lmoore@northshire.com's blog | Northshire Bookstore

lmoore@northshire.com's blog

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735220683
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - May 9th, 2017

Eleanor has a very planned life, built to avoid social interactions, best avoided since other people don't seem to understand her perfectly logical observations and comments.
Weekdays are office predictability, weekends are pizza, vodka, a book. Every Wednesday is Mummy's phone call, which, though painful, must be answered.
Her carefully planned life is derailed when an elderly gentleman falls on the sidewalk in front of her. Eleanor and Raymond, the awkward IT guy from her office, reach out together to help him and the three become odd friends, breaking Eleanor out of her habit of isolation. Satisfyingly quirky and complex, this is a debut novel you will want to read in one sitting. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


The Shadow Thieves by Anne Ursu - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Shadow Thieves (The Cronus Chronicles #1) Cover Image
By Anne Ursu, Eric Fortune (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416905882
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 24th, 2007

Charlotte Mielswetzski, grumpy, sarcastic, your average 5th grader, is being stalked by agents of Hades. Of course, she doesn't know they are agents of Hades, they're just yellow-eyed men in tuxedos. Just like she doesn't know her cousin, Zee, is the reason kids are getting sick. Just like she doesn't know that the very cute kitten she wants to adopt is actually - but I don't want to spoil it! Awesome, funny, crazy greek myth adventure! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School #1) Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780316381307
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: JY - July 21st, 2015

Fans of Smile and Roller Girl will love this graphic novel - great story and great art! Penelope is the new girl at school and right away things start off rocky...she pushes a boy over in the hall, when he was just trying to help her! She keeps trying to say sorry, but it's just too awkward - will she have to spend the rest of the school year hiding like a ninja whenever she sees him?! And now the Art Club, the only place she has friends, is in danger. The principle says they need to "contribute to school community" if they want to have a club next year! Can they save Art Club? Maybe with the help of their enemies, the Science Club, and that boy... if they can face the awkwardness of asking! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Orphan Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062443410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 30th, 2017

An island of just kids, with cabins and kitchen and library, always 9 kids - but why?
Every year a boat arrives, bringing a new small child, taking away a big one, and that's just how it's been. Nobody remembers where they came from, why they were sent, or where they go... Jenny is Elder now, and next year she must climb into the boat, but she doesn't want to leave, the Island is home, it protects them... would it be so wrong to stay?
Part My Side of the Mountain, part Maze Runner, but really an interesting original adventure on its own - a gripping read. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pretty by Justin Sayre - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Pretty Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780448484174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - July 4th, 2017

Middle school has its ups and downs, but for Sophie it's a haven, a safe place, the best 8 hours of her day. Home means peaking in around the front door, running upstairs if mom is there with a drink in her hand - though sometimes it's a good night of reading Vogue together or watching run-way shows. But the bad nights happen more often now, so when Mom leaves for Paris to write a fashion piece, Sophie is relieved. Maybe she can be a normal kid, and have friends visit and go to the movies... but the secret looms large and not talking about isn't making it go away.
Justin Sayre gave Sophie such a strong voice and she spoke into my heart - a great story of coming of age in modern NYC.


The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Upside of Unrequited Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062348708
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 11th, 2017

Twins hit the milestones of childhood together...losing teeth, double digits... Molly thought relationships would be the same, but at 17, her sister has had summer flings and makeouts, and Molly has had 24 unrequited crushes (25 counting Lin-Manuel Maranda, but he's special).
Molly feels like she's falling behind, especially when Cassie announces she has a girlfriend and their moms' announce they're finally having the wedding the law never allowed. Molly determines to stop playing safe with her heart and make a move... but on who?
This is not just another love story but a story of becoming yourself, of sisters and family, first jobs and crush #26... ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - lmoore@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs