mgallup_44883's blog

Loveless by Alice Oseman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Loveless By Alice Oseman Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338751932
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scholastic Press - March 1st, 2022

Loveless has my entire heart! No one does YA quite like Alice Oseman. It’s hard to top her diverse casts of characters, relatability, and emphasis on inclusivity in all her books. Loveless follows Georgia, a young student starting university. Georgia has never been in love, had a crush, or even kissed another person. She loves romance novels, but is constantly wondering: “when will my own love story begin?” What follows is a stunning exploration of love and joy in all its forms, as Georgia comes to slowly discover and accept her identity with the help of her best friends. I adored this novel! ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Lapvona: A Novel by Ottessa Moshfegh - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lapvona: A Novel By Ottessa Moshfegh Cover Image
$27.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780593300268
Published: Penguin Press - June 21st, 2022

Lapvona is a book unlike any other I’ve ever read, while still somehow remaining entirely Moshfeghian. We’re immediately catapulted into the utterly depraved and meticulously crafted medieval town of Lapvona: a town filled with a myriad of unhinged characters who we follow over the next 300 pages, through the lens of our omniscient narrator. Not for the faint of heart, Moshfegh’s newest novel keeps her usual blunt writing style juxtaposed with grotesque and gag-worthy scenes, diving into the knitty-gritty intricacies of our absurd cast. While a massive departure from her typical first-person narrative and contemporary setting, this newest book is sure to please fans looking for that pitch-black humor and depravity we’ve come to expect from her. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


PlantYou: 140+ Ridiculously Easy, Amazingly Delicious Plant-Based Oil-Free Recipes by Carleigh Bodrug - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
PlantYou: 140+ Ridiculously Easy, Amazingly Delicious Plant-Based Oil-Free Recipes By Carleigh Bodrug, Dr. Will Bulsiewicz, MD (Foreword by) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780306923043
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Hachette Go - February 15th, 2022

A stunning cookbook that fully celebrates a plant-based, oil-free diet. PlantYou would be a wonderful addition to any novice cook or food lover’s kitchen with easy, vibrant, and delectable recipes for everyone. Bodrug even provides a grocery list of the most important ingredients that will be used in her recipes! I’d highly recommend it to anyone looking to incorporate more plant-based foods into their diet. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel by Akwaeke Emezi - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982188702
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Atria Books - May 24th, 2022

This was a vividly written tale of love and loss from one of contemporary fiction’s newest leading voices. Our story follows Feyi: a woman trying to find herself again after losing the love of her life in a tragic accident. After an impromptu hookup with a man she meets at a party, a series of unexpected and challenging events take place as Feyi rediscovers what it means to live, love, and hope in an often cruel and unjust world. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Acts of Service: A Novel by Lillian Fishman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Acts of Service: A Novel By Lillian Fishman Cover Image
$27.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780593243763
Published: Hogarth - May 3rd, 2022

Acts of Service is a novel that consists of layers upon layers and brings up uncomfortable questions about morality and desire. Eve is a young lesbian who finds solace in her queerness and sexuality. After posting a nude photo of herself online, she finds herself entangled within the complicated and often disturbing sexual dynamics of Olivia and Nathan. Fishman takes her readers on a journey like no other with her razor-sharp prose and multidimensional characters who will both infuriate and fascinate; the story is mostly unraveled through Eve’s complex and intellectually stimulating internal dialogue as she struggles with a familiar question: what if what we should want and do want, don’t add up? This is the perfect new release for readers of Sally Rooney and Ottessa Moshfegh- I loved it. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Sweet Bean Paste: The International Bestseller by Durian Sukegawa - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sweet Bean Paste: The International Bestseller By Durian Sukegawa, Alison Watts (Translated by) Cover Image
By Durian Sukegawa, Alison Watts (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781786071958
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Oneworld Publications - November 14th, 2017

A sugarsweet little novel packed with delicious imagery and refreshing insights. Sweet Bean Paste is a gentle fable about friendship, and a commentary on capitalist culture and false ideals about what constitutes a meaningful and satisfying life. Sukegawa raises the questions: what does it mean to lead a valuable life? How does our individual usefulness play into that value? What results is a deeply cathartic and inspiriting tale of redemption, as well as a celebration of the natural world. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - mgallup_44883's blog