jelder@northshire.com's blog

My Last Continent

Staff Pick Badge
My Last Continent: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501124709
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Scribner - June 21st, 2016

Deb and Keller have only felt truly at peace in an ice covered research tent at the bottom of the world, Antarctica. Perfection is the few weeks a year they can spend doing research together, falling in love, and escaping the "real world". But this year, Keller doesn't board the boat south. When they receive a distress signal from a cruise ship venturing too far, the research tour must attempt a rescue. Deb's worst fear is realized when she hears Keller is on that ship. My Last Continent is a story of adventure, exploration, love, and passion in Antarctica. It is one of those reads that you pick up when you can't find a book to fit your mood, and becomes an instant favorite. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Eleven Hours

Staff Pick Badge
Eleven Hours Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941040294
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - May 3rd, 2016

The story of two mothers-to-be. One a nurse just realizing her pregnancy. The other in labor facing single motherhood. Spanning the eleven hours of labor with flashbacks to how the women came to be in this moment together, "Eleven Hours" is a vivid telling of the beauty, fear, and strength of child birth. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Something New

Staff Pick Badge
Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626722491
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: First Second - May 3rd, 2016

I love everything that is Lucy Knisley! This new book included! Buy this for every newly engaged or newlywed you know. It is a hilariously honest look at planning a wedding. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Church of Marvels

Staff Pick Badge
Church of Marvels: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062367563
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - May 17th, 2016

An amazing debut! This story follows four very different people as their stories interweave throughout the tenements of lower Manhattan, the sideshows of Coney Island, and a lunatic asylum in 1895. The characters, the setting and the mysteries are incredible in this novel. I could not put it down. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


The Book of Speculation

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Speculation: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250055637
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 31st, 2016

By the end of the first chapter, I knew I would not be able to put this book down. Alternating between present day and the 1780s, this story follows a family of circus performers seemingly cursed to drown on the same day every generation, and a young man trying to save his sister from the same fate. For fans of "Night Circus" or "Church of Marvels". - Reviewed by Jess Elder


Ashley's War: The Untold Story of a Team of Women Soldiers on the Special Ops Battlefield by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Ashley's War: The Untold Story of a Team of Women Soldiers on the Special Ops Battlefield Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062333827
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - April 12th, 2016

The story of the first group of women allowed to serve with the men in the U.S.'s special forces. Really cool and unique bunch of ladies. ~ Reviewed by Jess Elder


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - jelder@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Mon 10am-7pm Tue-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs