachel Williams, Jenny Bowers (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780763671266
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Big Picture Press - April 22nd, 2014

Observe seasonal changes as a pear tree buds, blooms, and bears fruit. Colorful, graphic illustrations pop from each page and conceal flaps to lift! Can you spot the bugs and seeds? A beautiful celebration of the seasons! ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


Pretty Monsters

Staff Pick Badge
Pretty Monsters Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142416723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - June 10th, 2010

A master of the short story, Kelly Link ends each of her pieces with just enough of a conclusion to leave you begging for more. Spooky, thrilling, even magical, each story revolves around a unique concept that will haunt your dreams. ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


The Witch's Boy

Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Boy Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781616205485
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2015

Open this book and let it sing to you of a witch, a queen, a bandit, of the wrong boy and great magic. Let Kelly Barnhill's magnificent words pull you into a place where fairytales mix with strange magic. Hers is a beautifully spun tale of darkness, adventure, and a magic like no other. The characters and images of this magical story will haunt your dreams. ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


Jackaby

Staff Pick Badge
Jackaby Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781616205461
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 25th, 2015

When Abigail arrives in New England, she takes a job with the eccentric Jackaby, a Holmesian detective who can see otherworldly creatures. Jackaby's world is an adventure for Abigail, but will she survive their bloody investigation? A roaring mystery that's blood-chilling and humorous, with a touch of the fantastic. A perfect fit for fans of Sherlock and Enola Holmes! ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


In Real Life

Staff Pick Badge
In Real Life Cover Image
By Cory Doctorow, Jen Wang (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781596436589
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: First Second - October 14th, 2014

When Anda begins playing Coarsegold, an online role-playing game, she enjoys taking on missions for money. But an interaction with a young Chinese player makes her realize the real-world implications of her online fantasy world. In Real Life is a winning combination of thought-provoking story and phenomenal art. As soon as I finished, I began rereading! ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


The Color Book

Staff Pick Badge
The Color Book Cover Image
By Sophie Benini Pietromarchi (Illustrator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9789383145010
Availability: Special Order
Published: Tara Books - April 15th, 2014

A fine pairing of color as expression and color theory. I highly recommend this book to anyone (child or adult) who wants to delve into the world of art. You'll find suggestions for interesting art projects, poetry, memories, questions, and a section on color theory I'd recommend to my college art students! ~ Reviewed by Marika McCoola


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - mmccoola@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs