lmoore@northshire.com's blog

Share this

Until I Find Julian by Patricia Reilly Giff - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Until I Find Julian Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780385744850
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Yearling Books - September 13th, 2016

What would you do if your big brother disappeared? For Matteo the only choice is to try to find him, even though it means swimming a huge river and sneaking into a country that speaks a different language, were he could be arrested at any time. Was that what happened to his brother? Why did the letters stop coming to their family home in Mexico? Will he ever be able to find Julian?
Wonderful, vivid and an important book for discussion. Patricia Reilly Giff writes another great novel! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


The Price Guide to the Occult by Leslye Walton - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Price Guide to the Occult Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763691103
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - March 13th, 2018

Nor's family tree is thorny and full of secrets...
Descendant of a witch, cursed by her use of black magic, doomed to enchanted, obsessed love, the Blackburn women have paid for the crime for 8 generations.
But Nor is different, the 9th generation - her magic is stronger.
And she knows she will need all of that power when her estranged mother begins making headlines with public displays of magic. Because magic come with a price, and it's not counted in dollars... Gripping and dark, this bewitching family drama will have you reading to midnight! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


All Summer Long by Hope Larson - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
All Summer Long Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780374310714
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - May 1st, 2018

Best friends and summer days are the best combination, so when Austin tells Bina he's going to camp for a month, she knows this will be the most boring summer ever.
Bina fills her days with binge-watching and babysitting, until she accidentally makes friends with Austin's older sister, who turns out to like the same music! Maybe the summer can rock, even when your best friend won't text you back...
Relatable modern-life story with fun art and likable characters, great for reading by the pool! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Estranged by Ethan M. Aldridge - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: HarperCollins - August 7th, 2018

Edmund lives a normal life, but he is far from normal.
In fact, he isn't human - he is Fae, his parents, a King and Queen, stole a human child and left Edmund in the World Above. When that human boy appears on Edmund's street with news of betrayal and war, Edmund knows his life has changed forever, but he has to go down back to the World Below. He has to face Hawthorne, evil sorceress, and claim his place on the throne.
Fantastic art and strong story-telling make this an incredible graphic novel, sure to grab everyone who opens it. A stand-alone with hints at a sequel - hopefully! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Midnight Riot Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345524256
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Del Rey Books - February 1st, 2011

London Constable Peter Grant is a grounded, scientifically minded, dependable officer of the law, which is why interviewing a witness to a murder didn't shake him. What did shake him was realizing the witness was a ghost. You just can't put that down on a form... Wonderful combination of wise-cracking British humor, good old-fashioned detective work, and magic, this series of stand alone novels will be a new favorite for fans of Dresden Files and Doctor Who. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - lmoore@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs