mgallup_44883's blog

The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Glass Castle: A Memoir By Jeannette Walls Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780743247542
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scribner - January 17th, 2006

The Glass Castle tells the true story of a deeply dysfunctional family and the trials and tribulations that each of the four children endured at the hands of their parents. This is a memoir about resilience, forgiveness, love, and overcoming adversity when all odds are against you. Jeannette recalls the good, the bad, the dangerous, the ugly, and the occasionally wholesome moments she and her family shared in a way that will make you simultaneously heartstruck and hopeful- A stunning read. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


All's Well: A Novel by Mona Awad - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
All's Well: A Novel By Mona Awad Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982169664
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - August 3rd, 2021

This book was absolutely not what I expected, but in the best way possible- in this wildly unsettling novel we follow a woman suffering from chronic pain as she loses everything she has to this invisible illness. Awad does an incredible job of depicting the infuriating experience of being dismissed and gaslit by medical professionals while also creating an atmosphere of feverish unease as the story descends into chaos. Fans of Catherine House and Bunny are sure to love this dreamy book. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Bunny: A Novel by Mona Awad - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Bunny: A Novel By Mona Awad Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525559757
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Books - June 9th, 2020

This book is a total fever dream in the best way possible- it’s Alice in Wonderland meets Mean Girls meets The Craft and it works so well. It will leave you confused, claustrophobic and wondering, “what the heck just happened???”. This one is for readers who are looking for something bizarre and totally original- if that’s you, you won’t be disappointed. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Malibu Rising: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Malibu Rising: A Novel By Taylor Jenkins Reid Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524798659
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Ballantine Books - June 1st, 2021

TJR never fails to write a stunning, character driven story. Told from a multigenerational perspective, we get a strong look at the early days of the Riva family as well as the present day happenings of Nina Riva and her siblings as they prepare for their annual end of Summer party. Reid’s biggest strength lies in her ability to combine the often contradicting concepts of fame and humility, and the result are characters that are so intrinsically multifaceted you can’t help but root for all of them. Action-packed and brutally human, this is one you won’t want to miss ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


The Push: A Novel by Ashley Audrain - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Push: A Novel By Ashley Audrain Cover Image
$26.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781984881663
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - January 5th, 2021

A deeply unsettling psychological drama about a woman facing everything she feared about motherhood. Brilliantly paced, Audrain builds a sense of impending doom and dread until you’re engulfed in a full blown nightmare wondering how you got there. Audrain has created an equally heartbreaking and terrifying story that will keep you thinking long after the last page.


Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Honey Girl By Morgan Rogers Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778311027
Availability: Special Order
Published: Park Row - February 23rd, 2021

A perfect debut for any 20-something who feels lost in the world, this story touches on important issues including race, mental health, and the pressure to live up to high expectations from parental figures and society in general. With amazing lgbtq+ representation and an adorably soft romance, Rogers manages to create a beautifully relatable story about family, friendship, and learning self-care. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - mgallup_44883's blog