jhanlon@northshire.com's blog | Northshire Bookstore

jhanlon@northshire.com's blog

Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism by Bell Hooks - Book Review

Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism Cover Image
$38.45
ISBN: 9781138821514
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Routledge - October 20th, 2014

This important work should immediately make its way to your bookshelf. hooks will open your eyes and light a fire in your heart to rejuvenate the feminist - and humanist - movement. ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret History of Wonder Woman Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804173407
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Vintage - July 7th, 2015

Extensively researched and full of comic book nuggets, LePore creates an exciting history of Wonder Woman's scandalous past. On another note, is it surprising Amy Poehler's book (Yes Please) was published the same day as Womder Woman's? YOu never see the two at once...hmmm... ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


Neverhome

Staff Pick Badge
Neverhome: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316370134
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 9th, 2014

Fans of Margaret Atwood's "Alias Grace" and James Scott's "The Kept" are going to be mesmerized by one soldier's struggle to get back home during the Civil War. The soldier's story is instantly addictive and true to the time period, giving a harrowing look into the repercussions of war and how the line between soldier and citizen is, more often than not, non-existent. A striking read that's as unpredictable as the war it's set in that is simply jaw-dropping to the very end. ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


Thorn Jack

Staff Pick Badge
Thorn Jack: A Night and Nothing Novel (Night and Nothing Novels #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062286727
Availability: Special Order
Published: Harper Voyager - June 24th, 2014

Love and magic run rampant in the small town of Fair Hollow, a small village on the Hudson where Serefina and her father hope for a new start. "Finn" finds herself perplexed by the less charming than mysterious village and enchanted by Jack Fata, whose family is known for their wealth, strange powers, and inexplicable attraction to Finn. Reminiscent of the movie "Hocus Pocus" but with a much, much darker story underneath. ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


Pink Sari Revolution

Staff Pick Badge
Pink Sari Revolution: A Tale of Women and Power in India Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393349474
Availability: Special Order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 25th, 2014

An inspiring rare insight on women in India taking the injustices and abuses against them into their own hands. The illiterate leader of the Pink Gang only looks like she speaks softly and carries a stick: in reality, Sampat Pal has created a grassroots movement like no other that serves as a call to arms for women around the world, citing the solidarity of women as the only means for achieving their human rights and equality. ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


MaddAddam

Staff Pick Badge
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

The stunning conclusion of the MaddAddam Trilogy proves that compassion and solidarity are not signs of weakness, but necessary traits for survival. An intense read that increased my faith in humanity and the power of love. ~ Reviewed by Jess Hanlon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - jhanlon@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs