jelder@northshire.com's blog

Golden Son

Staff Pick Badge
Golden Son (Red Rising Series #2) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345539830
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Del Rey - July 7th, 2015

Even better than the first in the series! Golden Son is filled with more action and higher stakes as Darrow immerses himself further into the world of Golds. Torn between his roots and his newly formed friendships, he must figure out his place in the Mars rebellion. ~ Reviewed by Jessica Elder


Lock in

Staff Pick Badge
Lock In: A Novel of the Near Future Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780765381323
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tor Science Fiction - August 4th, 2015

A great scifi thriller set in the near future! A contagious disease affecting the entire world causes those afflicted by it to be "locked in", completely paralyzed but fully aware of their surroundings. The people have created technology to meet this challenge. Those who are "locked in" can use the technology implanted in their brain to transport themselves into a robotic body or even into the body of another human known as an Integrator. When an Integrator is found at the scene of a murder, larger questions of humans versus technology come to the forefront. ~ Reviewed by Jessica Elder


Boston Girl

Staff Pick Badge
The Boston Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781439199367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2015

When 85 years old Addie is asked by her granddaughter "How did you get to be the woman you are today", she tells her the story of her life as the youngest daughter to Jewish immigrant parents growing up in Boston. This is a great historical fiction novel that will make you want to ask your grandmother the very same question! ~ Reviewed by Jessica Elder


The Book of Speculation

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Speculation: A Novel Cover Image
Call or email to see if a used copy is available.
ISBN: 9781250054807
Availability: Out of Print
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 23rd, 2015

By the end of the first chapter, I knew I would not be able to put this book down.  Alternating between present day and the 1780s, this story follows a family of circus performers seemingly cursed to drown on the same day every generation, and a young man trying to save his sister from the same fate.  For fans of "Night Circus" or "Church of Marvels". - Reviewed by Jessica Elder


The Little Paris Bookshop

Staff Pick Badge
The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780553418774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Crown - June 23rd, 2015

If you are a fan of "The Storied Life of AJ Fikry",  give this one a try!  It is a book for book lovers! Monsieur Perdu is a literary apothecary, or what we call a bookseller around here, on a book barge.  When he finally opens a letter from his lost love, he decides to raise the anchor and set sail through the rivers of France spreading literary love and wisdom along the way.   - Reviewed by Jessica Elder


Church of Marvels

Staff Pick Badge
Church of Marvels: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062367556
Availability: Special Order
Published: Ecco - May 5th, 2015

An amazing debut! This story follows four very different people as their stories interweave throughout the tenements of lower Manhattan, the sideshows of Coney Island, and a lunatic asylum in 1895. The characters, the setting and the mysteries are incredible in this novel. I could not put it down. ~Reviewed by Jess Elder


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - jelder@northshire.com's blog