jstarks_47527's blog | Northshire Bookstore

jstarks_47527's blog

The Greatest Beer Run Ever: A Memoir of Friendship, Loyalty, and War by John "Chick" Donohue - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Greatest Beer Run Ever: A Memoir of Friendship, Loyalty, and War Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062995476
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 28th, 2021

An amazing ride from start to finish. Join John Donohue as he does the unthinkable. Hitchhiking across the active combat zone that was Vietnam all so that he can bring some friends from his hometown some good American beers. What started as a simple trip in Donohue’s mind quickly became so much more as he was caught in the middle of the Tet offensive. This book is surprising, suspenseful and informative as well as John not only educating the reader on what it was like back home during Vietnam but what it was like overseas for the soldiers and the Vietnamese themselves.This is one of those books where once you finish it you would give anything so you could reread it for the first time and experience the excitement of what will happen next, because chances are you will never be ready for what happens during the greatest beer run ever. ~ Reviewed by Jordan Starks


Dune Messiah by Frank Herbert - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Dune Messiah Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593098233
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Ace - June 4th, 2019

Following Paul Atreides 12 years after he became emperor, 61 million were killed during Paul’s jihad throughout space, the name Muad'Dib rings throughout the universe. A small but powerful group is plotting to kill Paul to seize control of the Empire and cease the senseless slaughter, no one is safe. When friends return from the grave will Paul be able to keep those he loves safe or will he destroy himself consumed by his own hubris? ~ Reviewed by Jordan Starks


Basketful of Heads (Hill House Comics) by Joe Hill - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Basketful of Heads (Hill House Comics) Cover Image
By Joe Hill, Leomacs (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781779512574
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: DC Comics - September 7th, 2021

Set in 1983 on the beautiful Brody Island, June Branch visits her boyfriend to celebrate the last weekend of summer, only things take a turn for the worst, as a storm rolls over the town and 4 convicts escape from the local prison. June’s boyfriend Liam is kidnapped, and armed only with a raincoat and a magical ax it's up to June to get to the bottom of what exactly is happening in this town, part slasher, part mystery, and an all-around exciting adventure. Basketful of Heads is perfect for fans of the slasher genre who want a bit more mystery and trickery. ~ Reviewed by Jordan Starks


Mashle: Magic and Muscles, Vol. 1 by Hajime Komoto - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Mashle: Magic and Muscles, Vol. 1 Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781974719297
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: VIZ Media LLC - July 20th, 2021

A Harry Potter parody perfect for fans of Black Clover, all about how a boy with no magic could get by in the most prestigious wizarding school in the world. Mash Burndead is a criminal but not for any of the usual reasons, Mash is a wanted man because he was born without magical powers. The only way for Mash to clear his name is to become Divine Visionary, a title given to the most impressive student from Easton Academy each year. How will Mash become Divine Visionary without any magical prowess of his own? You’ll have to read to find out. ~ Reviewed by Jordan Starks


Kaiju No. 8, Vol. 1 by Naoya Matsumoto - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Kaiju No. 8, Vol. 1 Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781974725984
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: VIZ Media LLC - December 7th, 2021

Attack on Titan meets Fire Force, this is sure to become an instant classic. Kaiju attacks are a frequent problem in Japan but thankfully the Japan Defense Force is always there to neutralize the threat before they can do too much damage. Kafka Hibano has always dreamed of joining the Defense Force but at 32 he is quickly reaching the age where he won’t be allowed to attempt the entrance exam, but thanks to a freak accident he has suddenly gained the power to transform into a human-sized kaiju giving him the confidence to retake the exam. Will he be able to use this power for good and help save lives or will him being a kaiju attract the wrong attention and get him killed? ~ Reviewed by Jordan Starks


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - jstarks_47527's blog