gking@northshire.com's blog

A Pleasure and a Calling

A Pleasure and a Calling: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250081520
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - January 5th, 2016

This gripping psychological thriller is narrated by main character William Heming, a very successful real estate agent, who has the bizarre habit of keeping duplicate keys to all the properties his agency lists, even after they have sold, and then using them to enter the houses when the occupants are not home. At first, this seems merely quirky, but as the story progresses, this idiosyncrasy becomes more sinister.

This novel had me turning pages frantically, wanting - yet not wanting - to know what came next. Though I highly recommend this book, I warn you: You will never look at a realtor the same way again! ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Murder at the Brightwell

Murder at the Brightwell: A Mystery (An Amory Ames Mystery #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250074621
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - October 6th, 2015

Lose yourself in this charming murder mystery set at an English seaside hotel in the 1930s. Reminiscent of Agatha Christie's work, this witty and elegant debut novel features a strong, independent female protagonist, an engaging mystery and a bit of tasteful romance as befits its upper crust cast of characters. This is the first in what seems will be a series, and I suspect that, like me, you will be anxiously anticipating the second installment as you turn the final pages of this one. ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Before I Go

Staff Pick Badge
Before I Go: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781476761671
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - July 14th, 2015

This debut novel is the story of twenty-seven year old Daisy Richmond who beat breast cancer three years ago, only to have it return with a vengeance as an aggressive stage IV diagnosis. As she tries to come to terms with the fact that she is dying - and probably soon - she realizes that one of her greatest worries is what will happen to her charming but disorganized husband, Jack, after she is gone. So she embarks on a campaign to find him his next wife.

Although this could have been a dreadful novel in the hands of another writer, it is actually a funny, poignant, genuine story - sad but not maudlin or overly sentimental. I recommend it. ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Spy Catchers of Maple Hill

Staff Pick Badge
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781619633506
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 5th, 2015

Hazel Kaplansky is sure that the new gravedigger at the cemetery owned by her parents is a communist spy. After all, it is 1953, smack dab in the middle of the Red Scare led by Senator Joe McCarthy, and Paul Jones certainly is acting suspiciously. With the help of her new friend, Samuel Butler, who has just moved to her small town of Maple Hill, Vermont, Hazel is determined to prove that Mr. Jones is a danger to her community and her country - and to garner the acclaim she knows she is due when she exposes him. A fun mystery for summer reading. ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Say What You Will

Staff Pick Badge
Say What You Will Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062271112
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - May 5th, 2015

A match made in heaven? She has CP; he's OCD. Well, maybe not.
Read this awesome YA work of contemporary fiction to discover what happens between Amy and Matthew. And be prepared for a few surprises along the way.
Definitely for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor & Park. ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Ghosts of Tupelo Landing

Staff Pick Badge
The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing (Mo & Dale Mysteries) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142425718
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 28th, 2015

Fans of Three Times Lucky are in for a treat with this companion book, told in the incomparable voice of Miss Mo LoBeau. An intriguing new character joins the regular denizens of Tupelo Landing, NC, for this novel - part mystery, part ghost story, entirely delightful! ~ Reviewed by Gail King


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - gking@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs