jelder@northshire.com's blog

Troublemaker

Staff Pick Badge
Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology Cover Image
Call or email to see if a used copy is available.
ISBN: 9781101886960
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Ballantine Books - November 3rd, 2015

Leah Remini takes us through her experience with Scientology with the same attitude and humor that she brought to her character on "King of Queens". From joining as a young teen in NYC to donating over $1 million as a celebrity, you get to see an inside view of the mysterious group founded by L Ron Hubbard. Fascinating! ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Mosquitoland

Staff Pick Badge
Mosquitoland Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147513656
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Speak - March 1st, 2016

You will absolutely fall in love with this narrator, Mim Malone, and her road trip adventure! Upon overhearing that her mother is ill, Mim runs away from her new home, her father and new stepmother. Mim's wit, wisdom and heart will keep you turning the pages. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Morning Star

Staff Pick Badge
Morning Star (Red Rising Series #3) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780345539847
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Del Rey - February 9th, 2016

The final book in the amazingly epic Red Rising trilogy does not disappoint! Picking up at the shocking end of Golden Son, it has everything the fans have been waiting for and more. I don't want to say much more for fear of spoiling, but just know I read all 500 pages in a day! ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Small Mercies

Small Mercies: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143107873
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Penguin Books - February 9th, 2016

An absolute love letter to Staten Island. Ten years ago, the Amendola family lost their youngest son Bobby in the 9/11 attacks. Now, as they come together for Bobby Jr's birthday, they must face their grief as they meet Bobby's widow's new boyfriend. An honest and relatable view of a family's struggle to handle change. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Dressmaker's War

Staff Pick Badge
The Dressmaker's War Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812997378
Availability: Special Order
Published: Random House - January 12th, 2016

Ada dreams of a better life in 1939 England. She gets swept up with an Austrian aristocrat and thinks her prayers have been answered. But when the war breaks out during their Paris getaway, her love vanishes and Ada is taken prisoner by the Germans. For fans of "All the Light You Cannot See" or "The Nightingale" comes this unique point of view of WWII. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


The Art of Crash Landing

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Crash Landing: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062390547
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - September 8th, 2015

A really fun debut from Melissa DeCarlo! Mattie Wallace is a character to be reckoned with. Part road trip, part mystery, and part comedy, "The Art of Crash Landing" is worth the read. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - jelder@northshire.com's blog