ctaylor@northshire.com's blog

Share this

Conversations with Friends: A Novel by Sally Rooney - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Conversations with Friends: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780451499066
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Hogarth - August 7th, 2018

My mind was one giant exclamation point while reading this book! A debut novel from a young Irish writer, the story follows a college student and poet named Frances, who falls into an intellectually and emotionally intense menage a quatre with her ex-girlfriend and an older, alluring couple. Rooney's writing is so cool and witty and smart about human emotions and desires. When I finished this book, I was shivering it was so good. Read it, give it to your friends, and talk. ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Severance by Ling Ma - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374261597
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 14th, 2018

Ma writes the apocalypse cooler, sharper, and fresher than anyone else I've read. As a mysterious fever consumes the world and New York City collapses around her, a young woman, held together by her daily habits, continues clocking in at her dull office job. About customs, corporations, immigration, consumerism, love, memory, and the end of the world, this story mesmerizes. It filled me with a spinning sort of recognition, the kind you get from recurrent jolts of déjà vu. Repetition, it turns out, is hard to break, even after death. ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Rescue by Christopher Dant - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Rescue Cover Image
$14.50
ISBN: 9781605714257
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Shirespress - June 28th, 2018

A thrilling, touching adventure that follows one remarkable dog's journey back to her beloved owner. War veteran Dirck Hansen suffers from severe PTSD and is on the verge of self-destruction when he meets Chauncey, a service dog who eases his anxiety and offers him the potential for healing. With Chauncey by his side, Dirck's life regains normalcy, but a fateful day at the park alters the course of their bond. As Dirck begins a desperate search for his lost dog, Chauncey sets out on her own adventure through New England wilderness and cold city streets. Beautifully written and powerfully told, this story speaks to the unshakeable, enduring bond between man and dog. Fans of The Call of the Wild and The Incredible Journey will love this book! ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Some Trick: Thirteen Stories by Helen DeWitt - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Some Trick: Thirteen Stories Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9780811227827
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - May 29th, 2018

Helen DeWitt's curiosity is bottomless. Linguistics, statistics, the commodification of art and intellect--her interests are matched by writing so good it'll knock around your brain for weeks. Her stories are lethally hilarious. Her characters are absurd and true, searching for sanity in a mad world. There may be no room for pure genius in a humdrum, capitalist world, but this book, like its author, is defiantly brilliant. ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Heart Berries: A Memoir by Terese Marie Mailhot - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Heart Berries: A Memoir Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781619023345
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Counterpoint LLC - February 6th, 2018

I’m not going to say a lot about this punch of a memoir, because I firmly believe you should just read it. The writing is so immediate and cutting that describing it feels like sanding down its edges. Trauma ricochets through the author’s family line like a loose bullet. Her father was evil, her mother careless, her relationships with men self-destructive. She writes of her own mental illness, the ways and reasons she feels crazy. Searing & urgent, her story, as she says, is sacred; it has purpose and meaning beyond her own life. It is alive, pulsing, a powerful, transformational force that moves through her. It is not, as she says, a way of transcending pain, but of reconciling with it. She doesn’t forgive trauma, but she transubstantiates it. ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ctaylor@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs