lmoore@northshire.com's blog

Bulldozer Helps Out by Candace Fleming - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Bulldozer Helps Out (The Bulldozer Books) Cover Image
By Candace Fleming, Eric Rohmann (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481458948
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - May 16th, 2017

Bulldozer's friends are working hard on the construction site - they each have a big job, except Bulldozer. When Bulldozers asked if they need help, Crane sends him to clear and flatten a hill on the site. Bulldozer is SO EXCITED HE CHAAARGES UP IT - then stops. What has he found? A little family of kittens! So sweet, this book heart that you don't expect from a construction book. I love it! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Princess Cora and the Crocodile by Laura Amy Schlitz - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Princess Cora and the Crocodile Cover Image
By Laura Amy Schlitz, Brian Floca (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763648220
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 28th, 2017

Being a princess sounds fun, but Cora spends all her time prepping to be queen and that is a lot of work. She does sums to make her brain sharp, jumps rope to keep her legs strong, and takes 3 baths a day! Cora decides she needs a dog to make her happy and she writes her Fairy Godmother for help - next morning she gets a box with a Crocodile inside!
Many wonderful shenanigans follow as the Crocodile, dressed up as Cora, spends the day doing the princesses chores: doing sums and jumping rope and chewing some royal rear end along the way! Having Floca's fun illustrations on every single page really make this book worth reading over and over! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062382801
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 27th, 2017

Grand Tour adventure with a dash of alchemy!
Judgments of high society have driven Monty to a mental edge and his "antics" have driven his parents to send him to Europe for cultural polishing. Monty prefers cards, wine, and pretty faces, girls or boys - anything to forget his family and his unrequited love for Percy, boyhood friend and fellow traveler. If Monty dares lay his cards on the table, this trip could be a secret whirlwind romance, even with his sister along. But crossing the Continent is perilous and not just for your heart. Highwaymen, alchemy and witty repartee combin in this amazing swashbuckling love story! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Midnight at the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Midnight at the Electric Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - June 13th, 2017

Adri studied hard, focused on her future, ignoring past and present, and she's been selected, she's going to Mars. Now her present is waiting for launch, the past embodied by her NASA appointed host, 107yr old somehow relative. When Adri finds a diary dated 1934, and letters postmarked 1919, the past becomes her focus. Who were the writers? And how do they connect to Adri's past, present and future?
Fall into this story of family, longing, and love - it's a trip to remember. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062215918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 9th, 2017

Cool Papa was a Bluesman and Clayton was his biggest fan, his best student and his only grandson. Now Cool Papa is playing in a heavenly band and Clayton's sadness is wailing inside him like a saxophone. Everyday since has been trouble - trouble in school, trouble at home - he just has to get away. With only the blues and his harmonica for company, Clayton takes to the subways of NYC. Williams-Garcia brings us another powerful story of family love and growing up - wonderful! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Newsprints by Ru Xu - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
NewsPrints Cover Image
By Ru Xu, Ru Xu (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545803120
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Graphix - January 31st, 2017

Fans of Amulet series and Nameless City will love this new graphic novel!
Blue wanted normal day selling newspapers, but now she's running from rival gang of Newsboys, climbing up a fire escape and falling through a window into an inventors laboratory!
Who is this mysterious inventory? Do his inventions have anything to do with the war that's in all the newspaper headlines? You'll have to read this great graphic novel to find out! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - lmoore@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs