kshimkus@northshire.com's blog

The Magicians Trilogy Boxed Set by Lev Grossman

Staff Pick Badge
The Magicians Trilogy Boxed Set: The Magicians; The Magician King; The Magician's Land Cover Image
$51.00
ISBN: 9780147517388
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 9th, 2015

For those of us who more or less literally grew up with Harry Potter, The Magicians Trilogy picks up where J.K. Rowling left off. Through the postgraduate slump and your quarter-life crisis, these books are the magical continuing education for your 17- to 30-year-old life. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Egghead: Or, You Can't Survive on Ideas Alone by Bo Burnham - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Egghead: Or, You Can't Survive on Ideas Alone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781455519132
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 7th, 2014

Missing Shel Silverstein? Burnham's short, dirty, funny poems that appear shallow and then plummet suddenly to profundity are your answer. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Arcadia by Tom Stoppard - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Arcadia Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126993
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Grove Press - July 11th, 2017

If you're like me, and you like your witty banter served with a side of metaphysical philosophy and spiced with a mix of academia & sex, this is the dish you want to serve to your reading brain tonight ;-)x Written by the author of Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead, Shakespeare in Love, and Brazil, Tom Stoppard's story of research into Lord Byron's missing letters and the characters living around him is everything you could desire in a painfully smart comedy. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book by Jomny Sun - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062569028
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Harper Perennial - June 27th, 2017

The title says it all: this book of misspelt philosophy and simple illustrations helped get me through a rough patch. If you're feeling a little less humabn as you struggle with anxiety, purposelessness, the void, and the inexorability of death, well, this book will take you there and leave you better.

*humabn* is a purposeful spelling error. Just trust me.~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Resistance, Rebellion, Life: 50 Poems Now by Amit Majmudar - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Resistance, Rebellion, Life: 50 Poems Now Cover Image
By Amit Majmudar (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781524711320
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Knopf - May 23rd, 2017

Each of these poems is a small shock to the system. Together, they are a bolt of lightning. Recommended #BlackLivesMatter reading in the vein of Of Poetry and Protest and Claudia Rankine's Citizen. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail: A Play by Jerome Lawrence - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail: A Play Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780809012237
Availability: Special Order
Published: Hill and Wang - July 10th, 2001

I liked this book so much I stole it from my high school English class (Sorry Mrs. Sara, if you read this). However, please don't steal this book from the store. It's worth the $11. Teenage-highschool Katelynne and responsible-adult Katelynne both vouch for it. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - kshimkus@northshire.com's blog